We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Ranked #33 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is really in a great location. There are many places you can walk to eat, and the area feels very safe & is clean. It's true they don't have flat screen TV's, but if the ones they have still work fine, who cares. Our room was fine-clean & comfortable bed-also quiet. They only have one free computer, and it's in the lobby. A child was playing games on it for a long time. We asked the front desk to talk to him (he wouldn't leave for us), and they wouldn't. When he finally got off the computer system was all in German & they said they didn't know how to change it to English. It had been in English the day before. We just needed 5 minutes to check our airline. Oh well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 798 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on an expedition to Hamburg. The hotel is ok'ish, rooms dated.

BUT, the location is just perfect, close to the city hall and the inner Alster, close to shopping and sightseeing, close to the city center, and still quiet since it is a bit away from the main streets.

The staff is friendly but cool - hanseatic ;-)

We will definitely stay here again next time.

We did not eat in the hotel, but the restaurant and bar looked very inviting - but there are so many places close by, also for breakfast :-).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Near to a lot of restaurants, train stations and fancy stores the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel is quite a great hotel with spacious rooms, good service and kind employees.
The only thing I did not like is that they charge $12,50 for the Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

LOCATION-
This hotel's location is prime. There's plenty of shops and restaurants in the immediate area and most importantly, all touristy landmarks within the city center are just a short walk away. With all that's around, this hotel still comes across as being in a very quiet area (with the exception of nearby construction - see tip below). The St. Pauli area is a bit further but still walkable.

STAFF-
Probably only interacted w/ staff during check-in and check-out, at which time they were always pleasant. Since I've been to this city before, I didn't require any additional help.

ROOMS-
Great size. Very standard for a Marriott property. Spacious, clean, with comfy beds and bedding. I would however like to see some updates... the TV (big box) and some furnishing are a bit out of date. Though these are little things and wouldn't cause me to count this property out when visiting the city.

TIP:
Currently there is construction going on to some buildings that are behind this hotel. I had a room (pictured) facing the rear and construction begins as early as 7 and continues all day. Now since I was on vacation, I was gone early and didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep (thus, only heard it while getting ready). But it's loud... banging pipes, jackhammers, you name it. So I'm certain it would be inconvenient for anyone who wants extra zzz's in the a.m. If that's YOU, request a front-facing room :)

Overall, good experience.

Room Tip: Loud construction against the rear of property. Rooms against front may be a better choice for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First the good, fabulous location is close to shopping, restaurants, subway, and sights.
Now for the rest: We were a party of 5 and booked 2 rooms. One room was for our 3 sons and one room for my husband & I at a higher rate for a club room which was to include breakfast and internet. We arrived at 9:00 am and did not expect to get in our rooms but since
we had paid the extra for a Club Room which included Wifi, we would have been fine hanging in the lobby catching up on our devices. But this was not to be because even though I had a confirmation from my travel agent showing that we were due internet for the room rate we paid, we were told no. After much arguing, we were given a code that allowed only one device access at a time, and only for exactly 48 hours. So we had no internet the last half day we were there. We also had to store our luggage until the rooms was ready. Granted we had 10 pieces of luggage (one large and one carry on per person) but they only stowed some of the luggage. The rest sat on a cart in the vestibule where anyone could have grabbed it for the next 10 hours. After about an hour our friends came and we went out for the day. Upon returning at about 7:00 pm, we got our room keys and noted that our luggage was still in the vestibule where it had been since 9 am. Getting to our room, we found that our "Club room" was 2 hallways and our king size bed was in a room with 2 doorways which turned out to be an old elevator shaft before the last renovation. It was weird, couldn't see the TV from the bed, (old-fashioned TV) and the decor was non-existent. The 3 boys had a room across the hall but only 2 beds. We had requested a cot but there wasn't one in the room. A trip downstairs resulted in much ado to find a cot and we left to go out to dinner expecting things would be ok when we returned. We returned to find letters under the door saying a cot would be a safety hazzard, blah, blah, blah, so back down we went. Going on 10:30 pm a cot was put in our room and we managed for the 2 nights. Breakfast was another mess, very little to eat for gluten/dairy free people which 2 of us are and the boys were charged 28 euros each for their breakfast since it didn't come with their room. Didn't know what the charge would be until we checked out and saw it which is why I'm sharing the price of the breakfast buffet. We should have just paid the same price as the boys for our room and gone elsewhere for breakfast. Also should note, no air conditioning and we were there during a heat wave of 90 degree F days. There was also dried blood on the curtains and the cleanliness was not good. There was only one hotel clerk that was reasonable, the rest took joy in telling me that our Marriott membership was the lowest level so we deserved nothing extra and that for what we paid we deserved nothing extra, especially internet. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HRHmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Perfectly placed for a visit to Hamburg. Situated in the central 'up-market' shopping district, with the the docks, the lake, the main shopping street, St Michaelis church and the central station all within 15 minutes walk. [Climb to the top of St Michaelis Church to get a great view of central Hamburg]

Staff are friendly, helpful and all speak English. Rooms are spacious and clean but a bit dated. WiFi is extra. One computer with internet connection is available in the lobby but be prepared to wait your turn

We did not eat at the hotel as there are many restaurants nearby. Try Kaiserwetter for breakfast or lunch which is only 40m from the hotel and significantly cheaper.

I recommend this hotel for its location and reasonable room price. Eat out for more reasonable food prices and visit Starbucks for free WiFi!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The highlights of this hotel are the location, the breakfast and the lobby. The breakfast in particular is outstanding with wide variety of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries and hot egg, meat and potato items.

The rooms themselves are unremarkable and very dated. For example, the TV was a small, old Philips cathode ray tube model.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#47 of 321 in Hamburg
1,141 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,559 reviews
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hamburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#77 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $152 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Hamburg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in northern Germany at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel. Located in the heart of Hamburg, our hotel offers ideal access to the city's vibrant shopping district and beautiful Alster Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing