We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #2 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A truly great hotel”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great: location, building, staff. Check-in was fast, efficient, friendly; and we were happy to be shown around and taken to our room by the receptionist. She managed to give us the feeling that we were really welcome. As members of the LHW Club we had an upgrade to a wonderful room with a lovely view of the Binnen Alster lake (we had an even better view from our own balcony with easy chairs). Good furniture in traditional style, comfortable chairs, a very good bed, etc. A beautiful bathroom (separate shower) with everything we might have wanted. Good Labo toiletries. In the room several welcome presents were waiting for us, a.o. a bottle of wine, and a jar of the hotel's own confiture. Free mineral water.
The public areas in the hotel are furnished in classic style, with many real antiques; one area (The 'Wohnhalle', a large lobby) is a listed monument. Everything was immaculate. A few times we had drinks and some light food in the Wohnhalle, and the service was excellent. (When a slice of avocado turned out to be unripe, it was whisked away immediately, and within minutes we were served a plate of perfect avocado.) The breakfast buffet (complimentary for members of the LHW Club) is very good, with fresh juice, good cappuccino, and a large choice of food. Egg dishes are freshly prepared for you. (You may also order à la carte.)
We stayed only two nights, but after a week elsewhere we came back for one more night. Again the staff were very friendly, remembering our preferences. We got an upgrade to a beautiful suite, also with a great lake-view, and once more various presents (we just loved the Riesling Sekt 2009, Reichsrat von Buhl!)
The hotel has a terrace on the lakeside, a bar, and several restaurants. The Michelin starred Haerlin restaurant was closed for some renovation work, so we tried the Grill restaurant. The room was beautiful (art deco), but the food brought some disappointments. For instance: a fine piece of tarbot, perfectly grilled, was much too heavily salted, as was the accompanying potato mousse. The service was friendly but might have been better.
When the Haerlin restaurant has opened again, we will certainly be back in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made at Tripadvisor during your last stay in our hotel.

Thank you also for your interesting comments about the Jahreszeiten Grill service und food quality.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg. The Restaurant Haerlin just opened today after renovation and summer break.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    176
    48
    22
    11
See reviews for
182
528
100
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Spent 4 days in this wonderful hotel on a business trip. Booked single room with perfect size and amenities, perfectly clean. Everything is classic style with classical service. Very carrying but not disturbing personnel that would fulfill your very need. Classic breakfast buffet, international. Being wordless is not my style, but this hotel has made me speechless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stilleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and your kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Returned to check Hamburg out in the summer. Hotel has great outdoor terrace, located right down on the lake. Used an upgrade certificate and got room 432, amazing room. Didn't have view of the lake but didn't need it as the room was so good. Massive bathroom, best I have seen for a while. Wardrobe area was perfect, loads of space for clothes and cases. Used the spa as well, enjoyed that. Got the subway from the airport as there was an event on, wouldn't go back to a taxi, 3 euros and stops a couple of minutes walk from the hotel, unless you have lots of bags.

Room Tip: room 432, courtyard view but great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and your kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
350 reviews
280 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel. The building and rooms are superb - room decor and furnishing is amongst the finest I have ever seen. The staff are well trained, very courteous, and very efficient. The location, right in the heart of the city, is perfect.

The hotel does have a few problems, all of which I think could be easily addressed:

1) The air conditioning was not adequate to keep the room at a comfortable temperature when the drapes were open and sun was coming in. I concede that it was very hot in Hamburg the weekend I stayed (30°), but still...

2) Internet service was intermittent and overall slow. This problem (in room 104) disappeared after I moved to a different room on the third floor, so, possibly it was just one bad router.

3) The doorway into the rooms is not well insulated (i.e. provided with adequate weatherstripping) to prevent sound and light from coming into the room from the small shared alcove between two rooms. Other guests and housekeepers can be heard very clearly when they are in the shared alcove.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the kind comments made at Tripadvisor. We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Thank you for your important notes (e.g. regarding the aircondition and WLan connection).

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I spent four nights here for a conference earlier this month. The hotel is located at downtown Hamburg next to the lake. There was no view outside the window because it was facing the inside of the building. The room was neat and it just looked like everything was new.
I was warmly welcome when I checked in. The front desk staff was very helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spend 3 nights, and we enjoyed it like we have never enjoyed a hotel before. Although it is an old hotel, nothing is warn down, or half way. The room was perfect, the interior all over the hotel looked "just cleaned" and "never used". The staff is extremely helpful and they make you feel like a celebrity or millionaire... although we are not :)
Words are not enough to describe how satisfied we were with our stay... but you have to pay for it a Club Sandwich is 23.50 Euro and its a good club sandwich... but its a club sandwich. This is a hotel were you want to take your loved one and enjoy each other and the marvelous facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TECmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg

Raimund Schied
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Hamburg for 2 nights in July as we were taking part in a triathlon in the city. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a river view room for free! Check in was seamless and staff were friendly and welcoming. The room on the 3rd floor was immaculate and had a beautiful view across the lake. The bathroom was big with bath and separate shower (very impressed by the Le Labo products too!). We also had a walk in wardrobe and Nespresso machine. Breakfast, although slightly on the expensive side at 25euros a head, had a vast choice of meats, cheeses, cake, breads, pancakes, yoghurts and hot breakfast options - all served in a rather grand dining room. The hotel has a couple of bars and a cafe where staff, much like the rest of the hotel were welcoming and had spoke almost perfect English. I had a massage on our first day there in the hotel spa and the woman was brilliant, probably one of the best I've had! Would highly recommend this hotel for its staff, location, amazing rooms and for a bit of luxury!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and your kind comments.

We always appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing