We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ideal for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn
Ranked #58 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is the third year me and my friends have come over to Hamburg for a long weekend, and the third year we have stayed at this hotel. We cant complain about it at all.

Dont get me wrong, if you are looking for 5 Star luxery and fine dining, this isnt the place. But for somwhere to sleep and have a shower to freshen up, it is ideal. Right in the centre of the Reeperbahn, where there are loads of bars and places to eat. Right outside the train station which can take you to the airport (30 mins)

There was 12 of us this year, we booked 6 twin rooms with ensuite for 4 nights, and paid around £80 each for the whole stay!

Most importantly though, it is clean. Beds and towels are changed everyday without fail.

Again, cant complain at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hilton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    61
    93
    41
    75
See reviews for
15
79
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location, clean, friendly and comfortable.
This is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for cheap accomodation. Central on the Reeperbahn & right next to the train station. 30 min train ride to the airport. You can get a ticket for upto 5 people for approx 9E to use train, bus and boats all day! Great value.

The accomodation is basic but comfortable. Great power shower with plenty of hot water and clean towels everyday. very clean, bed comfy. Some rooms have balconys with great views.
TV- but downside only German channels.

The place is party central, loads of bars and clubs, caberets and strip joints. There is something for everyone and the German people are so friendly! I really had a great birthday in Hamburg and recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun place to spend the weekend. Yes you are bang in the middle of the red light district but its not in your face. There is strict men only area's for that sort of thing, fhew!

Room Tip: ask for balcony and ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babydub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed in a private twin room for one night. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful, room was basic but clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable, there was space to hang clothes and the bathroom was clean and stocked with supplies.

The hostel was quite easy to find with a map (although I'm sure any local would be able to direct you to the Reeperbahn), and we felt safe leaving our car in the hostel car park (which cost ~ €7.50, but which did have a barrier and was not in sight of the main road). There was a good place to eat (German style restaurant on the corner) a minute's walk away.

When we were there they were having problems with their keycard system, which meant that only the hostel's master keys were working. Ordinarily we'd have been given our own key, but instead we were escorted to our room by the hostel security guard.

We didn't stay for breakfast, but the breakfast room looked ok. Bar at reception had a fair range of bottled beer, WiFi in reception worked. Exactly what we wanted for a cheap overnight stop.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here with a crowd of guys attending a football match (Hamburg v Rangers) and had a great time. The hotel is nothing special but at 80 euros for a quadruple room it was very good value for what we wanted. It was clean and had all the essentials like en suite toilet/shower, towels, etc. Our room was at the back so we never heard "outside" noises of any sort. Never heard any "inside" noises either.

The only downside was that the reception staff weren't very friendly. I got the impression they were used to rowdy groups and expected the worst when dealing with you. Pity.

You should also remember the room check out time is 10 o clock because the cleaner will be knocking on the door at ten before ten to let you know he wants in to start cleaning. Did get a bit confusing because the head was still fuzzed with the previous nights antics, the cleaner couldn't speak any English and we couldn't speak whatever language he spoke. We didn't realise he was the cleaner until we left the room at quarter past ten.

Never experienced the food as we were only there for one night but reception has a vending machine for soft drinks/snacks and a coffee machine, and reception sells cookies and cakes.

Location is brilliant for the pleasures of the Reeperbhan and the underground station is just across the road.

Not overly classy but happy to recommend and would return if in Hamburg again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TankerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Perfect if all you need is a place to sleep, if you want facilities look elsewhere. Staff helpful, excellent breakfast buffet. Is very well located on the Reeperbahn, though the entrance is not obvious from the street at first glance. Street noise can be a problem,however shouting, singing & police sirens are the soundtrack to the Reeperbahn , if you want quiet, stay in the city centre,if you want to be close to the action, stay here. Rooms fine for the type of hotel, clean with towels provided, share shower and toilets which where fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building, it may be further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed there for only one night but the experience was awful and I will never go there again.
Upon check-in, even though I told the staff I had booked online and paid already, she asked me to pay in cash again and again. As I insisted, she at last said "oh, sorry, I check from the computer that you have paid online and now everything is clear." I'd be surprised to where my cash would have gone if I paid in cash again...
And the hygienic condition was poor in the room and in general of the hostel. Plus, if you'd like to use the bed linen and W-LAN there, you have to pay extra...
If other hostels in the vicinity have vacant rooms/places, I recommend you to choose elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Think twice before you place a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Neston, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very basic hostel but perfect location for lads or lasses weekend right in the middle of the action on the Reeperbahn. Basic pallet bed but decent bathroom's. This is our second visit to this hostel and we would come back again. Has had a slight refurb since last time but rooms still as basic as before. Yes can be a bit noisy but with the location it's worth it, you get what you pay for and it was pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Definatley choose a room with a en-suite bathroom. Breakfast is 4 euro's but not bad value if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No1Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
A&O Hamburg Hammer Kirche
#275 of 320 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#227 of 320 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Hammerbrook
A&O Hamburg City
A&O Hamburg City
#50 of 89 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
A&O Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
#55 of 89 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn

Property: A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn
Address: Reeperbahn 154, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn 2*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn is a small hotel gem right on the famous Reeperbahn! Opened in June 2009 in the building of the former Hotel Stern one can still sense the cult atmosphere of the 80s right in the middle of the district. On the most sinful mile in all of Germany – the Reeperbahn – the hotel offers modern rooms in close vicinity to all the hustle and bustle. Single-, double-, family rooms(hotel area)• Dorms (hostel area)• All You Can Eat breakfast buffet • Ticket service• Room facilities:-shower and WC in all rooms,-lockable cupboards in our dorms,-comfy beds• open all year round• 24h front desk service• Lobby• Lobbybar/ Reeperbar• Kids‘ corner• Games• Wii Lounge & Karaoke• Lift• Safe at the front desk• Lobby TV• Lunch packs and diner catering upon request (groups only)• Luggage room• bike friendly• free WiFi in all public areas• Internet terminals in the lobby• Conference rooms• EdYOUtain for hostel fun and community feeling (e.g. A&O App, PhotoFunBox and much more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Hamburg Reeperbahn
a&o Hamburg Reeperbahn Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing