We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to explore Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #70 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel offers a fantastic location from which to explore Hamburg and the region around it. It sits a 10 minute walk (uphill) or one U Bahn Stop from Landungsbrucke, which is one the S1 line to the Airport. It offers easy access to the Harbour and Planten un Blomen as well as the Reeperbahn.

The rooms were of a good size, with plenty of space for those who are looking to spend a few days at the hotel. Brits abroad who cannot bear to be without a kettle in the room are not going to be disappointed. There are enough plug points in the room. The bathroom was great with enough space to unfurl the suitcase of cosmetics. In addition, the shower was fantastic with enough space to take two people. Really impressed by the thought put into the blue light that lit the bathroom up at night.

We were located on the road side of the hotel and we were not affected by the road noise.

The free WiFi was a pleasant surprise but it was quite slow and it was a little awkward having to log on every time I picked up my phone.

The breakfast offered the usual brilliant continental fayre that I enjoy.

I think this hotel offers a great value stay for those who are looking to visit Hamburg but don't want to use hostels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor User Bluecricle,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room satisfied all your needs. I am also pleased to let you know that, based on our guest’s feedback, we looked into our WiFi connection and made a change to keep you logged in for 12 hours. I hope that this change will improve the WiFi experience for our guests.

We would certainly be happy to welcome you again for your next visit to Hamburg!

Kind regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 525 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a nice hotel with very accommodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Although there is not a lot to do in the Hotel we were only there to sleep and change and enjoy a hearty breakfast. The rooms were very clean and well presented and the staff were more than willing to help us discover Hamburg. Taxis were no problem (and cheap) and local restaurants and arty coffee shops all added to the atmosphere. Smarter eating places were less than 10 mins in the city.

Room Tip: Guests can sometimes sound very noisy if you are near a lift and they are full of holiday spirit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast James_Denise,

Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hause zu bewerten. Wir hoffen Sie hatten eine angenehme Heimreise.

Es ist schön zu lesen, dass wir Ihren Aufenthalt so positiv beeinflussen konnten. Es freut uns, dass Sie mit der Sauberkeit des Gästezimmers, derm freundlichen und zuvorkommenden Wesens unseres Personals als auch mit unserem Frühstücksbuffet zufrieden waren.

Wir hoffen Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Franziska Schule
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in 4 different Holiday Inn Express in Germany within one week and liked St. Pauli Messe the most. The hotel neighborhood is not the best, but the location is very convenient to city center and harbor. Room was clean; breakfast was very good; and the staff was nice and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank ping x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast ping x,

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre freundlichen Worte zu Ihrem Aufenthalt in unserem Holiday Inn Express Hamburg St. Pauli Messe.

Es freut uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns genießen konnten und würden uns freuen Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

Franziska Schulz
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

While travelling to a completely unfamiliar place, everyone wants a location that gives the best access to places of their interest, a comfortable stay all at a good price. That is where Holiday inn express at Hamburg scores great , when you a post analysis of your experience.
The location gives access to whatever is your interest, whether its Nightlife, access to transportation or shop n eat.
Rooms are comfortable, clean, smartly compact. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous irrespective of the number of queries you may have. Offers a nice spread of breakfast to start your day. It might have very simplistic architecture but is a very functional hotel to stay and move around

Room Tip: Take rooms towards to road side on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVK3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor User AVK3108,


thank you very much reviewing your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.


I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our room and that our front office team made you feel welcome. It is our pleasure to provide you with all the information you need to fully enjoy your time in our city.

Please visit us on your next trip to Hamburg, we would certainly be delighted to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is a very clean and modern hotel. Service is great, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is very close to mass transportation, and if your with a group there is plenty of nightlife around the hotel. Restaurants in this area are not so good, so you may want to travel a few stops on the train but if your looking for something quick to eat there are plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor User Stephen G,


You took the time to review your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe – thank you very much!


I am pleased to read that you were entirely satisfied with our hotel and our staff and we would all be delighted to welcome you back for your next trip to Hamburg.


Kind regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Well placed and very clean. Only issue was room size given we were three persons in a small room designed for two. Friendly staff and easy walk to most attractions. I would stay there again.
Plenty to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor User Blake85,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with your stay overall.

Please let me assure you that our rooms are all the same size, therefore we were unable to offer you a larger room to accommodate three guests. I hope you were still able to get well deserved rest after a busy day in the city.

We would certainly be delighted to welcome you again for your next trip to Hamburg.


Kind regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Would benefit from a hot breakfast. Bit small for 3 people, but one if the few in hamburg that offers 3 adults in a room. Nice shower that was not in a bath. Quite a noisy area but not too bad with window shut and blinds closed. Near the Reeperbahn.

Room Tip: One not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayneaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Trippadvisor User Wayneaa


Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

I understand that you were disappointed with the lack of a hot breakfast. Sadly Holiday Inn Express hotels in Germany are not allowed to offer any hot food for breakfast.

I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay in Hamburg anyway and I would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again.



Kind regards,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
885 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#69 of 321 in Hamburg
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 321 in Hamburg
382 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $77 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing