We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #64 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I will keep this review simple: Good hotel in a good central location. Check-in was easy and staff helpful even though there were 11 of us! Checked in on Friday 1st and checked out on the Sunday. Staff were always helpful and friendly. Rooms were nice and clean (mini bar would have been handy though!) Continental breakfast was nice. I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Hamburg

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRoyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guest LondonRoyston,

we are glad that were totally satisfied with your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
I will pass the positive feedback forwards to my colleagues.
Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us this feedback.

We will be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melnaie Bröhan

Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 504 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Holiday Inn hotel is a good stay in the midst of Hamburgs party district St. Pauli. Its just a few meters away from Reeperbahn, Hamburger Berg and all night out districts. The hotel itself is very modern with stylish design rooms, clean and comfortable. Be careful if you have a tough sleep, the area of the hotel can be quite loudy. So you better bring Ohropax. But for a fun and stay, go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMS00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear guest CMS00,

thanks for your time and the positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad that you had a nice stay at our hotel and passed nice days in Hamburg.
For your next stay at our hotel it is no problem to give us an information in advance that you will prefer a quiet room to the backyard.

We will look forward to welcome you next time at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had an excellent two night stay at this lovely hotel in Hamburg's St Pauli district. We had come to Hamburg to visit the Christmas Markets. The hotel is ideally situated only a couple of hundred yards from St Pauli U Bahn (underground) station giving easy access to the city centre, and a couple of streets away from the Reeperbahn! The staff at the hotel were very welcoming, speaking good english. We were able to check in before time and they held our bags on our day of departure so that we could continue our sightseeing unburdened. The room was clean and comfortable with an excellent shower. I have seen some reviewers have complained about the room size. It would be small if you are on a 2 week holiday but this type of hotel is designed for the short stay and with that in mind the room was of adequate size. Breakfast was a very good continental buffet. Overall a very good hotel that i would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magicdragon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest Macigdragon7,

thanks for your time and your positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and you were satisfied with our service and our staff.

We will look forward to welcome you the next time at the Holiday Inn Express Hmaburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind reagrds,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights. On arrival and on subsequent occasions, the receptions staff were very helpful and polite and spoke perfect English. Despite our window looking onto the fairground behind the hotel we were not disturbed by the noise, the double glazing did its job well. The hotel was easy to find, just near the U bahn station, it is on the edge of the red light district but we felt safe walking about and although there were prostitutes actively looking for business on the Reeperbahn we saw none near the hotel. Internet was €1 for 30 mins and worked fine - a lot cheaper than roaming on my phone! The choice of firm and soft pillows, all nicely labelled, was a nice touch. On the TV we had BBC world, CNN and a couple of other US channels, as well as European channels. The hotel apeared to be brand new and all areas were very clean and tidy. Breakfast was a buffet and all you could want in terms of cereal, hot drinks, pastries, toast, fruit, yoghurt etc plus the usual cheese and cold meats selection although my husband would have liked some hot food other than boiled eggs.
All in all, would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Kathrin,

thanks for your positive feedback after your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.
We are glad that you had nice days at our hotel and enjoyed your stay in Hamburg.
I will inform my colleagues about your praise and we are glad to hear that you were totally satisfied with our service and staff at our hotel.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

short distance from train stop (St Pauli). smooth check in and out. clean and professional treatment from staff and facility. fresh breakfast included. even though in the red light district, this hotel location is just off of it and in a safe location. definitely avoid roaming the streets at week night especially when you see group of young drunk patrons in a particular area. easily avoided by crossing street. reserved this hotel a couple days before we arrived through booking.com

Room Tip: chose the queen bed with sofa bed just to give a little more space in room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rightcoastplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest rightcoastplayer,

thanks for your positive feedback at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the days in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again as soon as possible at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely Hotel, clean, great modern rooms, great beds, lovely staff. Only one big complaint. the speed of the internet. It was completely and utterly unworkable. It was slower than the internet used to be 15 years ago. It seriously took about ten minutes to download one page, and kept crashing over and over again. I was trying to book a fllght and it took over two hours...ridiculous.
I had some important work to do and ended up in the lobby of the Ibis over the road ironically. I have seen other posts sighting the internet sloweness as a problem. I seriously could not do most of the work I needed to and had to check out early. Its so important for business travelers to have good quick reliable internet speed. Hotels take note. I would honestly rather not have a comfy bed than have bad or no internet. Holiday In Please, please update your wi fi router. its such a shame as your hotel is lovely otherwise.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel - but if you need internet don't go.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethJPickerin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear GarethJPickerin... P

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe again. It always delights us to read the opinions from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was quite slow during your stay. We will continue to work on improving this issue. I am, however, very glad that our service,and offers met your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Tobias Kittel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will be back again, despite having the option of more expensive hotels to stay at. The hotel is clean and well located. I particularly like the breakfast they provide. Both times I have been the staff have been efficient and friendly.
The English language TV options are pretty poor with BBC and CNN, but with so much to do on your doorstep, that shouldn't be a problem.
WiFi is very slow and has weak signal in some rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibbly_Dobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest ilDobinatario,

thanks for the feedback concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.
We are glad to hear that you had nice days in Hamburg and enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry for the problems concerning the internet connection.We will have a check on the internet connection and if necessray we will try to remove this problem.
If there are any problems with your next stay at our hotel please contact our reception staff and we will try to resolve the given problem.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hmaburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#20 of 319 in Hamburg
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 319 in Hamburg
355 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#22 of 319 in Hamburg
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $113 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing