We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Nearby Hotels
$317
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$91
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$209
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
143
282
91
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
282
91
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsreeperbahn arearoom doorhomeless peopleshort walkexcellent locationnight lifetea and coffeehigh floortwin roomwalk in showergood sizebooked this hotelper daycentral locationdecent hotelharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 542 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I will keep this review simple: Good hotel in a good central location. Check-in was easy and staff helpful even though there were 11 of us! Checked in on Friday 1st and checked out on the Sunday. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Rooms were nice and clean (mini bar would have been handy though!) Continental breakfast was nice. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Hamburg

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest LondonRoyston,

we are glad that were totally satisfied with your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
I will pass the positive feedback forwards to my colleagues.
Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us this feedback.

We will be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melnaie Bröhan

Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Holiday Inn hotel is a good stay in the midst of Hamburgs party district St. Pauli. Its just a few meters away from Reeperbahn, Hamburger Berg and all night out districts. The hotel itself is very modern with stylish design rooms, clean and comfortable. Be careful if you have a tough sleep, the area of the hotel can be quite loudy. So you better bring Ohropax. But for a fun and stay, go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear guest CMS00,

thanks for your time and the positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad that you had a nice stay at our hotel and passed nice days in Hamburg.
For your next stay at our hotel it is no problem to give us an information in advance that you will prefer a quiet room to the backyard.

We will look forward to welcome you next time at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had an excellent two night stay at this lovely hotel in Hamburg's St Pauli district. We had come to Hamburg to visit the Christmas Markets. The hotel is ideally situated only a couple of hundred yards from St Pauli U Bahn (underground) station giving easy access to the city centre, and a couple of streets away from the Reeperbahn! The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, speaking good english. We were able to check in before time and they held our bags on our day of departure so that we could continue our sightseeing unburdened. The room was clean and comfortable with an excellent shower. I have seen some reviewers have complained about the room size. It would be small if you are on a 2 week holiday but this type of hotel is designed for the short stay and with that in mind the room was of adequate size. Breakfast was a very good continental buffet. Overall a very good hotel that i would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magicdragon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest Macigdragon7,

thanks for your time and your positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and you were satisfied with our service and our staff.

We will look forward to welcome you the next time at the Holiday Inn Express Hmaburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind reagrds,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights. On arrival and on subsequent occasions, the receptions staff were very helpful and polite and spoke perfect English. Despite our window looking onto the fairground behind the hotel we were not disturbed by the noise, the double glazing did its job well. The hotel was easy to find, just near the U bahn station, it is on the edge of the red light district but we felt safe walking about and although there were prostitutes actively looking for business on the Reeperbahn we saw none near the hotel. Internet was €1 for 30 mins and worked fine - a lot cheaper than roaming on my phone! The choice of firm and soft pillows, all nicely labelled, was a nice touch. On the TV we had BBC world, CNN and a couple of other US channels, as well as European channels. The hotel apeared to be brand new and all areas were very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a buffet and all you could want in terms of cereal, hot drinks, pastries, toast, fruit, yoghurt etc plus the usual cheese and cold meats selection although my husband would have liked some hot food other than boiled eggs.
All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Kathrin,

thanks for your positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad that you had nice days at our hotel and enjoyed your stay in Hamburg.
I will inform my colleagues about your praise and we are glad to hear that you were totally satisfied with our service and staff at our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

short distance from train stop (St Pauli). smooth check in and out. clean and professional treatment from staff and facility. fresh breakfast included. even though in the red light district, this hotel location is just off of it and in a safe location. definitely avoid roaming the streets at week night especially when you see group of young drunk patrons in a particular area. easily avoided by crossing street. reserved this hotel a couple days before we arrived through booking.com

Room Tip: chose the queen bed with sofa bed just to give a little more space in room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rightcoastplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest rightcoastplayer,

thanks for your positive feedback at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the days in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again as soon as possible at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews