We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, good value for money”
Review of NH Potsdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Potsdam
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, good value for money”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The hotel is situated center of Potsdam, near lot of deutsche restaurants, great value for food and drinks. The parking is very small. We used a nearby parking much bigger. Otherwise good hotel, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maniac_the_evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    340
    101
    30
    11
See reviews for
109
315
30
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations.

We booked a standard room but have a one year old so asked them for a few extras (kettle, fridge, cot) which were all provided without extra cost. The room was clean, warm and quiet. The location could not be better.

Although it does appear to be more of a business/conference hotel we would still recommend it to families and other tourists due to its great location and friendly staff.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but I have given it 5 'blobs' because of the quality that you get for the money paid.

Tip: Our package did not include breakfast. Rather than pay the slightly excessive 17 euros per person, there are numerous bakeries within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. They all offer a decent and affordable breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuildfordGreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

The best aspect of the hotel is the location in the very heart of central Potsdam. The rooms are fine, functional, clean, nice bathroom, nothing special, but certainly excellent value at 80 Euros a night. Breakfast is not included in that but there are many good breakfast options on the doorstep outside. Reception staff seemed a bit too preoccupied with themselves rather than their waiting customers, but this may have been a one-off experience. All in all no major pluses, no major negatives, it just does the job for a 1 or 2 night stay in Potsdam, especially if you dont have a car.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The NH hotel is a very good chain for business travellers. Wireless is working OK, breakfast is offering a nice selection of everything a traveller could ask for and in Potsdam you can really walk everywhere - especially with the old Dutch quaters across the street. I would always go back when in Potsdam.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, we arrived at 1:00am and we got our keys fast. The car parking is underneath the hotel. The room is just a normal clean hotel room. We faced the courtyard en could open a window. No noise, good beds, simpel new shower. The location is perfect in the center of this charming city. The internet connection was good, but as in most hotels expensive. I gues they have to make extra income cause nobody uses pay-tv in hotels anymore. I would stay here agian, simple parking, good internet, location is great, nice city. We didn't eat in the hotel, we prefer eating in bars/cafe/coffeshops. I find the bed a little hard, my partner found it perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondreizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachlon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed here in mid-July when visiting Potsdam for a wedding. The hotel is ideally located - I would say probably the best location in Potsdam. Within walking distance of Potsdam Haupbanhof station (also you can catch the trams to and from the the hotel if you wish). Hotel location opposite the Dutch quarter, also very close to the main pedestranised shopping area which has lots of cafes / restaurants. We only had drinks at the main hotel bar and didn't eat anything at the hotel as there were so many nice restaurants nearby where we could sit outside and enjoy the weather. Service was very good - especially at reception. Room nice and clean and modern - perfectly adequate for a city hotel. Only downside was we were visiting when temparature was 35 degree C and with no air conditioning, the room was very hot (however the hotel didn't make any pretentions that the rooms are air conditioned). We could however, open the window as we were facing the rear of the hotel (overlooking a courtyard) and so wasn't all that bad. All in all a pleasant stay, good location and within walking distance of the sights, restaurants and cafes, and the station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotel is located bang in the middle of the main street hidden through an archway, so easy access to the sights, resturants, bars and shops. The hotel is what you would expect from the NH chain, so no surprises, however the reception staff here were very friendly and helpful, more so than in many other hotels of this type. We hired bikes from the hotel for 12euros a day which I would recommend as you get to see so much more of the surrounding area and Potsdam is very bike friendly. We didnt use any of the facilties at this hotel as it so easy to use the restuatrants locally.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
0.5 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
2.6 mi away
Kongresshotel Potsdam am Templiner See
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#4 of 37 in Potsdam
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Potsdam

Property: NH Potsdam
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Str. 88, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany (Formerly NH Voltaire Potsdam)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
#2 Best Value Hotel in Potsdam
#4 Business Hotel in Potsdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Potsdam 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Potsdam is centrally located in heart of Potsdam's historic district, with the city's famous park and palace complexes, the art district of Schiffbauergasse and the Glienicke Bridge to Berlin all within a 5 kilometer radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Potsdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Voltaire Hotel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing