We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$317
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$94
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveler rating
295
366
115
34
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
366
115
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationshopping districtlobby areabreakfast restaurantvery nice hotelcentral locationjunior suitecomfy bedwi fibusiness tripfamily roomwithin easy walking distancenice barnice staypublic transportcityalster
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 831 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We frequently stay at the Hamburg Renaissance Hotel while visiting our son. While some of the rooms may be small, the deluxe rooms are large enough, certainly by European standards, and the bathrooms are spacious with adequate room for toiletries. The beds are very comfortable and the overall feel of the hotel is clean and cared for. We particularly enjoy the breakfast served in the hotel restaurant, which offers a large variety of menu items, from traditional American breakfast foods to more more native European selections. The breads are scruptious and my husband loves that after two days the chef knows his favorite omlette ingredients.
Hotel location is near all of the major attractions and U-Bahn stations, but for us the most fun is walking the city of Hamburg enjoying all the wonderful sights it has to offer.

Room Tip: We request a room facing the inner courtyard and have never experienced any noise issues.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iminphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hamburg seems to have become a very popular city for weekend travelers, so we were a bit surprised by the relatively high hotel prices in spite of the many hotel options. We settled for the Renaissance, mostly for its location in the heart of the shopping district--Hamburg is known for very classy shops--and excellent public transportation options; there are several subway (U-Bahn) and regional train (S-Bahn) stops near the hotel, including a direct S-Bahn link to the airport. A very affordable day pass provided us with easy access to many parts of the city.

The hotel probably dates from the early 1980s when the Hanseviertel shopping arcade was completed. It has a typical US hotel feel, including the many pillows on the bed, the color of the furnishings, and type of bathroom sink. But this went hand-in-hand with the usual quality you get when staying at a Marriott property. Given the prices at the hotel, we opted for getting breakfast in one of the cafes in the Hanseviertel, which we enjoyed a lot. Finally, as remarked by others, we found the staff at check-in extremely helpful, efficient, and pleasant to deal with. Overall, we felt that the relationship between the hotel's price and services offered was about right.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night pre a cruise. I chose it for its location, close to everything (the Marriott is just 2 streets away if you are looking for 5 star). I was a little disappointed with the size of the hotel, the reception and bar were basically the same place - just inside the main entrance door. I agree with previous comments that the staff were helpful, particularly in reception and the bar, I found though that the staff in the restaurant for breakfast were aloof. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, it is suited to a city break visit, but nothing longer. The room was adequate in size and decor and what you’d expect from a 4 star - the bed was particularly comfortable and pillows were great, We booked a delux room, so I’m not sure what size the standard room would be like. I felt the price was a bit hefty for what we got. 209e for 1 night B&B. So in summary, if you’re looking for a central location, comfortable room and bed and you get a good rate, then you can’t go wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBF.Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here hwen visiting relatives and found the room to spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The staff on the desk were great and helped us to arrange transport and answered our numerous questions with a smile.
We ate in the restaurant and even though the newspaper menus were a little odd, the food was very tasty and one of the better meals we had in hamburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is very well located near Jungfernstieg and is set in an old newspaper printing building. The interior design is old school and in line with the feel of the building. Breakfast is very nice and the staff are also friendly.

Some areas of the hotel could do with being refurbished (7th floor in particular feels a little bit neglected), but there is a small gym also on site and the good location compensate for the musty feel in some areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassy_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews