We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #3 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You pays your money and you takes your choice. In the case of this hotel it was well worth every penny. Everything was faultless: service, facilities, food - and beautifully decorated for Christmas, too. Oh and the location was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelchism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    183
    53
    21
    14
See reviews for
189
552
104
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We lived in Hamburg during the 1980s so know it well. Subsequently we have based ourselves in this hotel for years while visiting in December for the many wonderful Christmas Markets. It is a superb international hotel. The staff are smart, friendly, attentive, efficient and knowledgeable. They all speak excellent english. The several hotel public rooms are delightful, beautifully furnished, comfortable, welcoming. The bedrooms are similarly excellent. The location could scarcely be better if you wish to explore the centre of this wonderful city on foot.
My only reservation is a minor one. Hotel residents do not get priority over the general public when it comes to securing a table at tea time in the grand lounge. This is a popular meeting place for the great and beautiful of Hamburg, so make sure you book!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

In planning a six-night business stay in Hamburg, I jumped at the chance to try the Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten. I had recently stayed at a fellow Leading Hotel in the Frankfurt area, the Villa Rothschild. The room, the food and the service there was so over-the-top good that my expectations for Hamburg were set very high. I was not disappointed.

The bed was very comfortable, with cozy down comforters and feather pillows. The bathroom had very high-end features – a “rainfall” shower, a heating/drying rack for towels and clothing, dual sinks and lots of amenities. The room was very quiet although I recommend that the hotel add carpeting to the hallway next door to dampen the purposeful sound of the staff’s sturdy shoes.

Internet access was very good. Internet was available for an unlimited number of devices. Plugged-in devices kept charging even when I turned off the master lighting switch.

Service was strong in all areas. The desk staff was responsive and helpful, the laundry was done well and on time and the restaurant staff was extremely attentive. My room was spotless.

The health club could use more cardio equipment though fortunately I did not have to wait. The transition, walking down the fifth-floor hall, from stately old hotel to ultramodern health club was striking.

Breakfast was a major highlight. The amazingly abundant buffet (oh, that bread!) would have been more than enough but on top of that there was freshly squeezed (and delicious) juice every day, eggs and hot cereal to order and excellent espresso. Assam tea was as good as I’ve had it in a hotel. Fine china could not have hurt. The tables along the window facing the water were delightful. I invited a client for breakfast and he was very impressed. I could not wait to get to breakfast every day. I started thinking about it the night before every single night.

The Fairmont is a stately building facing the Alster. It was convenient to the university, the conference center CCH and to restaurants and shops. I walked to dinner in St. Pauli in twenty-five minutes.

At over two hundred Euro a night for this stay, the Fairmont was not cheap. But in terms of value, it strongly delivered. I would stay here again – in a room facing the Alster next time! – in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a lakefront room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I reached this hotel for a week end stay after a hectic business trip. The reception was warm and swift. Room is very spacious with a coffee maker with wide variety of coffee. Free internet speed is Ok and room have a big flat screen TV. Even though the hotel is bit old, you will never feel that due its maintanance. Rooms facing lake must be more attractive and I was not that fortunate. Break fast has very wide varieties and the waitors are very efficient. Before we turn our head towards them they are at your table and example of very good service. Hotel is centrally located and if you love rowing you can spend saturdays more lively. The spa is excellent and I realy enjoyed.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selvan_koilpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Being in Hamburg, we always choose this hotel. Classic and history, luxury and the perfect location. Minus the staff..they are like snobs!
It feels very much at breakfast time. Breakfast itself is very good! Big variety, and a menu choice.
Always fresh fruits and berries. But the staff at the restaurant absolutely does not correspond the level of luxury class hotel. They do say even "hello" etc.. The feeling that dominates staff from Russia or Ukraine, to which is not characterized politeness and good manners.
Unfortunately, this is a big minus!
Te rest is almost perfect! Cozy rooms, cleaning service + turn down on the highest level!
Next time I´ll definitely stay at Vier Jahreszeiten!
Small advice for hotel management: please, try to improve your staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

We greatly appreciate your comment regarding service and friendliness of our Restaurant Team. This is certainly not the level of service we pride ourselves in rendering to our valued customers, such as yourself, and for which we gained our reputation.

We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted. It is my sincere hope that this incident does not keep you up from coming back to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our wonderful travel agent unknowingly booked a single room for us. It was too small to accommodate both of us. Unfortunately for us, the hotel was sold out of the type of rooms we normally book. Room 450, where we spent one night, was impeccable, had a modern bathroom, but to our chagrin, was small with a supporting beam near the middle of the room, and decorated in ruby red and greens. We did not like the room at all.
The next day we were offered a larger room, decorated in yellows and golds with beautiful wood paneling on one side of the room ,and no pillars. The staff could not have been more gracious in facilitating this move.
The lobby is charming, with seasonal displays. In the evening, lit candles offer added charm.
The buffet breakfast is delicious, and the staff so attentive.
Now that we have a lovely room, I am thoroughly enjoying my stay. If you have definite ideas as to the type of room you enjoy, may I recommend that you call in advance indicating this preference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For a quick weekend getaway in Hamburg, I chose this hotel and used my Fairmont President's Club free night and suite upgrade vouchers to reserve a lakefront suite. The FPC call center confirmed an 11am check-in time.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I was told that not only was the room not ready, but that the 11am check-in should not have been offered by FPC since they do not have access to the hotel's room inventory. This was a very unfortunate miscommunication, and should not have happened. The room was finally ready at 3pm, the usual check-in time.

Overall, the stay at the hotel was fantastic, and you can see how the recent renovation was done with much care and attention to detail. The room was elegantly furnished, with ample space to stretch out. The view alone is worth the price of admission.

The living area had several comfortable chairs as well as a sofa and a desk, while the bedroom had an extremely comfortable king-sized bed. A Nespresso machine and six choices of coffee were offered compliments of the hotel, while a minibar was available for refreshments as desired. As an FPC member, I was also offered a very nicely arranged fruit plate.

The only drawback, from a North American perspective, is the unfortunate arrangement of bedding, in that there were two relatively small blankets, rather than one larger one.

The bathroom featured a smallish tub and large shower, and was kept comfortably warm including a warming towel rack. There were ample towels and good quality amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc., and even loofah sponges.

Service in the room was very good, including an extra freshening in the evening, and a late check-out was offered to compensate for the issues at check-in.

A rowing event on the Binnenalster lake across from the hotel meant that there were large crowds of people around during the day, along with lots of music and other noise. This is, of course, something the hotel has no control over, and the windows did a reasonble job at blocking this out.

After departure, I was surprised to see a 55 Euro charge on my credit card from the hotel. An initial email to the general contact address was ignored for several days, while an escalation to the Guest Service Manager did then elicit a response. It turns out that the hotel had simply charged me for some mini-bar items without asking whether I had, in fact, consumed them (I had not). The charge was then swiftly reversed.

Overall, the hotel is certainly an elegant, upscale choice while in Hamburg, and the location is fantastic. The various guest-service issues were unfortunate, and definitely detracted from the experience. Given similar issues at other Fairmont hotels and with FPC, it would seem there is a general customer-service issue that Fairmont needs to address.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the lake have a fantastic view, but could be noisy. If booking through a third-party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

We greatly appreciate your comment regarding service and friendliness of our Front Office Team. This is certainly not the level of service we pride ourselves in rendering to our valued customers, such as yourself, and for which we gained our reputation.

We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted. It is my sincere hope that this incident does not keep you up from coming back to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,368 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 319 in Hamburg
1,451 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 319 in Hamburg
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing