We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic cool”
Review of Bullerei

Bullerei
Ranked #4 of 56 Dessert in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sternschanze
Description: The BULLEREI in Hamburg's Schanzenviertel was once a cattle market and is visibly stunning. with stylish but comfortable grey couches, 200 year old oak tables and a blue tiled bar. The restaurant is popular with gourmets, the in-crowd and beer drinkers who wax-lyrical about it. The food tastes amazing and prices are reasonable. The meat is cooked to perfection and the side dishes are delicious. The lunch menu offers wonderful meals for vegetarians. The staff are stylish and fashionable. They are cool, friendly and stand out from the crowd in their grey aprons.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic cool”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I loved this spot. Reminded me of NYC's meatpacking.
Good food.
American menu: soup, salad, sandwich, pasta, burger etc..
Very affordable: starting from 5euro appetizers to max 25euro entrees
Dress: casual

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oksana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    726
    613
    317
    109
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat with locals”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you want to eat with the locals in Hamburg ,this is your place .Food ,service,ambiance , all very good. Casual,modern restaurant.If you make reservation then you can get a table in the restaurant instead of deli which is much better atmosphere.Also good for groups since,it is big.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Witchywitchx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for a special evening”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent food, great atmosphere, nice staff. I really recommend making a reservation - we didn't do it, but as we got there almost by closing time we managed to get a table. On the other hand, not all the options on the daily menu were available anymore. But the options left were still amazing - and we ended up having one of the best dinners we've had so far!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Júlia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good contemporary food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Good contemporary food in modern atmosphere. Try to get a table in the restaurant instead of the deli. The menue in the deli is quite limited. The quality of the Food and value as well. Reserve in advance!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tirol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEast
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very big room, modern feel in a converted abattoir, good service and very nice food.

We were a group of more than 10 so we had to have a very limited menu and choose in advance, which was a shame. Surely in a restaurant as large as this one it should be possible to offer the full menu, especially as we were 16 people spread between three separate tables so there was no issue serving everyone at once.

Celebrity chef apparently, so our German colleagues had the cameras out :)

I would go again but not in a group, ideal for 5/6 people

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarcaBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullerei also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Bullerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing