We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Nearby Hotels
$300
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western Amedia Hamburg(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
$126
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$125
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$90
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ARCOTEL Onyx(Hamburg)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$87
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
143
282
91
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
282
91
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsreeperbahn arearoom doorhomeless peopleshort walkexcellent locationnight lifetea and coffeehigh floortwin roomwalk in showergood sizebooked this hotelper daycentral locationdecent hotelharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 542 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

short distance from train stop (St Pauli). smooth check in and out. clean and professional treatment from staff and facility. fresh breakfast included. even though in the red light district, this hotel location is just off of it and in a safe location. definitely avoid roaming the streets at week night especially when you see group of young drunk patrons in a particular area. easily avoided by crossing street. reserved this hotel a couple days before we arrived through booking.com

Room Tip: chose the queen bed with sofa bed just to give a little more space in room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rightcoastplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest rightcoastplayer,

thanks for your positive feedback at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the days in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again as soon as possible at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely Hotel, clean, great modern rooms, great beds, lovely staff. Only one big complaint. the speed of the internet. It was completely and utterly unworkable. It was slower than the internet used to be 15 years ago. It seriously took about ten minutes to download one page, and kept crashing over and over again. I was trying to book a fllght and it took over two hours...ridiculous.
I had some important work to do and ended up in the lobby of the Ibis over the road ironically. I have seen other posts sighting the internet sloweness as a problem. I seriously could not do most of the work I needed to and had to check out early. Its so important for business travelers to have good quick reliable internet speed. Hotels take note. I would honestly rather not have a comfy bed than have bad or no internet. Holiday In Please, please update your wi fi router. its such a shame as your hotel is lovely otherwise.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel - but if you need internet don't go.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethJPickerin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear GarethJPickerin... P

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe again. It always delights us to read the opinions from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was quite slow during your stay. We will continue to work on improving this issue. I am, however, very glad that our service,and offers met your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Tobias Kittel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will be back again, despite having the option of more expensive hotels to stay at. The hotel is clean and well located. I particularly like the breakfast they provide. Both times I have been the staff have been efficient and friendly.
The English language TV options are pretty poor with BBC and CNN, but with so much to do on your doorstep, that shouldn't be a problem.
WiFi is very slow and has weak signal in some rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibbly_Dobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest ilDobinatario,

thanks for the feedback concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.
We are glad to hear that you had nice days in Hamburg and enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry for the problems concerning the internet connection.We will have a check on the internet connection and if necessray we will try to remove this problem.
If there are any problems with your next stay at our hotel please contact our reception staff and we will try to resolve the given problem.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hmaburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I frequently stay in this Holiday Inn Express as it is very close to the vibrant activities of Hamburg. Like all Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express' the rooms are spotless, the staff both friendly and helpful and the locations are perfect for business or pleasure.

I woulf recomment this hotel in Hamburg to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear guest Ian R,

thanks for your time and your positive feedback after your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, you had great days in Hamburg and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location next to Reeperbahn area.
Very spacious (all facilities).
European pillows. (provide alternative for westerners??)
Breakfast simple.
Parking, whilst good, is not suitable for larger cars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear guest dgs99 ,

thank you that you took the time to share your feedback with other tripadvisor users after your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and you were satisfied with our rooms and services. Yes it is right that it takes some time to get into the parking spot if you have a larger car but it will fit in.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to Hamburg

Kind regards,

Tobias Kittel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews