We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice hotel. We had a good-size room. The bed was two twins pushed together. There were extra pillows in the closet, two chairs, a desk and a desk chair. We could control the heat. There was no A/C but there was a ceiling fan, the first one I’ve seen in Europe. A mini-fridge, stocked up. The TV had the usual three English news channels. There was a luggage stand and room in the closet for another suitcase. Also in the closet was an umbrella you could either borrow or buy.

The bathroom had two towels per person – hand and bath towels – and a bonus of a facecloth, lotion, shower cap, small bar of soap, nail file, tissues and a hair dryer. The shower was big enough for two and both the shower and sink had the squeeze dispenser of soap/shampoo. Our only real problem was finding a place to plug in the cell phone as the power bar was up underneath the desk.

The breakfast buffet was well done. There were eggs – boiled or scrambled, hot and cold meats, fish, cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, fresh fruit, breads, rolls, about six or more cold cereals, and at least four types of yogurt. We went down late, 9:30 and things were fully stocked and maintained until breakfast was over.

The location to town and Sans Souci park is excellent. We were able to walk to the hotel from the train station, walked all around town and the park. At the end of our visit we wanted a cab to the train station and they had a shuttle there for us in about 10 minutes. Local transportation is close enough to take also.

All staff members were very helpful and friendly. We couldn’t have asked for better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear loving_midlife

Thanks for the review of your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. Especially, of course your submitted information and suggestions are very important to us. Your own comment help us to identify deficiencies and to improve the service of our house. So again thank you for your comments with the hope that you will visit us again so that we may then convince themselves of improved quality.

With kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice hotel, nice staff (like everywhere in Germany), no conditioner but the climate is not so hot at the end of July anyway. The location is the best for walking around the center. The parking is welcomed for car travel and living in the center. The balcony was refreshing, big, with table and chairs.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mada582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mada582

Thanks for the review of your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. Especially, of course your submitted information and suggestions are very important to us. Your own comment help us to identify deficiencies and to improve the service of our house. So again thank you for your comments with the hope that you will visit us again so that we may then convince themselves of improved quality.

With kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the welcome and service of the staff from the start. My room was pleasant although a little old fashioned in style - quite a lot of dark wood and repro 1930s posters but spacious and comfortable. The location is good for enjoying Sanssouci and the main shopping areas of this classy town. Breakfast was efficient and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear (0)

Thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon.

Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent two nights in this hotel. Nice and helpful staff that answered our questions about Potsdam with a smile. The location is very convenient - Only a short walk to the Park Sansoussi or the Old Town. Nice room with a balcony where we could sit and rest our legs in the evening after walking all day in the park. We found that the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with very good variety.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear (0),

thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon.

Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I believe many tourists who go to Berlin, choose to pay beautiful Potsdam a visit - and with good reason. We did it the other way around, payed Berlin a visit while staying in Potsdam, and found that twist to be a very successful one. Using the local train - line S7 - between Potsdam and Berlin was a breeze, and free, because the key card to our hotel room functioned as a valid ticket for the days of our stay.
Having read other positive reviews about Hotel Steigenberger, there is not really much to add. The reviews are all true : The hotel has nice, clean rooms, a polite and friendly staff, an excellent breakfast buffee, is situated in a quite, but very central part of Potsdam. What more is there to expect ?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear runemann

Thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon.

Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Just came back from a 5 nights/6 days business stay at the Hotel in Potsdam and I am more than convinced that you will have a tough time finding a better place in Potsdam that offers better value for your (own or companies') money. The rooms are nice, my mattress a bit too soft and it didn't have much of a view, but very quiet and with everything that should've been there.
Conference facilities and back-up by the staff is formidable, we had one big room that accommodates (our) 55 participants at an o-shape conference table with still enough space around and at one ende for the sound system guy, your pin-walls, flipcharts and even a few coffee tables etc. Besides that we had two smaller rooms for working grous and some 25 people each. Very nice.
But the outstanding feature of the Steigenberger Sanssouci really is their kitchen, or food if you will. Breakfast is very nice, but their lunch menues are quite outstanding. It's fresh, it's tasty, it's delicious, it has variations and it does not cost the world.
Thea do not really have a business center, but do offer 30 minutes free wifi-access per day and guest (The only problem with this is, that once you logg-off the rest of the 30 minutes is lost, too.). But there are other options like 5 hours wifi-access for 9 Euro whereby the rest of your airtime is always kept, or the 24 hours for 8 Euros option.
The location of the Hotel is great, too: you're 1 minute from the entrance to the Park Sanssouci, the Castle itself is hardly five minutes walk away. And the Brandburger Strasse, pedestrian zone and shopping street is just one block away. To get to the Hollaendisches Viertel you just walk 10 minutes max.

Room Tip: There seem to be rooms with balconies, that might be a clever choice foor smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear HajoL

Thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon.

Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent the evenings of 31 December and 1 January here as a get away and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and quiet (considering all the fireworks outside) and the breakfast buffet was excellent. At first we thought the buffet was so nice because it was New Year's day, but the same excellent selection was offered the next morning as well. I have to mention that not only did they have wash clothes (yeah!), but the pillows were so comfortable that I wrote down the manufacturer's information so I can order some for myself.

The location was also very convenient. We arrived by car and it was easy to find with a public parking lot just across the street if the hotel's lot is full. All together a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0ving_Librarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SB_Potsdam, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear R0ving_Librarian,

Thanks for the review of your stay at Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay in Potsdam and our house. We are happy to pass on the compliment to our staff team and would be delighted to welcome you again as a guest in the Steigenberger Hotel you soon.

Until then, we remain with kind regards from the Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci Potsdam,

Norman Mark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
1.5 mi away
Inselhotel Potsdam
Inselhotel Potsdam
#10 of 37 in Potsdam
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#7 of 37 in Potsdam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci

Address: Allee nach Sanssouci 1 | 14471 Potsdam, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Potsdam
#1 Green Hotel in Potsdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range: $85 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAREFREE IN SANSSOUCI. No other address in Potsdam is as elegant as Allee nach Sanssouci 1? Situated just 500 metres from the famous summer residence of Frederick the Great and its lovely park grounds and opposite the historical city center this first-class Steigenberger hotel awaits you with a surprising ambience. Enjoy the most modern of comforts in a relaxing atmosphere, enwrapped by historical splendour. Not just the palace and park grounds are worth a visit: the picturesque Dutch Quarter, the Russian Colony, the Babelsberg film studios and, of course, the metropolis of Berlin - located just ten kilometres away - are reason enough to plan plenty of sightseeing time. And for this you can use the public transportation free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing