We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but....”

[m]eatery bar + restaurant
Ranked #14 of 3,798 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The [m]eatery in Hamburg's new town offers a sophisticated ambiance, combined with hearty food and great service. Only the finest quality and freshest ingredients are served in the [m]eatery. Delicious starters, sensational steaks, unique burgers- and tartar specialities, and a choice of drinks that completes the offer. Argentinian Black Angus, original American beef, and meat seasoned with Husumer willow bark, made with traditional craftsmanship, are all options you could choose to indulge in. A speciality which is really representative of the [m]eatery, is the tartar, which is always served fresh á la minute from the very best and most expensive cuts of meat. The menu also offers monkfish cutlet served with sweetheart cabbage, and Sardinian Gnocchi in Noilly Prat Sauce, New York Cheesecake - deliciously creamy cheesecake covered in white chocolate and suitable for vegetarians. In addition to the menu, the old glass divides in the restaurant offer an additional visual attraction of their own. Within the individual booths, the expensive Husumer cuts of meat are put before the eyes of the guests after three to four weeks of coming to maturity.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A mixed experience visiting this restaurant. The atmosphere was more "up-scale" then the food deserved in my opnion.

Had a great beef- and veal tatar seasoned variously. But the signature steak, where they combine grilling and a 800 degree oven gave a little odd experience. Hence my steak was on a bone, the scent when the steak was served was more fishy, than grilled steak.

It was not bad, but...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

We are awfully sorry that the flavour of our dry-aged beef was not to your satisfaction and did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best attention to make your next dinner perfect!

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 796 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed an excellent meal at the (m)eatery which included a fabulous steak. The waiter (Omid) was excellent. I did find the tables to be rather cramped sitting far too close to the next tables. It is well worth a visit though if visiting Hamburg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that the service was to your satisfaction. We already passed your nice compliment to our waiter Omid!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent food and an outstanding cocktail menu!!! Whilst looking at the drinks menu it was difficult to decide on a drink. There were so many interesting and new combinations which didn't seem to appear on your average drinks menu. The blueberry muffin cocktail was delicious, definitely one i can recommend. If this bar was in my home town i would most certainly be dropping in for cocktails more often. Service was prompt and friendly, with an extensive knowledge of their menus, both food and drink.We had an excellent evening definitely worth a look in.

Thank 48Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner and that our cocktails at the [m]eatery bar were to your satisfaction.

We hope to have you back soon!

Best regards,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I choce m eatery for a Saturday late lunch, because of the dry aged meat, and the news, they want to be the best Steak-Restaurant in Hamburg.
Here the Facts: unappetizing late Lunch
Service professionality average rate, 2,5 of 5, friendliness and professionality
Kitchen: the Beef- Veal Tartar, very good 4,5 of 5, quality and preparation
Steak: one Rip-eye Steak average 3 of 5 points, quality and preparation
Steak: NY-Cat everage average 2,5 of 5 points,
Steak: Filet Mignon, two times burning thats to much,
the side dishes tasteless, loveless, no passion for something!!!!!!!!
Complain-Management:
Was for nothing, the didn't charge for the burned Filet Mignon, i don't want something for free,
You all together destroyed the reputation of your Restaurant and some hours of my Birthday Party.
The Managers attitude was the best, hiding behind the wall and service staff,
instead of going ahead and talking with the customers. well done like the burning Steaks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BLeisure365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very concerned about your critical comments regarding our service and hospitality and would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We will certainly discuss your feedback regarding the burned steak with our Executive Chef and assure you that we take your complaint very serious.

Dear guest, Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Service great, the steaks were amazing
they are hung over a long period of time and it is reflected in the quality
was on my own as on business but it is thr type of place you want to bring your family or partner t0

1  Thank RayT1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the [m]eatery and that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed [m]eatery bar + restaurant also viewed

 

Been to [m]eatery bar + restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing