We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eurotrip 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Ranked #69 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eurotrip 2012”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

short distance from train stop (St Pauli). smooth check in and out. clean and professional treatment from staff and facility. fresh breakfast included. even though in the red light district, this hotel location is just off of it and in a safe location. definitely avoid roaming the streets at week night especially when you see group of young drunk patrons in a particular area. easily avoided by crossing street. reserved this hotel a couple days before we arrived through booking.com

Room Tip: chose the queen bed with sofa bed just to give a little more space in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rightcoastplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest rightcoastplayer,

thanks for your positive feedback at our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the days in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again as soon as possible at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    255
    83
    17
    8
See reviews for
69
178
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely Hotel, clean, great modern rooms, great beds, lovely staff. Only one big complaint. the speed of the internet. It was completely and utterly unworkable. It was slower than the internet used to be 15 years ago. It seriously took about ten minutes to download one page, and kept crashing over and over again. I was trying to book a fllght and it took over two hours...ridiculous.
I had some important work to do and ended up in the lobby of the Ibis over the road ironically. I have seen other posts sighting the internet sloweness as a problem. I seriously could not do most of the work I needed to and had to check out early. Its so important for business travelers to have good quick reliable internet speed. Hotels take note. I would honestly rather not have a comfy bed than have bad or no internet. Holiday In Please, please update your wi fi router. its such a shame as your hotel is lovely otherwise.

Room Tip: Lovely Hotel - but if you need internet don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethJPickerin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear GarethJPickerin... P

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at out Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe again. It always delights us to read the opinions from our guests.

I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was quite slow during your stay. We will continue to work on improving this issue. I am, however, very glad that our service,and offers met your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,
Tobias Kittel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and will be back again, despite having the option of more expensive hotels to stay at. The hotel is clean and well located. I particularly like the breakfast they provide. Both times I have been the staff have been efficient and friendly.
The English language TV options are pretty poor with BBC and CNN, but with so much to do on your doorstep, that shouldn't be a problem.
WiFi is very slow and has weak signal in some rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbly_Dobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest ilDobinatario,

thanks for the feedback concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.
We are glad to hear that you had nice days in Hamburg and enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry for the problems concerning the internet connection.We will have a check on the internet connection and if necessray we will try to remove this problem.
If there are any problems with your next stay at our hotel please contact our reception staff and we will try to resolve the given problem.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express Hmaburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I frequently stay in this Holiday Inn Express as it is very close to the vibrant activities of Hamburg. Like all Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express' the rooms are spotless, the staff both friendly and helpful and the locations are perfect for business or pleasure.

I woulf recomment this hotel in Hamburg to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear guest Ian R,

thanks for your time and your positive feedback after your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, you had great days in Hamburg and that everything was to your satisfaction.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Holiday inn Express Hamburg-St.Pauli Messe.

Kind regards,

Melanie Bröhan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good location next to Reeperbahn area.
Very spacious (all facilities).
European pillows. (provide alternative for westerners??)
Breakfast simple.
Parking, whilst good, is not suitable for larger cars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest dgs99 ,

thank you that you took the time to share your feedback with other tripadvisor users after your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and you were satisfied with our rooms and services. Yes it is right that it takes some time to get into the parking spot if you have a larger car but it will fit in.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to Hamburg

Kind regards,

Tobias Kittel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed one night here as I wanted to be close to the Reeperbahn for a Beatles tour I was taking. It's easy to get to from the train station as the U-bahn station is very close by. The Reeperbahn is just around the corner. The hotel is on a quiet street and is clean and modern. My only complaint was that the wi-fi was out for my entire stay. I was counting on it for business I was conducting the next day. The staff could only shrug their shoulders saying there's nothing they can do. This is not the service I expect from Holiday Inn express.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Trip 117,

thank you very much for your review of your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Hamburg and had a pleasant stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was not working at all. We tried to fix it, but we didn't have any success. We are really sorry that we couldn't help you to solve that problem during your stay.

Please remember us the next time you visit Hamburg. We would be very happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Tobias Kittel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for business hotel is clean and rooms are modern and comfortable. Very central location and on a quiet street, breakfast is complimentary and is of good quality. Overall very good experience will return when in Hamburg.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEx_Guest_Service, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear tripadvisor user Traveling4food,

thank you very much for your positive feedback for your stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg-St. Pauli Messe.

We appreciate that you took the time to review your stay with us and share your experience with other tripadvisor users.

I am very pleased to read that we were able to meet your expectations regarding cleanliness and breakfast service.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to Hamburg.

Kind Regards

Tobias Kittel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#2 of 319 in Hamburg
345 reviews
St. Pauli
ARCOTEL Onyx
ARCOTEL Onyx
#18 of 319 in Hamburg
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Str. 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing