We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Nearby Hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
$319
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$109
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$345
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$257
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
$162
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
143
284
92
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
284
92
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsreeperbahn arearoom doorhomeless peopleshort walkexcellent locationnight lifetea and coffeehigh floortwin roomwalk in showergood sizebooked this hotelper daycentral locationdecent hotelharbour
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 547 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great location near public transportation. Spotlessly clean. Helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast. Chose this hotel since my husband is a Priority Club member and really would say this is the best Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suewynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is perfectly good for the price I paid. Rooms are quite small but seem new and clean. Bathroom had a nice and big shower. Wifi at a cost - cheap (5 euros a day) but sometimes not good enough for using Skype. Decent breakfast included. Nice staff. Asked for new towels one day when we decided not to have the room cleaned - they were brought to us at once. Had to print a ticket and mailed it to reception where it was instantly printed for a fair price. Hotel is close to the crazy Reeperbahn district with lots of more or less seedy nightlife but also walking distance to the city centre and the terminal where you catch the harbor tour boats. In spite of the location the street was quiet and made for a good night's sleep. The bed was good enough but would benefit from a top mattress as one could feel the springs. Extra pillows provided. Linen and towels seemed new and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The location of the hotel is in the St. Pauli district, parallel to the once "infamous" Reeperbahn. The hotel is quite modern, easy access to the city center by walking or by public transportation. We stayed two nights at this hotel, the room we had is the exact copy of the Holiday Inn at Dresden City Center, I guess they had the same interior designer. The room is very small, there is just one table and an office chair, no extra cabinet to put your luggages and no chair where the second guest can sit, relax and watch tv.

The airconditioning was not working in our room, we called the front desk and somebody came to the room to check, after a while, he told us that a/c is actually not individually climate control, but it is controlled centrally and it is located on the roof top, so the airconditioning unit works according to the temperature on the roof top, if the roof top temperature is low, then the heater will be automatically turned on. This is one of the weirdest things I have ever heard. It was hot and humid when we were in Hamburg, although it was raining, the temperature and humidity were unbearable. Since the climate control was not working properly, we asked them to opened the window (it was locked for safety reason?). However we couldn't have a good night sleep because the 2nd night, there was a party going on in the courtyard and it was really annoying loud, the people were chatting and laughing so loud, inconsiderate of the other guests in the hotel.

There are lots of places to eat. I can recommend the Man Wah Dim Sum restaurant located at the Reeperbahn, it's one of the best Chinese restaurants that I have ever eaten, they serve authentic Cantonese cuisine, the service is excellent and fast. Don't miss this restaurant, you'll love it, that is if you enjoy Chinese food, if not, you still have lots of other choices, but no guarantee if they are good or bad...

Just in case the management of this hotel read this review: Please put at least an extra chair in those rooms that have just one office chair, your guests surely want to sit and watch tv on a chair and not in a bed, and a foldable chair for the luggage, it is very inconvenient and very stressful for senior citizens to bend down to get things out of the luggage, because the luggages can just be put on the floor since there is no alternative. Have a heart for the seniors and partially disabled guests please!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximilliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We booked this hotel for my Stag do as it was a reasonable price and located right at the top of the Reeperbhan ideal for partying and drinking the night away but just off it so it was quiet at night.
The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient - they were able to give us directions to a bar where we were meeting some other frineds. The rooms were a good size , comfortable and very clean. The buffett breakfast was all you could want in the morning.
As i said before the location is great it runs on a road adjacent to the Reeperbhan so just away from the noise but minutes from the bars and clubs. The S bahn station is a 10 min walk that will get you straight into the centre of Hamburg. For a budget trip i could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davehudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for four days on an April city break. The hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean, the staff were unfailingly helpful and able to answer all our questions. The room was not vast but big enough for the two of us, with a flat screen TV (BBC world only - seems to be the norm in Europe!) and a kettle. The bathroom was very smart with a large shower, the beds comfortable and the room very quiet - in fact we never heard any other residents or outside noise. Breakfast was included - the usual continental mixture of cheeses, cold meats, rolls, croissants etc. Wi-fi was 5 euros a day and worked perfectly.

The best thing about the hotel was its proximity to St Pauli station on the (yellow) U3 line which takes you to most places you want to go to, including the Rathaus and the main line station.

My only gripe is with the hotel's website - the instructions for getting to it are totally wrong! Not only do the train instructions turn into driving instructions, but these have been copied (in English) into the German, French, Italian and Spanish instructions as well (I checked!). Anyone wishing to travel by public transport from the airport ahould get the S1 line to Ohlsdorf, change onto the U1 as far as Kellinghusenstrasse, then take the U3 to St Pauli - a really easy journey (even with suitcases) which takes about 20 mins and costs under 3 euros.

Recommended restaurant - Da Benito, a little Italian restaurant round the corner - good food and excellent service. If you like Indian food, avoid the Maharaha at all costs - the food is appalling and the service indifferent!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telfordsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews