We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Di Roma

Casa Di Roma
Ranked #8 of 53 Dessert in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: St. Georg
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The menu is offering some few really italian food and a mix of italian/german choices. Despite the non clear identity of the cuisine, the food is good and the service is accurate. Also the wine list is a bit confused, despite the offer of very good wine choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marfon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    141
    45
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Mergentheim, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were in this restaurant 2nd of November. The ambiance was very nice, the waiters were very friendly. The food was really great I had Spagetti con olio e aglio e ruccola, it was delicious. They have very large wine sortiments, I had a glass of chianti it was expensive 12.- euro but was a very good wine.
I highly recommend this restaurant to the families with children as well because they have a big place in the back as well.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Buon appetito!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Good food, good service, good location, good value.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dedalus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Warning: Tourist be aware of which menu they provide.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We walked by this restaurant and there was a meny lying on an empty outside table. We tookthe menu, read some of the dished (we know some German), and found it to look good. We left the menu, walked up the street to check for other restaurants, and then went back.

When asking for a table we were seated on an outside table. We were given an english menu on a simple printed sheet of paper. However the prices listed were TOTALLY different from the menu we read! Actually the prices was very expensive indeed, there was only a few menu choises and it was TOTALLY different from anything we red on the first menu (note: they couldn't have notices we did look at it the first time we walked by).

After thinking for a while we asked what was the thing with the other meny we read and we would like to take a look at the other menu if they had one. The waiter explained we were given a "special gourmet menu" or something with a few selected dishes. We asked to see the other menu and the courses and not at least the prices were totally different!

Though the "gourmet" courses were not listed in this menu - they should have made us aware that they have another menu with more reasonable prices though not listed in English. They didn't. We got the feeling they tried to trick us. I hope they didn't do it by purpose, but that was really feeling we got. "Whynot give it a try with the stupid tourists".

Being extremely and almost desperately hungry we ordered simply one main course from the correct and affordable menu, took one glass of wine, and then left.

We noticed during our meal that other guests (Germans) were shown ONLY the reasonable and regular menu. They were also shown a board which included something "daily menu" and they were not shown this fantastic "special gourmet menu" which we then really assumed were for tourists only.

The food we got was actually not that bad. However we felt thet tried to trick us and that's not good. The rating got to be 1 because of this alone.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank misterminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice food but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

We visited this restaurant during a long weekend break. The choice on the menu was excellent.

The food was very good and of a high standard. The deserts in particular were beautiful.
The staff were friendly and provided excellent service.
It is worth noting that the prices are a little higher than other restaurants in the area.

I would go back to this restaurant if I am back in Hamburg..

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Breezer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Di Roma also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Casa Di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing