We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg
Ranked #61 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here with my family (2 kids age 6 and 3) for 5 nights.
The good: 1) super awesome hospitality. The front desk was really helpful, friendly and accomodating. 2) The room and bathroom was clean. 3) Huge common kitchen to make simple meals, and refrigerator to store your food, or you can buy food from their mini supermarket. This is a plus for my children, because they got tired of eating out. So some nights we just bake pizza or made instant noodles, and ate dinner while watching movie at the cinema room. 4) cinema room. 5) can rent nintendo ds with decent games from the front desk. 6) wonderful location (5 min walk to nearby subway, and really close to grocery store, restaurants) 7) Free wifi or you can use the computers downstairs for free
The bad: 1) dark room. The wall in my room was red orange colors. And with only 2 lamps, it was quite dark. 2) terrible pillows
We were quite satisfied with our stay in this hostel. We enjoyed our stay here, and the breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anakbabiilang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    116
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
112
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Awesome looking hostel, they have been really careful with the aesthetic and so it looks really awesome. Room and bathroom were spotless, beds were fairly comfy but pillows aren't the best. Free good wifi throughout, and PC's to use downstairs with a free printer too. Big dining area and guest kitchen looked OK. No lockers in room but they have a storage rea where you can get padlox for free to use staff are nice. 9/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkitineJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Superbude is good value for money, we stayed there for 2 nights in 6-bed-dorms. You are sleeping on low beds, the mattresses are good, you can rest and sleep very well, if your roomate doesnt snore... The room we stayed in was a bit dark, though, and you cant open a window completely, to let in fresh air. I have missed ventilation during, dont know if it is getting funny during hot summer days, we stayed in early August with mixed weather in Hamburg.
Breakfast is heaven, for 7.50 EUR it is very very good. If you want to eat out for breakfast you need to walk for a while. If you dont mind walking, Suberpude is reachable on foot from Hamburg Central Station

Room Tip: It is a bit noisy, no matter if you book a room to the inside (courtyard) or the outside (main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hamburg is a great city. Superbude has potential to be very nice as well.
Too bad we were not as enthousiastic about this hotel as most others. The 3 days when we stayed it was hot in Hamburg: over 20 degress (and one day over 25 celcius) in the daytime.

This means the rooms get smoking hot as there is no airconditioning. OK, there was a very small (and noisy) table fan in the room but this brings no releaf without opening the windows, and there lies the problem: the hotel is situated on a very busy and noisy road making it very hard (not to say impossible) to sleep without earplugs. Unfortunately these are not supplied by the hotel, so make sure to bring your own.

Too bad even our earplugs couldnt handle the "club" next to the hotel. Saturday night pumping bases kept booming till 6 am after which a fight broke out outside and police came to restore order. It would have been very enjoyable to watch if we wouldnt have been so tired from walking in the city the day before.

Apart from the noise, which should be less or no problem when you can just keep the windows closed in winter, we didnt like the double beds. The bed is made up of to single beds put next to eachother. Both beds have a wooden bedframe around them, so the gap is quite wide and hard to lie on. I suggest you bring your foam "love bridge" from home to bridge the gap or romance could hit a low when you are staying.

And while you are packing anyway: bring your pillow. The ones we had in our room should have been replaced at least 2 years ago.

it sounds pretty bad. The rooms were clean, staff nice, location quite OK from the subway. You'll know it from the other reviews and its true. Hoewever, I really cannot give it more then 2 stars as the bed itself is sub-standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olafdapolaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The good: The staff..it seems they consider the hotel as theirs, and that makes you feel like their personel guest. You feel welcome and they take their time to inform and inspire you about things to do while visiting their city.
The vibe of the place is warm and everyone are welcome. The decor is imaginative and you are so far away from felling like just another boring hotel-chain-decor. My room was big and clean.
Its not dead centre in the city, but it takes 18 minutes to wak all the way to ccentral station, or 5 minutes to the metro station and the 3 minutes ride... but once you are in the metro, you can go anywhere.
The bad: Traffic outside my window very heavy, so for sleep I had to get the windows closed and that makes it hot. Its ok that there is no aircon at this price, but then they should install an cellingfan.
The tv is very small and I could not se anything if my head was on the pillow, and every program is in german, even captain Piccard of the starship Enterprise speaks german.. In these adanced times this sould be optional. This is off course not hotel superbudes fall.
The shower is very very slippery and the soap has a strange smell.
The suggestions:
Put something i the bottom of the shower, to avoid accidents. Throw in CNN and a music-channel on the tv and go to 32 inch-
Install a celling fan that can be controlled from the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBigL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Upon arrival everything is in the German informal 'Du' - a bit too forward perhaps?! Close inspection then reveals that chunky black rimmed spectacles, hosepipe jeans and floppy hats seem to comprise the staff uniform. I'm only 28 and I felt out of place straight away... I'm clearly not cool enough.

The room was absolutely tiny, with the exception of the bathroom. They should be embarrassed offering such rooms. Cleanliness was good, however.

Parking turned out to be €5 a night. This was in semi-smallprint on the paperwork and was not mentioned by the desk staff until the time came to cough up. There are also no signs in the car park advertising the charge. Turn right at the lights after the car park and there are plenty of spaces under the bridge and beyond.

We were very disappointed considering the other reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim1983_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect for us. It was easy to get to using public transportation from the airport. Get off at Berliner Tor and turn right, it’s a quick walk to the hotel from the Berliner Tor. It’s also a simple walk into city center from the hotel. The staff was knowledgeable, professional and seemed as happy to work there as we were to stay.

Even the contrived quirkiness of a frat house for adults added to the fun. Yes, the walls were Pepto- Bismol pink but not too many people staying at this hotel seem to be carving out time to meditate on various shades of pink and how they mixed with a purpler pinks. The décor was the basic repurposing of whatever one could find in a hardware store and they were very creative. Kudos. Who would have thought that a toilet plunger could be a rack or that a mousetrap would be a keen way to hang pamphlets? They spent money where it should be spent; on plumbing, comfortable beds and bedding.

If I had one concern for anyone staying here, it would be the height of the beds. They were low to the ground. The beds were comfortable, the linen was fastidiously clean, as was, the rest of the room but the beds in our room were low to the ground it could have been because this was the family room we were given, even though there were only two of us. It would be great for a family with children.

Frühstück was good and plentiful.

For the price and convenience, it’s the best deal in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Altona-Altstadt
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Pauli
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#45 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg City
#40 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg

Property: Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg
Address: Spaldingstrasse 152, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#79 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping in a hotel bed is going to become super!Stylish, comfortable, communicative and valuable: Superbude right in the heart of HamburgFrequent travellers sleep in hotels, hostels, b&bs or youth hostels, depending on style and budget. But nothing is better than spending a few nights in your friends home, which is often a Superbude, and you can enjoy such a home fully if it is right in the middle of one of Europes most interesting towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superbude Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing