We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location , Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #81 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Wirral
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Location , Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Purpose of visit was football to see St .Pauli so good location for match before and after. The hotel rooms were smarter than Holiday Express Rooms in the UK but smaller. Bathroom small but shower very good. Had double room for single person so this was not a problem but would be ok for short stay if travelling light if a couple.
Breakfast was good and there was always space for a group of 4 regardless of time. Within walking distance of the Jolly Rodger and good Celtic bar so very good if there for the match . Had very little to do with the staff as had no reason for complaint but found check in polite and swift.

Room Tip: Go for one on high floor at rear of hotel as view quite good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest Hawklord,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and spent nice days in Hamburg.
I will pass on your positive feedback to our staff , which I am sure is gratefully received.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    228
    78
    16
    8
See reviews for
55
168
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PT,IL
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The worse thing , but for the facts that will be described here, was during the check out.
With a smile on his face, the clerk said: well, I hope you had a good stay with us.
Well- no, you know it, we complained for 8-9 times, and in fact we departed ASAP in the morning, just to reach our next destination.
Instead of apologizing, or even suggesting a refund( well- we had no opoportunity to use the showers....)- you are asking about our stay? This is really a shame.

well- now we see that other complained as well: very hot water in all taps- for 2 hours no body tries to solve the problem- and then a clerk tries to fix it.
we paid for internet- no reception in room- we had to go to the lobby in order to connect.
We asked about places to go- got a very nice explaination- but nobody told us- don't go, everyplace is closed because of good Friday.
So: don't approach this hotel, and we are looking for some compensation!

Room Tip: A room where you can get reception for the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear guest Avi,

thanks for your honest feedback after your stay at our hotel.
I would like to apologize for the troubles during your stay at our hotel and I regret that you dídn´t have a nice stay with us.
At this weekend we had problems in some rooms with the control of the water but we immediately contacted a company which fixed this problem-I really regret that this problem occured.
Also I like to apologize that our staff didn´t provide the correct informations concerning attractions over the public holidays.
I will provide this informations to my colleagues and there will be trainings to avoid that these problems will not occure again.

Nevertheless we will be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A chain like this is much of a muchness. Rooms basic but clean and comfortable. Shower burned and froze in equal measures every 10 seconds. Local fair was going at the time of my stay right outside the rear of the hotel, It was very noisy until late at night. Real redeeming feature was the 1st rate service from the staff.

Room Tip: Dont have a room that backs onto the elevators, they are noisily repetitive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamR369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear guest GrahamR369,

thanks for your honest feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.
I really regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by the shower and the noise in the neighborhood.We will bring this issue to their attention and hope that a solution can be found.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel over Easter 2013

We can recommend it due to their excellent location. Although the hotel was fully booked the staff handled the quantity of guests in a very friendly and effective manner.
The breakfast room had even in the "crowd time" always some space available - mainly on the higher bar tables. Especially the staff from the breakfast room handled the quantity of guest and the refilling of the buffet in a very effective way.

The bathrooms are fine. We had room 118, which has a special large bathroom as this room is declared for "wheelchair suitable"

Beware of the double beds. These beds are with 1,40 (or even less?) way to small for a couple and (which made things worse) do have only one blankett - we requested another blankett and indeed managed to get one from the friendly staff.
The mattress in these beds is so poor that when one moves at night... the other gets sea sick or at least jumps with the movements !

We feel that a room with two single beds is ok. For a double room with double bed it is a definate "no go". Especially we do not understand why they put these beds into the room, as the rooms are spacious enough to accommodate easily a 1,60 or 1,80 bed!

Nevertheless we give 4 stars due to the friendly staff

Room Tip: Do not take double bed rooms! Double beds are exceptionally bad. Location and staff is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear guest Junix02,

thanks for your feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
I am happy to read that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and spent nice days over Easter in Hamburg.
I will pass on your positive feedback to our staff , which I am sure is gratefully received.

I am sorry for the trouble with the size of the bed and the mattress in our rooms. But we only have double rooms where the size of the big bed is only 1.40X2.00m. For your next stay at our hotel you can directly book the room category with two seperate beds-this is no problem.

We will looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A group of us stayed here for 3 nights 2 weeks ago.

The hotel is very clean and modern throughout.

The rooms are what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express, very fresh and equipped with LCD TV, ensuite, Kettle, safe and felt new.

Ideal location for those exploring the west of the city, hotel is located on a quiet road with a couple of other hotels. a few minute work takes you onto the main street.

Breakfast was really good, (eu cold selection plus eggs and toast), great staff throughout and maid service.

The hotel has a small bar area serving a german blonde beer and becks (4.90 euros for 0.5l).

Only slight negative is the hotel does not offer free wifi, this is chargeable per device therefore had to make do using 3g. (hotel had good mobile signal when roaming on the 1st floor)

Overall, great hotel

thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricktay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Mr Ricktay,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience of our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your positive feedback to our staff and maids, which I am sure is gratefully received.

Please accept my apologies for not being able to offer free WiFi at this time. We are taking on board your comments and are looking to find any experience improvement if possible.

We would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again, should you visit Hamburg again!

With best regards.

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had our reservations about booking this hotel due to the location ''Red light area'', how wrong could we be. It is 3 mins walk from the underground, 7 mins walk from the harbour and 30 mins walk through the lovely park to the New Town. We had never been to Hamburg before and were here for a concert at the O2 arena which it turns out is so easy to get to on the tram/train from St Pauli. As for the actual location of the hotel dont be put off. Yes its only one street back from the Reeperbahn (red light area) but we experienced no problems and never felt uneasy walking around. For the very prudish the shop windows are a shock but you dont have to look. The theatres are also located on the Reeperbahn as are plenty of bars and places to eat so the place is buzzing and worth a walk down. The fair was on when we were there, again very worth a visit (especially once it goes dark) as its a mixture of rides, food stalls and market stalls which provide something for all age groups. The harbour is well worth a visit with plenty to see and do. The hotel was very clean and comfy and all the staff were helpful and pleasent. Breakfast is typical european buffet style which was topped up constantly. We would definatly stay here again and recommend it. Word of warning if you are getting the train to the airport, it splits !!!! you should ensure you get into one of the 1st 3 carriages, you can pick up a leaflet at the airport about the transport system which explains more.

Room Tip: We were in room 618 which had views towards the fair at the back of the hotel, only complaint is whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Ms Shirleybeth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe on Tripadvisor. Any kind of feedback is always gratefully received and I am very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are very proud to be a part of St. Pauli and its unique culture and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it as well and were not put off by its reputation.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused by our neighbor’s flag. We will bring this issue to their attention and hope that a solution can be found.

We would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again, should you visit Hamburg again!

With best regards from St. Pauli,

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in this simple format. Clean & comfortable. Staff were friendly and polite and helpful in providing local info. The breakfast selection is nice withtypical continental offerings.

If you're looking to party then this hotel is well situated for all the bars in amongst the famous reeperbahn. Also a great place to stay if your a football (soccer)fan as the very cool unique fc st pauli play near by. I recommend a beer in the fan bar Tippel II. Bottles of astra are very reasonably priced and you get a good sense of the spirit ofst pauli here

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Mr Lee S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

I am delighted to read that the hotel and our staff were able to meet your expectations. We are very proud to be a part of St. Pauli and its unique culture and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

With best regards.

Fabienne Mueller
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#94 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing