We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #38 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I've been there for a business meeting in May 2013, spent two nights. The hotel was absolutely perfect, rooms not too big bus very nice, clean and quiet. The restaurant was very good as well and the location very closed to the city centre. I was there for a business meeting but I would definitely consider this hotel for a romantic w.e

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelino67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 595 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

A very cosy design hotel not far from the city center (2 bus stops from the railway station).
Lobby was stylish, room was stylish and very big, everything was very comfortable.
Breakfasts are pretty expensive, but really worth the price! Mine were included into the price of the room, so I just spent several nice mornings with perfect food & coffee.

There is a parking possibility in the hotel which is very nice, MINI for rent is even nicer:)
Ctypass could be purchsed in the lobby, the taxi are ordered at one click in the I-pad also in the lobby.
I liked the stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxa1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohertlein, Verkaufsleiter at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your warm feedback! We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. During your next stay, you can rent one of our two Jaguars, which we offer free to our guests now. We hope to see you soon again! Yours, The George Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was so pleasantly surprised when I stayed at The George for the first time, what great value for money. Such a beautiful hotel and a great bar and restaurant. I can't wait to go back in March for my next business trip, but would happily recommend for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nai82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even if the name is English the atmosphere in the hotel is not - it is a hotels where design is very important and you really can't tell which country you're in. The rooms are rather small and everything is brown - the carpet, the doors, the walls - even the lift The design is well thought through - if you then like this style is a different matter... It was quite cosy now in December - but I do wonder how it will feel entering this brown place on a bright spring day?
The staff was very friendly and apologised for not being able to give us a room overlooking the Alster - as they said at check-in "the hotel is full good for us - bad for you" and quite right the view at the hospital across the street is not the same as the Alster... However, the location is very good close to the Alster and the shopping district. You'll find a lot of nice shops and restaurants very close by.
We were very lucky to find a parking spot in the street - otherwise you have to park in the parking basement belonging to the hotel - and it is not free. Breakfast was included in our room rate. It was a very nice buffet - but not in any way extraordinary. Wifi was free. To sum up: good location but it is not as luxurious as it portends to be.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Alster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as part of a business trip. There was a small additional cost for my other half to stay but it was well worth it. The rooms are a little small but clean and very modern. Food in the restaurant was lovely but as with most hotels a little pricy. But there was a good atmosphere and the staff were very welcoming. We didn't speak any German except a few feeble attempts but this was not an issue as all staff spoke very good English. Location was great just a short walk from the city center. Only thing really missing was a gym but this was easily solved with use of the German Boris bikes or a run round the lake.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank runlabratrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Great vibe to the place. Nice design and a wonderful bar/restaurant that would be a good place to eat even if you weren't staying there.

Parking is an issue. There are never enough spots in the garage and the staff are useless in helping you find a spot. Their response to not having any space is "yah, parking is bad around here".

Rooms are nice, staff are alright. A little slow preparing a quick lunch I ordered once. I don't know why it takes over 25 minutes to make a club sandwich when the bar is empty at 15:00. After I specifically said I was in a hurry and what can I have ready in less than 10-15 mins.

But overall it's a good place to stay.

Wifi is free and breakfast is better than most places.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very nice and good hotel in a central location. Especially in summer when there is a bar on the roof and great views over the Alster.

I have stayed there on a number of occasions and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bahrenfeld
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
#16 of 321 in Hamburg
685 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#30 of 321 in Hamburg
1,503 reviews
Neustadt
SIDE Design Hotel Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#26 of 321 in Hamburg
1,574 reviews
St. Pauli
east Design Hotel Hamburg
east Design Hotel Hamburg
#19 of 321 in Hamburg
813 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 321 in Hamburg
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Barcastr. 3, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: $152 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
„The name is George, The George!“ Find British tradition with a contemporary touch and intercultural reminiscences of colonial times. In the colourful St. Georg district of Hamburg, close to the recreation area of Außenalster, The George welcomes his guest with discreet elegance and DaCaio Restaurant with Italian cordiality. All areas of the hotel can be booked exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing