We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful surroundings”
Review of EAST Restaurant

EAST Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 3,894 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $22 - $216
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. Pauli
Description: In a former iron foundry near Hamburg’s notorious redlight district, east blends gastronomy, hospitality and nightlife around a three-storey high restaurant and courtyard terrace called “Dedon Island”. Four pillars tower divide the restaurant area. Here, at the east restaurant, creativity never ends. Ingenious creations, born of the traditional, european cuisine, some of them mild and spicy embedded in asian fragrances and condiments, let your soul swing. Hamburg’s new and exquisite meeting- and melting-point.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

First of all , it's a little pricey but we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the service. As an appetizer we ordered the sushi , which we shared together. This was very delicious, and in my view enough for two people. For the main course i orderd truffle tagliatelle and it was realy nice. I orderd the 'small' version and that was quiet enough,

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Wendy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2016

In the centre of town just behind the Reeperbahn. Modern and interesting outside (be prepared it's huge). The guards outside can be intimidating but once inside, the restaurant is very cool and high quality. There is an exclusive night club on the top floor, a trendy bar on the ground floor and the table service food is a short walk downstairs.

Great food, authentically made by Japanese chefs and the cocktails are mind blowing. Ideal for couples, friends and work.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Having stayed at the hotel..we choose to stay here and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and the food. Keep it up East. Definitely worth visiting.

Date of visit: June 2016
3  Thank Shah Sultan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at EAST Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Shah,

Thank you very much for taking time to send us your great comments. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to the east Restaurant and Hotel.

Warm regards

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Whilst on a business trip we visited East as a group of 12. The venue is impressive and I think a big part of its appeal.The staff were attentive and helpful and the service was good. The mixed feeling bit is the menu... I didn't quite get the mix.. I know that sushi is probably the attraction and those who had it said it was excellent but I thought the rest of the menu was lacking variation.. In saying that I did have a very good ( if slightly expensive) steak.. I do feel that 35 euro is a bit much especially when you have to add 9-10 euro to get couple of side dishes.. I suppose I may be out of touch price wise but I'm not eating the view and don't feel I should be charged for it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank MrJester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

If you have one evening in Hamburg, have dinner here!!
It's that good! They have an incredible sushi and sashimi combination, but also very good other dishes!
Be sure to make reservations though as they fill up quickly! After dinner walk to the Empire Riverside Hotel for a cocktail at the 20up Bar to close up a nice evening in Hamburg!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank PDanielBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at EAST Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear "PDanielBS",

Thank you very much for kind review. We hope to see you soon at the east Restaurant and maybe welcome you to our recommendation for an "after Dinner Drink" at the clouds on the 23. Floor of the "tanzenden Türme".

Warm regards

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EAST Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to EAST Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.