We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and very nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Ranked #33 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly service and very nice location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff of the Renaissance Hamburg hotel is very friendly. They even retraced a pair of sunglasses my friend left in his room upon leaving.

The hotel is located in the Neustadt area of Hamburg. A lot of hotspots are on walking distance and it was a nice and calm neighbourhood to stay at. The hotel offers parking places, but if these are all taken you can easily park across the street in the large parking garage. The room we stayed in wasn't the newest I'd ever seen but the comfortable beds made up for that.

I would definitly return to this hotel during my next trip to Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    336
    110
    28
    19
See reviews for
128
232
50
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Unacceptable that nowadays a hotel, specially if it is part of the Marriott Group, has no high speed WIFI all around the hotel. One single computer available for ALL customers (with the speed of a 56kb modem). Even though you pay for the wifi, only one device can use it at a time.

No second time at this hotel. In 2013 having WIFI is as necessary as having a receptionist.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and found the staff ever so helpful and friendly. It's central to shopping, attractions and restaurants. My room was extremely spacious and yes a little but dated but this didn't bother me as it was clean. Great selection on breakfast buffet and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kloug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is very well located in downtown Hamburg, close to the Alster Lake and plenty of shopping. It is generally priced lower than its sister hotel, the Marriott Hamburg, which is located just a few blocks away. For a reason!

- The good: as stated, its location is the property's biggest asset. The breakfast spread was good, pretty much on par with your standard german hotel breakfast offering. If you exclude the registration desk (see below), the lobby is pretty spacious with a nice bar and lounge. The staff was efficient and generally friendly.

- The not so good: the reception counters are tiny and right next to the door. There is a strange smell in the reception and lounge areas (sewer?).

- The ugly: excluding the renovated lobby, the rest of the hotel belongs in the late 70s/early 80s. Green, floral carpets in the hallways, red/floral carpets in the rooms. The hallways look like a college dorm and while the bathroom had been renovated (maybe 8-10 years ago), the rest of the room looked like it hadn't been touched in a very long time. The TV was not flat screen and golden door knobs and aging (but clean) furniture completed the picture.

All in all a clean property that is centrally located. Functional and ok if you don't intend to spend too much time in the rooms. If you want a more updated and fancier property, stay at the Marriott a few blocks down the road. Not sure I'd return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the street. There is an internal courtyard that is quiet, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the sort of hotel you want to give half marks too. Not a 3 but then again not a 4.
Don't get me wrong it is not bad.
Nice location, perfect for shopping within the designer area, close to Alster Lake for tourists and good for business stays which i was on, but for me it had a few things going against it.

The reception is not well laid out, particularly if its busy at check-in. The simple reason for this is it is too small and too close to the door. It cannot accommodate a queue very well either.
Once at reception though, staff are great, polite and friendly, answered any questions and arranged my 5.30am taxi when i checked out without a problem.

The rooms are fairly big, bed was superb again which you come to expect, the rooms are a little dated, the carpets a little worn (especially in the corridor, looks like a 70s style carpet), the shower curtain had an annoying habit of clinging to you.
You just expect a little bit better from such a hotel with the Renaissance name.

Internet once again is not for free.
Breakfast is on the expensive side.
No mini-bar in the room.
Television looks like it belongs in a museum (not flat screen).

However the lobby, restaurant and bar area are really attractive, clean and in keeping with the hotel class.

I prefer the Marriott around the corner, but the rates there are higher.
I would use again for the location, but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was working out near Finkenwerder, but decided to stay downtown on my first night. I have been to Hamburg enough times that I didn't need to see any sights, but wanted to be close to some food and drink locations, as my first night abroad usually involves getting off the plane, having a few drinks, and crashing early after the overnight flight. So, this location was perfect for that.

Check-in was quick and very friendly. Indeed, friendliness exuded throughout the stay, from check-in to check-out to bar service. They even pointed be to a great doner kebab place (Batman) about 15 minutes walk away.

My room was one of the smaller ones, and was definitely...small. It was fine for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend a week. Everything was clean but a bit run down - a renovation is needed. The TV is old, tube. The bathroom is old. The beds are okay.

The bar area is great and highly recommended. On this Saturday night, there was a lovely band led by a great singer. The bartenders were fantastic, and made some great specialty drinks. Prices are high, but that is expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacharius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As others already said, while lobby and bar downstairs look quite upscale, you quickly realise once you are in the corridors that this is an american chain hotel which has not been renovated very recently. This means ugly carpet and fake wood paneling everywhere, but there is all you need, in particular a very comfortable bed and a decent bathroom. The room was clean as you would expect it from a hotel in that price category, and besides the old-fashioned design which probably suited average american tastes a couple of years ago, there is nothing you can say against the room furnishing.
One big drawback of our room was the proximity to the elevator - we heard it all night stop and go at regular intervals, and early in the morning, when people started to get up, it was impossible to ignore the noise. Bad luck - I think that most rooms are rather quiet.
We paid 124€ per night for a double room which is in my opinion a very good price for what you get, especially in this location. Breakfast is far too expensive for what it is though, between 20 and 28€ for an average quality buffet and hardly drinkable filter coffee which is kept warm in big thermo-bottles. We did thus skip breakfast on days 2 and 3 - you can get a nicer breakfast for less in most cafés. Another annoying point is the wifi: 12,50€ for 120minutes to be used within 24h or 5€ for 30minutes - these prices are even more outdated than the rooms!

Room Tip: avoid a room to close to the elevators (noisy!)...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#54 of 319 in Hamburg
1,075 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,342 reviews
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Hamburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg Hotel

Property: Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#77 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Hamburg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience luxurious comfort in northern Germany at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel. Located in the heart of Hamburg, our hotel offers ideal access to the city's vibrant shopping district and beautiful Alster Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing