We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Expensive and very good”
Review of IndoChine - CLOSED

IndoChine
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, French, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altonaer Fischmarkt
Lima Region, Peru
Level Contributor
698 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Not Expensive and very good”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

we had very good dishes, very good wine, excellent service, multilanguages waiter, we had Chateau Ducru 1970 two botles, in a very good price, the average of the dishes was ok and the price was ok, for the kind of good service and location.
I will return next time with more friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    31
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit boring and expensive”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I heard and read a lot of good things about this place, but I was very disappointed once I got to IndoChine. Although, the interior is stylish and you have a nice view over the river, the drinks are not properly done, and also weaker and more expensive than in rest of Hamburg. The entrance and cloakroom fee are also too high. Hamburg is a fantastic party city with a large range of good places where you can drink and have fun, and IndoChine can easily be rejected for other places. No opinion about the food, we just went to the night club.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertKq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“got steadily average”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The first time we went back in 2007, it seemed amazing. Over the next few times it go progressively more average. The view of the harbour is super, although there are loads of restaurants with the same view. We will need to go back again as it has been some time, however the last meal we had there in 2009 was rather plain. Certainly nothing to write home about.

Helpful?
Thank ferrante80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenDenmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not that impressed”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It seems like IndoChine was the place to be seen some years ago - and they still live on that.

We went there - 10 people - on a Sunday for dinner. Started out with drinks in the lounge - nice assortment in liquers. Went upstairs for dinner.

The view is stunning - but not unique. The chairs are quite heavy - but ok comfortable. We had a mix of different dishes - they were all good - but nothing out of the ordinary to be honest. I was a bit disappointed. Desserts were a big disappointment - didn't really taste all that good - but some liked it.

It's still quite expensive - but the food just doesn't live up to it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply disappointing”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

You wonder why the restaurant management believe they can charge those prices. I assume the head chef has never been in an authentic asian kitchen as food is bland and does not live up to promising description in menue. Wine is totally overpriced - actually a complete rip off. Staff tries to be classy but lacks training and style.
Simply ordinary and, again, completely overpriced. There are so many better restaurants to chose from in hamburg.

Helpful?
Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IndoChine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing