We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Premium" Room was not so Premium and TERRIBLE service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
relexa hotel Bellevue
Ranked #93 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here with my family of 5 (all grown adults), and we had three seperate rooms booked. My parents who arrived first were put in a room for 4 and since we are adults and booked seperate rooms, they had to be moved when we arrived. Then my boyfriend and mine's room was so small and we called the desk to ask what kind of room it was. They said it was a comfort room. We informed them that we booked a premium room and they said too bad they are full until I argued that I would not settle for something less than we booked. Finally they moved us to the so-called premium room and it was just as bad as the first room. A tiny bed for two of us. The shower and bathroom were so tiny!

Then once we needed to reach my parents for an emergency and tried to call the hotel, and no one answered. When we arrived in the lobby and asked why they did not answer the phone, the receptionist said she was busy. It was mid-night and she was doing nothing at all and just didn't answer the phone.

Furthermore, regarding the service, when I had a question, since my boyfriend speaks German, they refused to answer me in English and would only speak to him in German, which I found terribly rude of them.

On a positive side; although it's hard to look past the above, the location was ok, and they had a nice breakfast for Euro 12, and parking was a reasonable Euro 10/night. However, I would never stay at this hotel again. You pay for what you get - cheep!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWise78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 12/11 to 14/11 to participate in a business meeting.
finding a hotel on the Internet is not always successful , but believe me , this was successful !!
A small but perfect hotel with a soul and staff with large smiles. Spacious rooms , good beds, nice bathrooms.Breakfast , where scrambled eggs and the coffee was perfect ( we have all tasted bad hotel coffee and dried scrambled eggs haven't we ? ). Location by the river Elbe was not a drawback either. Ofcause there are large and modern hotels in Hamburg but have you seen one then you have seen them all. My suggestion to those who reads this revue : GO THERE !!successful

Room Tip: visit Relaxa hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trondlorentzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in for 4 nights in August. We got a great deal so the stay was a bargain. Hotel is in a great location and our room had a beautiful view over the Alster lake. The main road outside is very busy but the room was well insulated and the noise was not a problem. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and spoke English. We had breakfast in the hotel one day, it was fine but a bit expensive. Round the corner is the wonderful Lange Reihe street with loads of cool cafés and bars, many of which serve breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citizenandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here with my family during Easter. The room was very clean, spacious and up to date. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice, and it was okay with a good variety of warm and cold food. The hotel has a parking lot and garage behind the hotel, where you can park your car for a fee.

The hotel is located next to one of the Alster lakes, and is located close to a street with lots of cheap restaurants, cafées and bars. It's also within walking distance of the city centre with all of it's stores and attractions.

I would definately stay at this place again, and recommend it for anyone in need of a nice, clean and cheap hotel for a couple of days in Hamburg.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Ideally located right on the lake in a corner of St George. A bustling little neighbourhood of great restaurants and cafes. The room was excellent and spacious. The bed was a littler hard and the shower took a fews minutes to heat up. We had the benefit of staying on the top floor which limited traffic noise from a busy road, but on a lower front facing floor, you might have trouble sleeping. Upgrade to premium recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Sandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a really nice hotel very close to the beautiful Alster Lake in Hamburg, and just a short walk from a good lively street with lots of cafes and bars. The hotel itself is nice and quiet with no noise coming in from outside. You can also walk to the hotel from the train station in about 20 minutes. The building is an old one, but very well kept, and then there is a extension with more modern rooms behind it. The room I had was very nicely designed with zebra striped theme on all the furnishings and walls. Also it had some very funky lights. It was clear a lot of thought and care had gone into the design of the room and its fittings. There was a small bathroom with a good hot shower.
Breakfast was very good - a wide selection of meats and eggs and salads. And some very nice hot coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful, and this hotel makes an ideal base for exploring the city of Hamburg.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in Hamburg either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikesterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The rooms are not that big, but a great staff and location more than makes up for it. You are one block away from Lange Reihe, a street filled with all kinds of great restaurants. The subway is a 8 minute walk from the hotel and most shopping can be done around the subway station.

The breakfast was also amazing. A great selection with helpful friendly staff.

We enjoyed this hotel so much we decided to stay for another night in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you are there in the summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleksanderAas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel City House
Hotel City House
#106 of 321 in Hamburg
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The George Hotel
#43 of 321 in Hamburg
603 reviews
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#100 of 321 in Hamburg
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to relexa hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about relexa hotel Bellevue

Address: An der Alster 14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $94 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — relexa hotel Bellevue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanseatic hospitality in Hamburg's finest location. The outstanding location of our hotel directly on the Outer Alster Lake (Aussenalster) guarantees you wonderful, maritime views and easy access to the many highlights of this Hanseatic city. You can even reach the city centre and railway station comfortably on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your relexa hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing