We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn
Ranked #67 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed in a private twin room for one night. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful, room was basic but clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable, there was space to hang clothes and the bathroom was clean and stocked with supplies.

The hostel was quite easy to find with a map (although I'm sure any local would be able to direct you to the Reeperbahn), and we felt safe leaving our car in the hostel car park (which cost ~ €7.50, but which did have a barrier and was not in sight of the main road). There was a good place to eat (German style restaurant on the corner) a minute's walk away.

When we were there they were having problems with their keycard system, which meant that only the hostel's master keys were working. Ordinarily we'd have been given our own key, but instead we were escorted to our room by the hostel security guard.

We didn't stay for breakfast, but the breakfast room looked ok. Bar at reception had a fair range of bottled beer, WiFi in reception worked. Exactly what we wanted for a cheap overnight stop.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 413 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here with a crowd of guys attending a football match (Hamburg v Rangers) and had a great time. The hotel is nothing special but at 80 euros for a quadruple room it was very good value for what we wanted. It was clean and had all the essentials like en suite toilet/shower, towels, etc. Our room was at the back so we never heard "outside" noises of any sort. Never heard any "inside" noises either.

The only downside was that the reception staff weren't very friendly. I got the impression they were used to rowdy groups and expected the worst when dealing with you. Pity.

You should also remember the room check out time is 10 o clock because the cleaner will be knocking on the door at ten before ten to let you know he wants in to start cleaning. Did get a bit confusing because the head was still fuzzed with the previous nights antics, the cleaner couldn't speak any English and we couldn't speak whatever language he spoke. We didn't realise he was the cleaner until we left the room at quarter past ten.

Never experienced the food as we were only there for one night but reception has a vending machine for soft drinks/snacks and a coffee machine, and reception sells cookies and cakes.

Location is brilliant for the pleasures of the Reeperbhan and the underground station is just across the road.

Not overly classy but happy to recommend and would return if in Hamburg again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TankerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Perfect if all you need is a place to sleep, if you want facilities look elsewhere. Staff helpful, excellent breakfast buffet. Is very well located on the Reeperbahn, though the entrance is not obvious from the street at first glance. Street noise can be a problem,however shouting, singing & police sirens are the soundtrack to the Reeperbahn , if you want quiet, stay in the city centre,if you want to be close to the action, stay here. Rooms fine for the type of hotel, clean with towels provided, share shower and toilets which where fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building, it may be further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed there for only one night but the experience was awful and I will never go there again.
Upon check-in, even though I told the staff I had booked online and paid already, she asked me to pay in cash again and again. As I insisted, she at last said "oh, sorry, I check from the computer that you have paid online and now everything is clear." I'd be surprised to where my cash would have gone if I paid in cash again...
And the hygienic condition was poor in the room and in general of the hostel. Plus, if you'd like to use the bed linen and W-LAN there, you have to pay extra...
If other hostels in the vicinity have vacant rooms/places, I recommend you to choose elsewhere to stay.

Room Tip: Think twice before you place a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very basic hostel but perfect location for lads or lasses weekend right in the middle of the action on the Reeperbahn. Basic pallet bed but decent bathroom's. This is our second visit to this hostel and we would come back again. Has had a slight refurb since last time but rooms still as basic as before. Yes can be a bit noisy but with the location it's worth it, you get what you pay for and it was pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Definatley choose a room with a en-suite bathroom. Breakfast is 4 euro's but not bad value if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank No1Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hostel is OK.
Price was reasonable.
Location is good (coffee shop and supermarket could be reached in 2-3 minutes walk.
Room was very small, nothing was provided.
I was even not sure about the security there, since the location is located in the middle of Hamburg's red light district and it was very noisy.

Summary: This is definitely a hostel. Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ss T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#132 of 321 in Hamburg
104 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
Auto-Parkhotel Hamburg
#136 of 321 in Hamburg
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Jugendherberge Auf dem Stintfang
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Hammerbrook
A&O Hamburg City
A&O Hamburg City
#62 of 103 in Hamburg
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn

Address: Reeperbahn 154, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range: $28 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn 1*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn is a small hotel gem right on the famous Reeperbahn! Opened in June 2009 in the building of the former Hotel Stern one can still sense the cult atmosphere of the 80s right in the middle of the district. On the most sinful mile in all of Germany – the Reeperbahn – the hotel offers modern rooms in close vicinity to all the hustle and bustle. Single-, double-, family rooms(hotel area)• Dorms (hostel area)• All You Can Eat breakfast buffet • Ticket service• Room facilities:-shower and WC in all rooms,-lockable cupboards in our dorms,-comfy beds• open all year round• 24h front desk service• Lobby• Lobbybar/ Reeperbar• Kids‘ corner• Games• Lift• Safe at the front desk• Lobby TV• Lunch packs and diner catering upon request (groups only)• Luggage room• bike friendly• free WiFi for all guest• Conference rooms• ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your A&O Hamburg Reeperbahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a&o Hamburg Reeperbahn Hotel Hamburg
a And o Hamburg Reeperbahn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing