We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food , design and good service ”
Review of EAST Restaurant

EAST Restaurant
Ranked #132 of 3,894 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $22 - $216
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. Pauli
Description: In a former iron foundry near Hamburg’s notorious redlight district, east blends gastronomy, hospitality and nightlife around a three-storey high restaurant and courtyard terrace called “Dedon Island”. Four pillars tower divide the restaurant area. Here, at the east restaurant, creativity never ends. Ingenious creations, born of the traditional, european cuisine, some of them mild and spicy embedded in asian fragrances and condiments, let your soul swing. Hamburg’s new and exquisite meeting- and melting-point.
Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

We went to East before going to the Adele concert. It was the perfect place to start of an amazing evening. The design was beautiful and the outside space relaxing and chic. The food we ordered was exactly what we wanted and the service very pleasant. The drinks however beat it all. They were fantastic cocktails for a decent price .
I recommend this place highly even if the location for a tourist at least looks odd.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank murli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at EAST Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear murli1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our property. We are thrilled that you had such a nice time before the adele concert.
See you soon, Marlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Very Fancy but not over the top, food was amazing. Perhaps we'd come here on the first night when we return so we have more money to spend. Lovely staff.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank nialc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at EAST Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Nial,

Thank you so much for your great Review. We hope to see you soon maybe on you first night in Hamburg so that you enjoy all upon your whishes.

Warm regards

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2016

nice dinner food good. service fair.
but too noisy for us.
it seems like a place for the young to mingle and meet for after ´business socials.
not for quiet romantic dinners

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stellakwongriechmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
east-cosmos, Leiter Gästebetreuung at EAST Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2016

Dear "stellakwongriechmann",

Thanks for taking time to send us your honest impressions. Glad you liked our culinary delights and our individual Service. We hope to welcome you back again - during the week our restaurant offers quiet evenings apart from the weekend.

Warm regards

Peter Praunsmändtl
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

The restaurant itself is lovely looking. Wonderful inside! Great colourful windows, wonderful seating areas, great big open space with huge white walls. Really cool. The cocktails and nuts at the bar are delicious! The food itself also is really good. Took quite a while for our food to come but everything was delicious!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here. We visited as part of a large group of around 100 people and I was amazed at how well the restaurant coped with the number of people, as well as the many other smaller groups. The food was pre selected for us but was cooked to a very high standard. Chicken Caesar salad for starters which was really tasty, steak for main which was cooked to order, and a cheese board for desert. The staff deserve a mention as it mustn't be easy to look after such a number but they did so to a great standard. Would recommend.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank mattjmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed EAST Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to EAST Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.