We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious fish dishes”

Alt Helgolaender Fischerstube
Ranked #53 of 4,397 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of the St. Pauli district, right on Hamburg's fishmarket, this has been one of the best and most attractive traditional Hamburg fish restaurants since it opened in 1982. Head for the terrace to enjoy the harbour atmosphere. The hospitality, ambience, and dedicated team of chefs combine culinary masterpieces with tradition and modernity. From Hamburger Pannfisch (fried fishcake) through to lighter dishes with an Asian influence and vegetarian fare, this is a great place to come for fine dining. The lunchtime menu changes weekly, and the daily specials are freshly caught. The drinks menu features good wines, fine beers, cold drinks and juices, as well as coffee and tea specialities. Functions for groups up to 120, and workshops and conferences for up to 30 can also be accommodated here.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can highly recommend this restaurant. Me and my girlfriend had a delicious fish dish each, the atmosphere was nice and cosy and the staff was very friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Wanderschaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found this restaurant serving good fresh fish dish and salad. It has a good cosy place decorated in fishing house. It is located just opposite to the famous fish market house which will have a fish market event only on Sunday morning from 5-9am.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is worth the trek down to the docks. We were met by a friendly staff and crisp well kept beer. The menu is shamelessly fish focused and does it very well. I strongly recommend the cray fish soup which was delicate and flavoursome. A member of our party had the grilled halibut with cabbage and potatoes, this was delicious and well balanced. We visited on a Monday evening, yet the restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere. The food is not cheap, but instead is priced to reflect the quality, yet remains extremely good value. When I am next in Hamburg, I will be returning to this little gem. Go and visit!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank F7425TSmichaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

This fish restaurant was amazing, our waitress Carmen was so attentive and efficient. The selection of dishes was very varied the ambiance of the restaurant was stylish and relaxed I would highly recommend This restaurant

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank SybilE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

The food was very bad and looks very bad.
The shrimps from the north look like worms and taste as bad. We almost ate nothing except the bread and potato’s . We left everything paid and went to eat elsewhere.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Adventure571393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderS6287, Manager at Alt Helgolaender Fischerstube, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Dear Guest,

we are confused about your valuation. To be honest, we could hardly imagine, that you visited our restaurant. Is it possible, that you confounded us with some other place?
If you still have the receipt of your visit, could you send it to us? We would really like to find out what happened.
Thank you for your help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alt Helgolaender Fischerstube also viewed

 

Been to Alt Helgolaender Fischerstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing