We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great greek dinner, way beyond your standard Gyros place”
Review of Taverna Nostalgia

Taverna Nostalgia
Ranked #723 of 3,676 Restaurants in Hamburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Ottensen
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great greek dinner, way beyond your standard Gyros place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

So far I've tried grilled calamaris and lamb chops and both were absolutely fantastic. This place really set a new standard for me concerning greek restaurants.

There is a special side order my friends recommended to me, it's very thinly cut potatoes baked in an oven (i assume) with a lot of garlic. I highly recommend it because just the potatoes by themselves are spectecular. Along with the great meat and seafood it guarantees some memorable dining pleasures.

Service is super friendly and ambiente is cozy inside as well as outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFamilyCanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Neighborhood Joint”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have eaten at Taverna Nostalgia numerous times with different sizes of groups and each time have been satisfied. Entrees (I recommend anything with lamb) come with bread, chickpea salad, another salad, one shot of ouzo, and free dessert (baked donut balls with honey and powdered sugar). Prices are very reasonable and service is fantastic. I do recommend making a reservation because this place is almost always busy and for good reason! In warmer months, it is also pleasant to eat outdoors.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elbefrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really good greek food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Its a really friendly place, the food is great, the price is reasonable. just may have to make reservation before hand. :D

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttp1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

People are so friendly here and the food is absolutely amazing, ask for the recommendations of the people who work there. Excellent quality for a good price!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Nostalgia also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Taverna Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing