We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”

International Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.28*
and up
Hamburg Card
Ranked #11 of 302 things to do in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Learn about the history and future of shipping, and Hamburg’s importance, at this tremendous museum. Artifacts include ship models, paintings, uniforms and nautical devices.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Large 9 storey converted warehouse with plenty to see. I'm not much of a maritime history fan, but I enjoyed this. Took the lift to the top floor and worked my way down. Some of exhibits a bit stuffy but there was enough to keep me there for 2 hours without being bored. Don't miss the Lego model of the Queen Mary 2. Cafe/restaurant on site. Good 'wet weather' option. Entrance Euro 12.50pp

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    237
    42
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“10 stories high !”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Some of the most beautiful ship`s models I have ever seen......of all types/sizes. Very well set out/presented. Admission charge...but you could spend all day there and probably not see it all !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandadScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I love boats, but the museum is a bit boring”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I realize other folks have loved this place, but i found it dry and sterile, lacking any real romaticism about sailing the high seas. There is an opportunity to bring you into a more intimate look at life on a ship, etc., but the way the museum is presented just doesn't bring it to that level.

That said, the floor about historical (i.e., sailing) navies was very good. I loved seeing all the old models of tallships and reading about the historical naval exchanges.

Considering all the other things Hamburg has to offer, I would give this a miss unless you have tons of time in town and need something to do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank psbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was good...but onlyfor those who love ships. I think 2 floors is enough after that gets boring to see only ships. but definitely worth a visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aakriti_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The museum is great, so much to see inside, just be aware, there are million of stairs, lifts are available. I suggest to start from the top and go to the bottom, in this way the experience will be less tiring.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescoITA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing