We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, average service quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice location, average service quality”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed two nights in the hotel. The location is just next to the entrance to famous Sanssouci - former summer palace of Prussian kings - German rival of Versailles. The breakfast offer was good as well as the service of restaurant staff. However, the reception staff was not very helpful. Although the check in is 2pm, I needed to wait until after 3pm to get my room. I expected free wifi internet access and was dissapointed. One hour internet access - 4,5 EUR.
Rooms are clean but rather small and dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    573
    246
    62
    17
See reviews for
160
572
50
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We would not recommend this hotel for visiting town at a time when you cannot spend all day (and even most of the night) somewhere out. The hotel does not offer a lobby and rooms to us were no longer up to date, old furniture and somewhat odd, although everything was working.
We booked the hotel for three nights via an Internet offer promising and confirming a booking of a superior room. Room 122 is located next to room 121 mentioned by another user (earlier post) and right above the outside eating and party area showing a fire place. We can imagine these rooms to be among the most noisiest during summer as mentioned by the other guest.
However, since we stayed at the hotel in March, outside area was closed and rooms 121/122 would be quiet.
Still, room 122 offered to us as “superior” category is extremely small, remembered us of romantic, but somewhat less comfortable youth hostel stays. Bed size is 140 cm only, mattresses were soft so that you even as “normal weight” person ended up on the floor. Therefore we decided to ask for another room and to find out about this mysterious “superior category” offering. Upon our friendly request explaining and showing our superior room confirmation was very unfriendly first and we had to insist that we would not tolerate such a “roof chamber/youth hostel style room when we were promised something called “superior”. After a somewhat annoying discussion about rationales of the hotel management to categorize rooms as “superior” and “deluxe” and reasons for choosing “extremely soft” mattresses throughout the hotel etc etc, we in the end were offered a further upgrade, i.e. a double upgrade from “standard” to “superior “ to ”deluxe” room free of charge. Before that we were offered the “deluxe” upgrade at an additional charge of 20 euro per night. Compared to other hotels which we just had visited the days before, the “deluxe” room in the end was a normal, e.g. “standard” room offering a normal size twin bed.
We appreciated that we were offered a room with a Nespresso machine which in fact is a nice-to-have, dispensable. We were rather glad to find ourselves in a normal sized room (no 109)
Rooms 109-122 are located on the first floor above the restaurant. No 109 is loud at night until 11:30 pm because you listen to nice kitchen activities as well as chairs (restaurant or conference area?). Therefore if you decide to go to this hotel, we would recommend to ask for rooms at higher floors and avoid rooms near to kitchen or outside restaurant area.
Room service is way below average not making/smoothing bed sheets and drying used towels and bath mats over the shower bar (!). Cleaniness of rooms (dusty wood & floor, window frames black) and spa are medium level, definitely not four star standard.
The bath concept is a bit strange with a half open, half closed washing/shower area and a narrow space in front of wardrobe which when opened by one person would be broken by the glass door opened by the other person. Furniture of the African style decoration is a matter of taste, very dark and would need a renovation. Light on the floors is dark as well. Most of the lights in the rooms need to be switched on/off manually keeping you fit when turning out light at night (but not to fit since rooms are not that spacious). The doors had a lock mechanism described on the interior side and we are confident that we understood the pictograms. The door of our room was difficult to close, though, even from the outside when not locking it on the door knob.
Spa is ok, quite nice, offering a clean (!), hot sauna and a white steam bath (acryl all over). Towels are provided, but slippers (on a rather dirty floor) available at an additional charge of 8 euro. There is no fitness area. Empty soap dispensers on Sunday were not refilled, but others could be find elsewhere.
Breakfast is exc ellent with very fresh food and variety of warm and cold dishes. Fried eggs were made upon request, very delicious and nicely served. Service at breakfast buffet was extremely friendly and very customer oriented. Same for the staff at reception when one of us asked for a flower vase. A very very friendly and helpful receptionist provided a selection of vases to find the best fitting size for our flowers.
Although we appreciated the friendly staff, the fresh, delicious breakfast and the most central location of the hotel in the end, we would not recommend it because of its old fashioned, some renovation needing interior, some loud rooms above the restaurant/kitchen - which in our opinion cannot be sold to any guests - and a strange superior room concept (“superior” is below standard). We know other hotels of the Steigenberger Group which we in fact like very much and to which there is a hugh gap of the Steigenberger Sanssouci.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor (10x to 12x) are noisy and some have small beds. Be careful with rooms right abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A-re-tsamaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel which I can recommend for both business and pleasure. Even better was the service and the positive way all our wishes was handled - a big salute to Stephanie in the reseptionen who helped and arranged everything we asked for. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielsmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a very nice and comfortable hotel with a very old fashioned design and ambience. Very nice rooms with old black and white photos of famous people around the walls. A great place for Christmas as it is right next to the famous Weinachtsmarkt (Christmas Market).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadsReldas1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice hotel. We had a good-size room. The bed was two twins pushed together. There were extra pillows in the closet, two chairs, a desk and a desk chair. We could control the heat. There was no A/C but there was a ceiling fan, the first one I’ve seen in Europe. A mini-fridge, stocked up. The TV had the usual three English news channels. There was a luggage stand and room in the closet for another suitcase. Also in the closet was an umbrella you could either borrow or buy.

The bathroom had two towels per person – hand and bath towels – and a bonus of a facecloth, lotion, shower cap, small bar of soap, nail file, tissues and a hair dryer. The shower was big enough for two and both the shower and sink had the squeeze dispenser of soap/shampoo. Our only real problem was finding a place to plug in the cell phone as the power bar was up underneath the desk.

The breakfast buffet was well done. There were eggs – boiled or scrambled, hot and cold meats, fish, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, fresh fruit, breads, rolls, about six or more cold cereals, and at least four types of yogurt. We went down late, 9:30 and things were fully stocked and maintained until breakfast was over.

The location to town and Sans Souci park is excellent. We were able to walk to the hotel from the train station, walked all around town and the park. At the end of our visit we wanted a cab to the train station and they had a shuttle there for us in about 10 minutes. Local transportation is close enough to take also.

All staff members were very helpful and friendly. We couldn’t have asked for better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, nice staff (like everywhere in Germany), no conditioner but the climate is not so hot at the end of July anyway. The location is the best for walking around the center. The parking is welcomed for car travel and living in the center. The balcony was refreshing, big, with table and chairs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mada582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the welcome and service of the staff from the start. My room was pleasant although a little old fashioned in style - quite a lot of dark wood and repro 1930s posters but spacious and comfortable. The location is good for enjoying Sanssouci and the main shopping areas of this classy town. Breakfast was efficient and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
Hotel Villa Monte Vino
#4 of 37 in Potsdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#6 of 37 in Potsdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Address: Allee nach Sanssouci 1 | 14471 Potsdam, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Potsdam
#1 Spa Hotel in Potsdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAREFREE IN SANSSOUCI. No other address in Potsdam is as elegant as Allee nach Sanssouci 1? Situated just 500 metres from the famous summer residence of Frederick the Great and its lovely park grounds and opposite the historical city center this first-class Steigenberger hotel awaits you with a surprising ambience. Enjoy the most modern of comforts in a relaxing atmosphere, enwrapped by historical splendour. Not just the palace and park grounds are worth a visit: the picturesque Dutch Quarter, the Russian Colony, the Babelsberg film studios and, of course, the metropolis of Berlin - located just ten kilometres away - are reason enough to plan plenty of sightseeing time. And for this you can use the public transportation free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing