We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice discovery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel One Hamburg am Michel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel One Hamburg am Michel
Ranked #30 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice discovery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I'd never heard of Motel One until I was fortunate enough to visit Hamburg, but I'm certainly glad I found them. The location of this hotel if good, it's an easy walk to St Pauli neighborhood, and you are not too far from the U-bahn. The hotel itself is quite nice. Everything was clean and fresh, the rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were much more than I expected in a so-called 'budget' hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heest, Manager at Motel One Hamburg am Michel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Christian F.,

thank you very much for your compliments!
We looking forward to welcoming you back.

With best reguards,
Tom Lammerich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    336
    42
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
184
46
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel whilst on business with my company in October 2011. Stayed here for a very short time - only 1-2 nights but enjoyed my stay.
The hotel was very modern and clean and the staff were very helpful. Rooms were nice, spacious and clean and I felt safe in this hotel.
Didn't eat in this hotel or use any of the amenities so can't comment on that.
Location was good, close to shops and transport links.
I would definitely stay here again, I believe the rates were very reasonable as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLaa1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heest, Manager at Motel One Hamburg am Michel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear LouLaa,

thank you very much for your compliments.
we are looking forward to welcoming you back, and please try aur Motel One Toast next time!

With best reguards,
Oliver van Heest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Love this hotel and this chain .. reasonable price (69€ single), free internet, plugs where you want them (bed area), TV, a/c, great breakfast buffet (for additional 7€). In this case the location is right at the end of Reeperbahn (3 min walk) but not in the middle of it. If you like Theater: Operettentheater (which plays the musical ROCKY now) is there, Schmidt Theater etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building .. the other rooms are the same, but you have to go to a differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabelliMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlivervanHeest, Manager at Motel One Hamburg am Michel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Motel One guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
We look forward to welcoming you back again in our hotel soon.
Kind regards
Your team from Motel One Hamburg am Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is located nearby the San Michel curgh, right in between of the center of the city and the ST. Pauli area.

The personnel is kind, the room are cured and clean. Like every motel one, the furniture is essential but nothing to complaint about the quality.
Maybe a little pricy for the space you get (the rooms are really tiny).

I would definitely reccomend it - the breakfast for €7.5 is a bargain compared to any other hotel in Hamburg

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StudentelloMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want a simple, good price/quality hotel, without any extras, but at a central location: book this one.

The lobby is spacious and also serves as bar and breakfast area.

The rooms are nice and clean, have everything you need in a hotel room, but are rather small. Bathroom is small as well, but again, all you need is there.

The location, for the price you pay compared to other hotels in the area, is great. It takes about a 10 minute walk to the city center, 5 minutes to the Reeperbahn; another 5 to the Landungsbrücken,...
Parking is available, although spaces are limited.

Breakfast is good, but it can be crowded.

The less positive thing about this hotel are the elevators (there are only 2 in the main building). If you've timed it badly (especially around breakfast, check out time or when a big group just checked in - which happens often in this hotel - it can take a really long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l1eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed only one night, the room was comfortable and clean. We were able to check in earlier which was nice and allowed us to take advantage of the extra time in Hamburg. The only problem was the very tight parking spot - it took forever to maneuver the car in and out with a very tight radius, to get extra space we had to fold the car mirrors.
Staff was attentive and the breakfast was ok though a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
417 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A good place to stay when visiting Hamburg. We pleasantly discovered the Motel One hotel chain that we've choosen also for other cities during our trip in Germany, very modern and totally affordable. Rooms are small but you'll find everything you need, hotel hall is really enjoable, breakfast is fully ok at reasonable price (7,50 EUR/person/night). Parking in the basement is comfortable to forget about the car during your visit of the city (15 EUR/day).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
#23 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
St. Georg
Motel One Hamburg Alster
Motel One Hamburg Alster
#26 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#19 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Hamburg am Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Hamburg am Michel

Property: Motel One Hamburg am Michel
Address: Ludwig-Erhard-Str. 26, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Hamburg am Michel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Motel One Hamburg am Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing