We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and centrally located”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #282 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was my first time at the Hotel Condor. I normally try to stay near the Hauphbanhof in Hamburg since it's central and easy to get to and from the airport by S-Bahn. The Condor is steps away from the station. The room was comfortable, quiet, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ample. It was not the best breakfast I've had in Germany, but it was good. The area is typical of hotels near a train station, but at no time did I feel unsafe. You can cross the street and be on one of the most beautiful pedestrian shopping streets in Hamburg. A good price in a terrific location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side to avoid any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 66 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed at Hotel Condor for two nights. Room (twin) was on the small side but still comfortable. Bathroom was a bit tight, but at least the decent shower was a bonus.

The hotel is close to the main station and a metro stop, but also a shady part of town. We didn't encounter too many problems, other than a couple of local drunks, but some might feel a little unsafe particularly at night. Let's just say the hotel isn't exactly the kind of destination suitable for a romantic city break, unless you and your partner enjoy knocking shops and local brass hanging around street corners.

However, for a group of friends demanding little more than a place to sleep and decent connections to livelier then this hotel served it's purpose.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank begleco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The hotel is in a crime ridden area, the reception area closes at night with people trying to get in, no internet apart from hallway with 2 chairs, breakfast basic and grumpy staff. Location only 2 mins from the main station, all in all a very poor place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parkhurst111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I chose this hotel for its vicinity to the central station. I've been to many major cities and observed some shady downtown areas, but this was beyond even my imagination. Drugdeals were taking place on the street outside the hotel, there was a huge, fresh pool of blood on the stairway, and further down the street I saw prostitutes of all ages.

In the short walk to reach the hotel, I encountered several stoned and aggressive people who followed me, and there were several foreign youth gangs. This is not a friendly neighborhood. Nor was the staff very friendly, and the room did not look anything like the pictures they advertise with. On top of that, the staff was unfriendly, and I caught a glimpse of the kitchen, which was very unclean.

For those thinking, it's only a place to sleep, I had a non-refundable booking arrangement, but I gladly chose to leave the hotel after staying for only 20 minutes and hearing a lot of screaming outside - and this was before dark. Also, I have been told the police don't work after six in the evening, which doesn't add to your sense of security.

Finally, when I checked out, another unfortunate guest was in the reception. He had made a reservation, but the receptionist said they were out of rooms. I offered the guy to take my room free of charge, as it has been prepaid, but the receptionist would have none of it. He was threatening us both and would rather place the new guest in another hotel than give him my room. In my many travels, I've never met such a greedy and non-service oriented individual as this character.

In short, stay away from this place. Don't let the central location be your reason for choosing this hotel, and consider whether it is actually worth to risk your life to save a few euros or dollars.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omeridius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 23, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank snoeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank francescosca61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Apartment Hotel City Apart Hamburg
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#48 of 321 in Hamburg
412 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
Hotel Alt-Nuernberg
#112 of 321 in Hamburg
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Terminus
#127 of 321 in Hamburg
133 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Address: Steintorweg 17, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $69 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing