We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg
Ranked #274 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Dirty, smelling, sticky !! There are no other words to explain how bad is this place !!
Materass are old damaged and they really stink !! Disgusting !!
In the reception some of the hotel staffs are not even able to speak in english and the place all around is extremely dirty !
If you going to this Hotel make sure to provide yourself the tetanus vaccine !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ufficiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

I got an extremely good rate of €34.50 for one night (room, own shower, shared toilet) was very happy with this. It was very central being about a 10 min walk from the train station. The staff were friendly and the room was clean but quite small. The street is quiet with very little traffic. For a short stop in Hamburg I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: There are only two floors but there is no lift/elevator so if you have a really heavy bag, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Perfect hotel for a good night of sleep. Centrally located near the Main train station. Parking can be a bit tricky, but I've always found a place to park on the street right outside the hotel. They also have a car park lot for 8 Euros. The best part is the very good breakfast. A great selection of typical German breakfast food. This hotel is a good value for the price.
The hotel is great for straight or gay travelers, but it is very convenient to gay venues if that is your thing.

Room Tip: pay the extra to get a room with a bathroom/shower in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floydntexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Really, just 5 minutes from Central Station. Friendly staff, private parking 50 m from hotel. So, I was satisfied. May be, there are small rooms with strange design here, but it does not important for me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlienR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

How this hotel got 3 stars is beyond me. Perhaps it was once a nice place but overall it's worn out, battered, and a bit grimey. I had room 25 - pokey (and judging by the floor plan there were smaller ones!) with a bathroom added on the interior. The bed was terrible - soft, spongey and well past its time. All the fixtures are scuffed, worn out, generally poor. The curtain was actually a shower curtain, not capable of blocking the light from the street outside. Breakfast was OK, not a patch on similar hotels I used during my trip. Service very dull and 'chain' oriented. No personality whatever... They still want to keep your key when you go out for the day. And then there's the posse who hang out in the Pulverteich under the windows. In short, Hamburg has better!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank packmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel for short stays over several years. When it was gay or gay friendly the atmosphere was cozy and the refurbishment was good.
Now it appears to be part of a very ordinary chain of hotels. We always have stayed in room 13 as I don't like to climb stairs. It is a relatively large double room but has a tiny bathroom. Over the years no improvements have been made.
The breakfast was satisfactory and I cannot see much change in it.
During our stay our friend arrived and could not check in because the hotel's computer system was down. It appeared that as a result they did not know who was staying in which room nor which rooms were vacant. After several hours they finally were able to check our friend in. There is really little service; front desk was chaotic but not unfriendly.
We will look for a better hotel for our next stay in Hamburg

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have stayed at Hotel Konigshof more than 15 times in the past 6 or 7 years. It has always been a gay-owned and managed guest house and widely advertised as such in publications. My stays have always been perfect. The staff friendly and helpful--in fact I knew them all by name. The location is perfect, just minutes by foot from the main train station. On my most recent stay--without any advance notice from the former or new owners I was very dismayed to walk in and find all has changed. It is now owned by some hotel consortium. In short there is no gay presence at all, the staff is indifferent, full payment was demanded immediately and only after did I learn I was not given my usual and reserved room but a smaller one. In addition when I saw the internet rates posted were significantly lower and requested an adjustment I was given off-putting answers and before departure was told I'd have to write to a central person...who sent a brief reply weeks later refusing any adjustment. Other annoying changes: the breakfast spread is terrible compared to the elegantance of before and the desk actually wanted me to leave my key everytime I came and went! "You might lose it!". I will never go back. And gay travelers should be advised that this is no longer the HK we've always loved staying at.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennsylvaniaWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hotel Lumen
#269 of 321 in Hamburg
120 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Hotel Terminus
#126 of 321 in Hamburg
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
St. Georg
Hotel Kieler Hof
Hotel Kieler Hof
#207 of 321 in Hamburg
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg

Address: Pulverteich 18, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Novum Hotel Königshof Hamburg Innenstadt)
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $34 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Koenigshof is located in close proximity to the main train station. The former town house with a beautiful facade from the 19th Century was converted into a comfortable small hotel with 22 rooms. Discover St. George with the old tradition of cinemas, theaters and the diverse range of dining options. The shopping street Mönckebergstraße and the Lange series are within walking distance from the hotel. Attractions such as the Michel, the HafenCity with the Elbe Philharmonic, the Alster or the Colonnades are easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novum Hotel Konigshof Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konigshof Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing