We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shopping Centre Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tschebull

Tschebull
Ranked #2 of 55 Dessert in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $44
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Shopping Centre Gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked dinner at Tschebull based on a Google search of German style restaurants in Hamburg. Baffled why an Austrian restaurant came up in the search results, we did our usual cross check again TripAdvisor and noticed the stack of positive reviews. Although located in a shopping complex, their is a fine dining ambience at the restaurant (well, the Hyatt hotel is also a neighbour to provide a steady stream of affluent clientele). We did not have a lot of Austrian gourmet experience other than the odd schnitzel; but the 5 course set menu with wine pairing caught our eye at around 84 euro per person. The menu included suckling pig, lobster, scallops and a citrus meringue dessert. Wine was sourced from Austria and included 2 whites, 1 rose, 1 red and a dessert wine. Our waiter kept us informed of each dish, working out the English translation for all the flavour notes in the wine. Overall it was an enjoyable romantic place for dinner and would recommend it for a special night out in Hamburg.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureStamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    194
    47
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic - top of my list ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I was surprised when a friend organised a visit to this restaurant during a visit to Hamburg - why go to Germany to eat in an Austrian restaurant?

The answer is great food. A delicious meal was had. The service was excellent. It was pricey but worth it. It'll be top of my list when I return to Hamburg.

Helpful?
Thank AnonymousAxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
450 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good choice in Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our choice of a more modern and refined restaurant in the city. We find it in the Michelin guide. It is situated in a commercial gallery in the main shopping street of Hamburg.
It is modern, with some refinement, nicely decorated, immaculately laid tables and lots of people, so booking is essential.
What I liked best was the duck (which I eat) but also tasted the wiener schnitzel which was good.
For dessert order the soufflé you will be impressed by the presentation and is delicious.
Service is only reasonable for the kind of restaurant.
Not cheap - 6 people paid 300 euros , (drink 2 gins , a bottle of wine and didn’t ate starters), but it is good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
271 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“This is what top restaurants should be like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The place is not too formal. So what?!
The food is amazing, the service is extremely professional and friendly.
The restaurant looks like no other restaurant I've ever been to.
I saw a party of 20 people having a specially cooked duck dinner, I envied them.
This is true creativity and the dishes weren't pretentious at all.
I was very happy to make this the place for a old-friends reunion.
Also, the location between the Hauptbahnhof and the Rathaus on Mönckenbergstr. couldn't be better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvador S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
159 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Austrian Food - almost...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

first of all - you will not be disappointed! The service is perfect, the ambiente is nice, the food is really good. But we have lived in Vienna for almost 8 years and have tried several really good restaurants and therefore our expectations where almost met. We had "Tafelspitz" - a traditional austrian dish - it was good but not at the level as you will get at Plachutta in Vienna. We had also a "Wienerschnitzel mit Kartoffelsalat" - again you will not be disappointed, but the potato salad had not the the typical sweet-sour taste, spiced with red onions as you will find it in Vienna. Again - you should go the Tschebull, and than afterwards take a tripe to Vienna and compare

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Birkkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tschebull also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Tschebull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing