We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre
Ranked #66 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Hamburg & found it was a great hotel. It may not look that great from the outside, but seems to have had a refurb & the rooms were very nice. It's only 5 min walk to the U-bahn & then just a few stops to the city centre. Theres a supermarket next door & a nice bar called Einstein nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear jpsykes,
Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and for sharing your positiv impressions here at Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to heard that you have spent some enjoyable time here with us in Hamburg.
Our hotel was opened in September 2009, which is the reason for the up to date room appearance.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hamburg.

Your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 728 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

I had stayed in Holiday Inn in July 2010 for 2 days. From the airport it took 65 Euros to reach Holiday Inn Express. I had a room in 3rd floor overlooking a Rewe store. The hotel is located just 2 minutes from Wartenau station. There are number of eating options around the hotel. It was unusually hot July in Germany and to my utter shock I realized AC was not working. The reception just responded saying work was in WIP and nothing could be done. It was suffocatingly hot and had to sleep keeping windows opened. Breakfast arrangement was barely adequate and space was cramped. I had to monetise one traveller's cheque and had to go all along to Hauptbanhof to get cash. Overall not a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shameek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear Shameek,
Thank you for staying with un in July 2011 and sharing your impressions with us here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your nice words about our good location and the eating options ouside our hotel.

As you noticed we had an extraordinary hot summer in Northern Germany 2010. Our cooling system was running, and in fact it was able to cool the rooms for several degrees, but depending to the outside temperature it was not possible to reach 18°C.

The taxi trip from the airport usually should not cost more than € 20,- to € 25,-. We regret to hear that you made some bad experiences with your taxi driver.

We wish yoiu all the best and we are looking forward to welcoming you as your guest, next time you will have a trip to Hamburg.
Your team from Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The hotel is about 25 mins walk from the city centre (5 mins from the nearest underground station).. so location was a problem for us who were just sight seeing.

The hotel is large and modern, and the room (especially the bathroom/shower room) is nice. The beds, in particular the mattress is cheap and you can feel every spring!

Breakfast is busy but we found it fine.

Note car parking is under the nearby supermarket and not cheap at 10 euro per night....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpanishTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Dear Owenturney,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your time to share your impressions of your stay here on tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you like our room, especially our bathroom and our breakfast.
Regarding the matrasses we have often guests who are very satisfied with those.
The parking fee of € 10,- is a competitive price close to downtown.

We hope you had a pleasant trip home and you will consider us as your hotel for your next Hamburg trip.

All the best for you and kind regards,
your Holiday Inn Expres Hamburg City Centre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The only problem was,I was at the back of the hotel,the noise from delivery lorries at 0500 woke me up.
Apart from that you could not fault are stay.One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Clean rooms. 5 min walk to metro station. totally 15 min to center.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear mparay,
Thank you very much for staying with us in our Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre.
We are pleased to hear that you spent some nice days in Hamburg.
We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest again.

Best regards,
your Holiday Inn Express HAmburg City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Room spotless with bed, towel changes, tea, coffee facilities changed each day.
Bed wiith headed pillows explaining hard or soft pillows. Problems are minor for room, needs more storage having only one cupboard with one shelf and 5 hangers. TV with several channel options. Rooms well insulated from other rooms and passageways, heard only one other guest once only. The heating switch on wall very good with 3 settings for fan in bathrooms extractor. As hotel, very little damage or marks on walls etc. Hotel entry very secure with main street entrance allowing entry only past reception, and side car park entrance thrugh key / speaker phone entry only. Staff bi lingual and efficient.

Problems though: breakfast as mentioned by other guests; Hotel refuse to allow guests to have trays on which to collect their breakfasts. This leads to guests picking up an item such as tea on saucer, taking it to a table, then returning for some cereal, then again for toast, an egg, maybe a crossant and jam, or yoghurt, leading to so many trips per person... multiply this by say, 40 or 50 guests and you can see where the frustrations lie, time management issues and queues appear and the frustrations of guests rise.
If a guest has children in tow, or a businessman in a rush, or as I am, a disabled guest is staying, this becomes a nightmare.
Arrival on the first two days for me, (I stayed 4 days) was easy at breakfast, as I committed myself to arrive 3minutes before breakfast start time at 6.30am. On the last two days I arrived an hour later and had to abandon any hope of breakfast as I witnessed the chaos and it entailed arriving, then walking 30 yds to a table with tea, back 15yds for toast and eggs (queue for single toaster), 15 yds back, 15yds to get cereal, 15 yds back, 15 yds for yoghurt, 15 yds back, 15yds for another tea...total 135yds - avoiding and twisting with a spinal injury past all the others fighting to get their breakfasts....Not advisable for me and turning my stay into a disaster, and leading to inability to move for several hours if attempted - and leading to not being able to survive the rest of the efforts of the day visiting the city - (actually spoke to one of hotels top advisors etc who didn't seem to understand this problem -more concerned that guests might overlaod on food).

Major noise problem? My room was on the side of the building and there was some road noise bouncing off adjacent buildings, this was countered by me when I switched on the bathroom shower, its constant low noise, thus counteracted the intermittant noise from the roadway and allowed me to sleep, other people may find this more difficult to get through....Overall, sleep is most important and this may be a huge issue when booking here.

Internet: failed first day and money's returned , third night worked perfectly. But again, as other guests note, if this is a hotel aimed at business travellers (I wasn't one) why charge 5 Euros per 24 hrs to discourage there stopping here when other chains, even B&B's provide it free? It doesn't make sense.
Nieghbourhood Ok no real problems encountered and safe.

Overall I would use this as a base again; though I'd hope the chain would address the problems they are causing to guests in manmanagement of time at the breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12,345,678,190,832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear 12345678190832,
Thank you very much for your stay with us and your detailed feedback.
We regret to hear that some parts of your stay were disappointing and appreciate the open words.
Only the critics of our guests can show us the areas to improve.

We would be delighted to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards from Hamburg,
Your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel as such is fine. There is somehow value for money. It is close to a metro station and 20 minutes walk from the central station. The breakfast is all right but not memorable. The major drawback of the hotel is the quality of the beds/matresses. Very very soft and destable, and you could feel almost each and every one of the springs.

The atmosphere was somewhat hectic at breakfast as if there were too few seats, too little space for the food, and hence too crowded. If was not a place for relaxation over a cup of coffee while reading your paper.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexhh, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Dear Perplex,

thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and give us some advices to operate better in the future.

We hope you had a safe journey home. If you visit Hamburg again we are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest..

Kind regards,
your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#50 of 321 in Hamburg
926 reviews
Bridge Inn Hotel
#222 of 321 in Hamburg
190 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#67 of 321 in Hamburg
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre

Address: Luebecker Str. 109, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $81 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's first brand new entirely non smoking hotel will open in Autumn 2009! The brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is located in the center of Hamburg only a few minutes away from all of Hamburg s numerous attractions. The subway station Luebecker Strasse and Wartenau are only a few minutes on foot. The Alster is only a short stroll away and gives you quite a view across this historic city. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers 179 non smoking luxurious en suite air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, modem point, High Speed Wi-Fi Internet Connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre has an interior designed full service bar with 50inch flat screen TVs, a comfortable dining area, air conditioning and high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre offers affordable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. Stay Smart, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hamburg City Centre is expecting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing