We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastisk hotell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #2 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastisk hotell”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

All staff hold an extremely high level of service. From the doorman to the maid.
Have stayed here several times and will be back soon. The hotel has a thoroughly luxurious classical style. The rooms are of a very high standard, the only thing is that the beds are a bit short. Enjoy a tour of the restaurant Haerlin, for a taste experience

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    177
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
185
532
100
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

One is immediately excited when the traditionally clad Porter opens the taxi doors and you proudly stride up the plush red-carpeted staircase, then taking a dizzying spin at the revolving doors only to arrive in a time-preserved Hamburg, a celebration of a grand pre-war Germany. The reception, deliciously old-fashioned in mahogany and with the once so common key boxes makes a lovely sight. A beautiful blue eyed blond checks us in with a perfect smile and hands over our keys, electronic versions of the real thing. They are bulky and heavy and they feel oh so precious in my hands.
Plastic chip entry cards have long been on my least liked list.
The elegant (wood - mirror - glass) elevator takes us up to our floor and while ogling some framed images of birds along the hallways we arrive at our charmingly old school room. The door system is rather confusing, as there are 2 doors and only the 2. needs to be unlocked. I guess this is some sort of noise insulating invention from the past. The electronic-yet almost real key needs a bit of fine tuning before one succeeds in opening, but after a few tries it becomes easy.
Our room is bathed in buttery cream , heavy curtains celebrate tropical flowers and parrots, classical furniture is made of wood and the big bed is very inviting, if it wasn't for that gap... (2 twins turned into a queen size, but one can always ask for the connecting piece, as not to get 'lost' at night) And of course, the typically German and very couple-hostile blankets. One small cover for each sleepy guest, I always wonder why Germans still have not turned to the cuddle friendly versions?
The bathroom is white and bright, the lighting perfect for ladies doing their makeup and the rain-shower big and strong. Amenities are from "LE LABO" and the rose scented body lotion is well worth a rub.
Since this is a very short stay and we are going to be out most of the time, we booked a less costly courtyard room. (courtyard really means cement hole here, this is one small fault of the hotel that could do with some perfecting. Maybe some greenery or a water feature could make the courtyard what it really should be)
It could be considered somewhat depressing, if judged by the grey outlook. So if you want to enjoy Hamburg's prime view and you will spend some time in your quarters, better to book a room on the lake side.
I love the little jbl speakers for my iphone and my husband is happy with the Nespresso machine, almost a hotel standard these days.
But my absolute favorite at the 4 Jahreszeiten is the 'Living room'. This is the grand wooden paneled lounge area, where a fire flickers through the day, tea is served from a beautiful giant samovar and people nip and sip while gossiping about. The piano player has his own take on some all-time favorites and I could spend hours in here, just being filled with that outer-world-beauty and an unmistakable feeling of a trouble free world. The prices, of course, are pretty inflated and my sandwich became somewhat of a luxury, but one pays for the ambiance I guess. The maitre d', a refined gentleman with that certain ease runs this place like a private club, so as soon you manage to secure a seat you feel very privileged, like beeing part of something special.
The bellini was perfect and the Alster Cocktail somewhat on the sweet side.
We took dinner at the in-house 'Doc Cheng's' a sensual restaurant in crimson colors and candle lit romance. Again, the staff was extremely handsome and very attentive, if somewhat just slightly on the cold side. Last order is 11, which is a bit too early for our liking. The food was yummy, but nothing outstanding. (Since it was 5 to 11 we only got to order 2 dishes, as the kitchen was closing, so no chance to try different tastes)
The Condi is the in-house coffee-shop, very cozy or as one would say in German : gemuetlich. The long pastry bar is offering all kind of delicious treats and is always bustling with sweet tooth loungers. (The walnut cake is divine)
The tiny JAHRESZEITEN BAR is an institution in town and after dinner we had to drop by for a night cap. The bartender makes half the charm with his dry humor,a pair of over-sized glasses and a formidable knowledge of cocktail mixing. Absolutely cool! And so were the drinks and the music.
Just be warned, Germany sleeps at night, so drinks finish here at 1am.
Sadly, no time to try the famous breakfast buffet this time, but always a reason to come back!
Which we surely will...




____________________________________

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly-lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went to Hamburg for 5 days to visit the Christmas markets and to do some sightseeing. Chose this hotel because of its reviews and it did not disappoint. It was ideally situated with views over the Binnenalster and convenient for the city centre and the markets and shopping. The staff were all helpful and friendly without exception. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent with plenty of choice and the service was very attentive. The room was large and comfortable with a separate dressing room. We dined in the city centre so I cannot comment on the restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful, traditional, elegant and stellar in every way. The service is outstanding and staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms are most tastefully decorated and nothing is lacking from free WIFI, free bottled water, a daily bowl of good fresh fruit and a very nice welcome bottle of wine. The bathrooms have every amenity possible and it is as fine a hotel as we have stayed in. We were there during the Christmas Market which is just steps away and many interesting buildings are close by. The hotel was so beautifully decorated for Christmas, we didn't really want to leave. The rooms facing the lake are extra special and most enjoyable. We thought Hamburg a most interesting city with a tour of the Harbour being our favorite excursion.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are more expensive, but definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here in Feb '12 while in Hamburg on business. This is a well known old hotel. Oozes the class that one would expect. Service is top notch. F&B choices are perfect. Rooms spacious and well appointed. They have a great little bar tucked away on the lobby level, very cosy.

The location is great very convenient. This hotel is not cheap, but this is definitely a case of you get what you pay for.

I would be delighted to stay here again on my next trip into Hamburg.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You pays your money and you takes your choice. In the case of this hotel it was well worth every penny. Everything was faultless: service, facilities, food - and beautifully decorated for Christmas, too. Oh and the location was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelchism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We lived in Hamburg during the 1980s so know it well. Subsequently we have based ourselves in this hotel for years while visiting in December for the many wonderful Christmas Markets. It is a superb international hotel. The staff are smart, friendly, attentive, efficient and knowledgeable. They all speak excellent english. The several hotel public rooms are delightful, beautifully furnished, comfortable, welcoming. The bedrooms are similarly excellent. The location could scarcely be better if you wish to explore the centre of this wonderful city on foot.
My only reservation is a minor one. Hotel residents do not get priority over the general public when it comes to securing a table at tea time in the grand lounge. This is a popular meeting place for the great and beautiful of Hamburg, so make sure you book!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,304 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 318 in Hamburg
1,385 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing