We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How can this NOT be number one in Potsdam?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“How can this NOT be number one in Potsdam?”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a chic, very modern hotel behind an historic facade, right next to the Brandenburg Gate, a three minute walk from the entrance to Sanssouci Park. We parked in the underground lot just across the pedestrian plaza from the hotel. We were greeted hospitably by a young man who spoke flawless English and who could not have been more helpful. This being an old building that's been radically converted, the room arrangement is a bit quirky, with some crossing over an interior courtyard to reach the elevator etc. There are not many rooms.

The room is VERY stylishly, thoughtfully furnished, with all manner of four star extras, such as slippers, robes, no-charge mineral water etc. The furnishings are high- end modern, with lovely woodwork. Storage space in closets and drawers is ample. The bathroom is large and modern, with a full array of products that is larger than is typical. The air conditioning system was very efficient, and it was a good thing, as the weather was hot during our stay. Free wifi operated very well.

Breakfast in the all- white breakfast room is a delight, inviting one to linger over the newspapers and look out to the goings- on outside. There was a very full range of dishes available, with the usual cheeses and meats, breads, yogurts, and cereals as well as crepes stuffed with wild berries, mini cheesecakes, and scruptious poppy seed cakes. Combined with friendly and efficient service, who could ask for anything more?

We stayed at this hotel after an eighteen day trip through Germany, and this was one of the best hotel stays we had. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the newer section, through the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    52
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
70
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel with excellent service, central location, triple glass windows, and tasteful and comfortable rooms. Just 10 minutes walk from Sanssouci. Really a nice stopover place on the way to Berlin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Located in the hear of Potsdam the Hotel am Brandenburger Tor is ideal for a stay. After nearly two weeks of driving though Germany we enjoyed a more luxurious room for the night. The room was very large, with an equally generous bathroom, and all aspects ideal for a little indulgence.

The breakfast is fantastic with a large selection of foods available in the clean and modern restaurant. Good coffee also!

Definitely worth paying a little extra.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This 4 star hotel is located near the iconic Brandenburg gate at Potsdam & close to Park sansoucci.
The bedroom has a modern, chic interiorwith a balcony. The hotel provides complimentary sandals. Breakfast is served from their all white kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Don't let the exterior appearance to mislead you. The building looks old and not promissing.But inside everything is new ,they are after an extensive face lifting and I could easily give 5 stars to this hotel.
Breakfast also wonderful,huge selection .
The only problem is that we had to carry the luggage by ourselves from the parking ,there is no elevator and it was very difficult.

Room Tip: every room is good in this hotel,don;t spend for the room with a view because it does not worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is downtown and it is easy to go anywhere you want easily. The buffet was remarkable. Staff were typically polite.

The hotel has small parking (3), you have to pay € 12 every day at least. The staff does not speak English adequately.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateSpyros_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The hotel has a great location and very nice rooms with a good atmosphere. Staff is curteous and the breakfast is great. The only annoying thing was that the room service is not up to the same standard. Since this was a vacation we also liked to use the room, but typically it was only made up quite late in the afternoon, the floor was not vacuumed (on arrival we even found a 2 x 2 cm piece from a broken glass right in front of the minibar) and soap and shower gel was not replaced. After 3-4 days we were really low on soap and after complaining to the reception we were given a small piece of soap. Also without proof I strongly suspect that we were cheated when ordering drinks in the (nice Voltaire-) bar at the hotel. Since we did spend more that 1,000 euro's during our stay these details took part of the pleasure of an otherwise excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Brandenburger Tor (more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_2011189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
0.4 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
#4 of 37 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Luisenplatz
Hotel Am Luisenplatz
#16 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam

Property: Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
Address: Brandenburger Str. 1, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany (Formerly Hotel am Brandenburger Tor)
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing