We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careless attitude to guest valuables”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf
Ranked #121 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We just had a one night stay at this hotel, the room was fine with the exception that the safe in the room did not work, not a big deal so I took my valuables to the reception on the evening to put into the hotel safe, this morning at first they could not find them then they found them in a plastic bag on a desk in an area more or less open to the public.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanne W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. As already explained by phone, we are very sorry for not having stored your purse in our safe. Of course this should not happened. However, due to a miss understanding and through injudiciousness unfortunately it happened anyway.
So, we are more than happy that you have received your purse without any loss. Our receptionists were immediately instructed verbally and written form to avoid such situations in future.
Dear Guest, the receptionist is very sorry for the inconveniences caused. Please accept our sincere apologies on behalf of this employee.
Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay anyway. For having spoken so clearly and frankly we are very thankful and wish you all the best.
Sincerely, Your Team from the RAMADA Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf; Claudia Jocksch, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

I guess you can call us frequent travellers. Staying from the small town boutique family hotels to the well known chain hotels in the USA, Asia and Europe. So, we are used to something.
This place could be a school example of how NOT to treat your customers. From check in to check out and everything in between was just so bad it was almost funny. No warm welcome at check in, keys where given to us and the man could not even tell us the room number and floor. It is just so importent to smile and to be welcoming when you work at the reception. No info was giving on parking costs and on WIFI and on the restaurant. Very akward.

We decided to have a meal in the restaurant. Traveling for 5 hours our 2,5 year old was a little bit out of his daily rythem so instead of giving him a bradwurst I asked for some bread and some nutella. The waitress looked and acted like I asked her to take of her clothes. And again absolute no info on the menu or specials. When I asked her why she was so grumpy she told me something in german and went away, After that we where completly ignored. So rude and not the style we are used to. But maybe a standard at this Ramada?

The room itself? Big enough and average equiped. No airco so very hot. WIFI is 4 euro. And come on, its 2014 so it should be free. Parking is 12 euro, felt like a ripp off. When checking out, trained staff smile and should ask a guest if everything was ok. Again here, nothing. No smile, no questions, nothing. This hotel is a good place for business guests who not give anything about some personal attention but nothing for guests like us who are used to a better overall experience.

Maybe the manager could send his staff to "how to treat customers" training. We wont come back to this place and there are better places to stay in Hamburg!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roman158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia J, Kathrin Wirth-Ueberschär, General Manager at H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear guest from Haarlem,

thank you for sharing your experiences with us and I feel sorry for the circumstances.

Hardware of hotels is allways one thing but the team and team behaviour are allways the most important things. I shared your comment with the team and they were appaled about your comment. In general we receive thanks for service and friendliness and now we see there is much more space for improvement. I spoke with all relevant team members and they deeply appologize. They felt unsafe in speaking english and dont won't to be rude.

You had such a short stay with us and I hope you will give us a second chance. We will work further on our service and english skills and thank you for your honesty.

With warm regards

Kathrin Wirth-Ueberschär
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Its was nice and ordinary, but I got what I payed for. The room was clean, the bathroom was a bit cramped but it worked. The wieu was non existing. Next year I would like a hotel, with the same standard but closer to the Marathon start and more importantly the finish.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Flemming Dabels... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia J, Assistant Manager at H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to comment your recent stay at our hotel.Your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Claudia Jocksch & team
RAMADA Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I frequently visit headquarter of company and this hotel is goood choice if you have meeting in Allermoehe. Good, solid quality, size of room - ok.
Breakfeast: wide choice of cold and hot meals
Parking: underground parking available
WiFi: 5 EUR per 24 h what for German standard is cheap
Restaurant: good but there are many other options outside ( Blockhouse for meat lovers )
Rooms have no air condition - during summer could be hot in room.
City center located ca. 24 min by S-bahn no 21. Ticket costs 2,5 EUR,.
It is nice location for business purpose but for city sighseeing I would choose rather soemthing inside Hamburg.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toudi_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia J, Verkaufsleiter at H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for your pleasant comment.

We're pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel and recommend it as a ideal place for business occcasion.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Kerstin Hauser & Team
RAMADA Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel is exactly what the normal, basic travelling business person wants. It is clean, it is very safe, the rooms are large by today’s standards, the wifi works, the bathroom has loads of hot water, the staff are knowledgeable and friendly. However, it is stretching the postal code system to the point of snapping to describe this as being in Hamburg. One might just as easily describe Winsor as being “ in London” or Rutherford NJ as “ In new York”! However you do it, it will take between 25 and 40 minutes to get downtown from here to a business meeting.

Looking on the plus side, this is great value for money, the breakfast is hearty and plentiful if a bit dull, the rooms are large an it is very safe, a big plus for at least one of my colleagues who was a woman travelling alone.
One curious failing is the elevators. I have never seen two elevators with doors that shut quite so quickly and with such vigour. If you don’t move IMMEDIATELY they open, you cannot get in or out, it really is just a second or two before they slam shut and you are off for a ride. As they are immediately in from of the check in desk the staff must know this, but are seemingly uninterested in asking for the situation to be adjusted.
Overall, if you don’t mind, or even prefer to be out of town, brilliant value for money, just don’t take your grandmother, she will never get out of the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the far end of the corridor / rear of the block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in October 2010. The hotel is rather way from metro station. it's better to take a taxi. The lake Alster is nearby. Walking along the lake you can easily reach city center in about 30min. The hotel is modern, our room was good. There is nothing to do in the neighboorhood, but there is swimming pool at the hotel to spend the evening and relax after day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Alt Lohbrugger Hof
#108 of 321 in Hamburg
74 reviews
Hotel Sachsentor
#204 of 321 in Hamburg
11 reviews
Forsthaus Bergedorf
#225 of 321 in Hamburg
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
#30 of 321 in Hamburg
317 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Aspria Hamburg Uhlenhorst
Aspria Hamburg Uhlenhorst
#114 of 321 in Hamburg
226 reviews
Commundo Tagungshotel
#268 of 321 in Hamburg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf

Address: Holzhude 2, 21029 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Ramada Hamburg Bergedorf)
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $104 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a few minutes from the picturesque centre of Bergedorf, we extend you a warm welcome at the H4 Hotel Hamburg Bergedorf, one of the most popular 4-star hotels in Hamburg. You will find not only modern rooms with all the amenities you would want but also numerous opportunities to pamper yourself before or after your day trips. Our "AktivTreff" area with sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and a small fitness area will delight you just as much as our culinary choices. Bergedorf's historic Old Town with its North German Hanseatic flair, its castle and its picturesque town harbour is an ideal destination for a stroll and for making new discoveries; so too are the many canals and numerous beautiful cafes. In the castle, you will find not only a very interesting museum but also a gorgeous art nouveau cafe from the turn of the century. Our Hotel Hamburg Bergedorf is distinguished by its excellent accessibility via the A25 and A1 motorways, its quiet yet central location and its ideal rail connections to Hamburg city centre. Why not experience the Hamburg Fish Market or the world-famous Reeperbahn? Cities and towns such as Lubeck, Schwerin, Kiel or Wismar, which are also well worth seeing, can also be conveniently reached via the excellent connection to the motorway. You will find comfortable rooms equipped with all the amenities that you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Relaxation awaits you in our "AktivTreff" area with its sauna, steam bath, whirlpool and small fitness area. Quiet yet central: The Ramada Hotel Hamburg Bergedorf is ideally situated for discovering Bergedorf's picturesque Old Town and the metropolis of Hamburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Hamburg-Bergedorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hamburg
Hamburg Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing