We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black sheep in Steigenberger group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Rehovot
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Black sheep in Steigenberger group”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in Steigenberger hotels repeatedly and thus did not hesitate in our choice. In fact, we entered Potsdam only 12 days after spending two nights in their superb InterCity Berlin-Schönefeld (see my enthusiastic review). It is hard to grasp that both the hotels belong to the same group, ranked the same 4 stars and demand equal price! In Sanssouci they call it “superior” the room without air conditioning and safe, not stuttering even the splendor of balcony or coffee/tea facility. The wretched furniture evokes an era of DDR, as well as their service does: the reception stuff was neither friendly nor cooperative, sometimes close to being rude, that is rare in Germany. The entire spa closed in the midst of the day and the breakfast at 30 euro/pair contributed to our disappointment.
The only merit of this hotel is its top location. But namely this seems to be the cause of all the above shortcomings: they simply do not feel the need to update the hotel and to improve the service quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    596
    264
    71
    19
See reviews for
171
612
51
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Of course the location is excellent - a short walk to main street of Potsdam town, close to a number of restaurants and very close to the entrance to Sanssouci Park. We chose it on that basis and the very good earlier reviews, but having stayed there would agree with the less good more recent reviews- they seem to believe that their location allows them to get away with less than great facilities and service.
Coming from Berlin, and as informed by the hotel, there's an easy tram from next to the station to close to the hotel. Reception when we arrived was pleasant and friendly, though not that great on providing information. This seemed to set the tone for our stay, with reception staff often being friendly and helpful and just as often 'busy' with other things. We came in after sightseeing late one afternoon and just sat in the outside area, where the waitress seemed rather put out that we didn't want a drink. Another time we actually wanted a drink but couldn't find anyone to serve us, and the bar hardly ever seemed to be open. When we did have a couple of glasses of wine we were somewhat shocked at a price of 17 Euros (should have checked the drinks list first!). Having checked the food prices we decided to eat elsewhere - there are several good, cheap places within 200m. The same goes for breakfast, which was very much on the expensive side, especially if you don't want much.
I can't complain about the room - 1st floor at the back so quiet. We'd booked 'superior' and the room was quite large and clean, had plenty of storage space and was well looked after when we were there. One of the few hotels we've been in recently that actually followed the stated 'environmental policy', i.e. they actually didn't change the towels if you hung them up. The bed was on the soft side and, as often the case in Europe, the pillows far too soft; they provided a harder one but it wasn't much better. There's a well stocked, if expensive, minibar and one free bottle of water per stay (how generous). They provided a Nespresso machine in the room - not great if you actually want tea. There is no air conditioning, which is clearly stated on their website, but the ceiling fan was good and quiet enough to be left on overnight if needed.
Our flight out wasn't until the evening and they extended check-out till 5 for 30 Euros, which was not unreasonable.
A mark of 3 may be a little harsh, but I certainly expected better at the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Given the brand reputation, I guess I expected a lot more from this hotel. You'll pay for the location - it's in an amazing, central location for exploring the city. But everything else about this hotel is average.

I don't speak any German at all and felt like a burden to the hotel reception staff. I travel a lot and I'm fairly self-sufficient so I don't think my questions/inquires were all that demanding. (Where to park, needing extra towels, directions to a restaurant). I have traveled in many countries and other parts of Germany where language was also an issue - so in comparison, I think this just comes down to dull customer service.

My room was tiny, outdated and had a musty odor. It also was directly above the outdoor patio area which, as other reviewers have noted, was extremely loud. Insulation and soundproofing are non-existent. Thankfully the bar area shut down at around 1030pm each night of my stay.

I can't say for sure that I would stay here again. Maybe? My overall 'very good' rating is simply due to the awesome location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaystravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed two nights in the hotel. The location is just next to the entrance to famous Sanssouci - former summer palace of Prussian kings - German rival of Versailles. The breakfast offer was good as well as the service of restaurant staff. However, the reception staff was not very helpful. Although the check in is 2pm, I needed to wait until after 3pm to get my room. I expected free wifi internet access and was dissapointed. One hour internet access - 4,5 EUR.
Rooms are clean but rather small and dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We would not recommend this hotel for visiting town at a time when you cannot spend all day (and even most of the night) somewhere out. The hotel does not offer a lobby and rooms to us were no longer up to date, old furniture and somewhat odd, although everything was working.
We booked the hotel for three nights via an Internet offer promising and confirming a booking of a superior room. Room 122 is located next to room 121 mentioned by another user (earlier post) and right above the outside eating and party area showing a fire place. We can imagine these rooms to be among the most noisiest during summer as mentioned by the other guest.
However, since we stayed at the hotel in March, outside area was closed and rooms 121/122 would be quiet.
Still, room 122 offered to us as “superior” category is extremely small, remembered us of romantic, but somewhat less comfortable youth hostel stays. Bed size is 140 cm only, mattresses were soft so that you even as “normal weight” person ended up on the floor. Therefore we decided to ask for another room and to find out about this mysterious “superior category” offering. Upon our friendly request explaining and showing our superior room confirmation was very unfriendly first and we had to insist that we would not tolerate such a “roof chamber/youth hostel style room when we were promised something called “superior”. After a somewhat annoying discussion about rationales of the hotel management to categorize rooms as “superior” and “deluxe” and reasons for choosing “extremely soft” mattresses throughout the hotel etc etc, we in the end were offered a further upgrade, i.e. a double upgrade from “standard” to “superior “ to ”deluxe” room free of charge. Before that we were offered the “deluxe” upgrade at an additional charge of 20 euro per night. Compared to other hotels which we just had visited the days before, the “deluxe” room in the end was a normal, e.g. “standard” room offering a normal size twin bed.
We appreciated that we were offered a room with a Nespresso machine which in fact is a nice-to-have, dispensable. We were rather glad to find ourselves in a normal sized room (no 109)
Rooms 109-122 are located on the first floor above the restaurant. No 109 is loud at night until 11:30 pm because you listen to nice kitchen activities as well as chairs (restaurant or conference area?). Therefore if you decide to go to this hotel, we would recommend to ask for rooms at higher floors and avoid rooms near to kitchen or outside restaurant area.
Room service is way below average not making/smoothing bed sheets and drying used towels and bath mats over the shower bar (!). Cleaniness of rooms (dusty wood & floor, window frames black) and spa are medium level, definitely not four star standard.
The bath concept is a bit strange with a half open, half closed washing/shower area and a narrow space in front of wardrobe which when opened by one person would be broken by the glass door opened by the other person. Furniture of the African style decoration is a matter of taste, very dark and would need a renovation. Light on the floors is dark as well. Most of the lights in the rooms need to be switched on/off manually keeping you fit when turning out light at night (but not to fit since rooms are not that spacious). The doors had a lock mechanism described on the interior side and we are confident that we understood the pictograms. The door of our room was difficult to close, though, even from the outside when not locking it on the door knob.
Spa is ok, quite nice, offering a clean (!), hot sauna and a white steam bath (acryl all over). Towels are provided, but slippers (on a rather dirty floor) available at an additional charge of 8 euro. There is no fitness area. Empty soap dispensers on Sunday were not refilled, but others could be find elsewhere.
Breakfast is exc ellent with very fresh food and variety of warm and cold dishes. Fried eggs were made upon request, very delicious and nicely served. Service at breakfast buffet was extremely friendly and very customer oriented. Same for the staff at reception when one of us asked for a flower vase. A very very friendly and helpful receptionist provided a selection of vases to find the best fitting size for our flowers.
Although we appreciated the friendly staff, the fresh, delicious breakfast and the most central location of the hotel in the end, we would not recommend it because of its old fashioned, some renovation needing interior, some loud rooms above the restaurant/kitchen - which in our opinion cannot be sold to any guests - and a strange superior room concept (“superior” is below standard). We know other hotels of the Steigenberger Group which we in fact like very much and to which there is a hugh gap of the Steigenberger Sanssouci.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor (10x to 12x) are noisy and some have small beds. Be careful with rooms right abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A-re-tsamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel which I can recommend for both business and pleasure. Even better was the service and the positive way all our wishes was handled - a big salute to Stephanie in the reseptionen who helped and arranged everything we asked for. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielsmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a very nice and comfortable hotel with a very old fashioned design and ambience. Very nice rooms with old black and white photos of famous people around the walls. A great place for Christmas as it is right next to the famous Weinachtsmarkt (Christmas Market).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadsReldas1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
0.7 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
#4 of 37 in Potsdam
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bayrisches Haus
Hotel Bayrisches Haus
#9 of 37 in Potsdam
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Address: Allee nach Sanssouci 1 | 14471 Potsdam, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Potsdam
#1 Spa Hotel in Potsdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAREFREE IN SANSSOUCI. No other address in Potsdam is as elegant as Allee nach Sanssouci 1? Situated just 500 metres from the famous summer residence of Frederick the Great and its lovely park grounds and opposite the historical city center this first-class Steigenberger hotel awaits you with a surprising ambience. Enjoy the most modern of comforts in a relaxing atmosphere, enwrapped by historical splendour. Not just the palace and park grounds are worth a visit: the picturesque Dutch Quarter, the Russian Colony, the Babelsberg film studios and, of course, the metropolis of Berlin - located just ten kilometres away - are reason enough to plan plenty of sightseeing time. And for this you can use the public transportation free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing