We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall was a good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beds were comfortable with good bedding and pillows. Was very clean but bathroom difficult to move around in as very small, with toilet and shower.
Best thing of this hotel is the buffet breakfast, although expensive we felt was worth it. Even fresh-squeezed orange juice available to juice your own. Buffet filled with fabulous items and coffee very good. Large eating area with beautiful view. Service throughout hotel was good.
Location is good, walking distance to old town and trams, and close walk to the train station.
Most downside was very little room for cases and little in way of hooks, spaces for storage. Had to keep our one of our two bags stored closed and upright due to lack of room. The internet you must pay and did not work well, however, the cost was refunded when we discussed at checkout. Too bad for a business type hotel as we were here for a meeting and needed access.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffireOmni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 689 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in the Mercure whilst at a conference in Potsdam.

The hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from Potsdam train station (which is part of the Berlin S-Bahn network), and the shopping centre that is built around the station. It's also about 10 minutes walk into the centre of Potsdam itself. This location means it's pretty easy to get in (from the Berlin airports) and get out and around Potsdam.

It's not the prettiest building from the outside --- think 60's Soviet-style tower block --- but it's height means it's very easy to find from the station. Inside, the lobby, restaurant and bar are relatively modern, and the rooms, whilst compact, are well furnished, modern, clean and functional.

The service was also good - no problems checking in and out. My one gripe, and it is a pretty big one if you're here on business, is the wifi. €9 for 24 hours is pretty pricey, and in my room it constantly dropped in and out. When it was connected, it was too slow to stream movies too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Location are very good, hotel/rooms are ok but then problems. Cleaner visit everyday but never change our sheets, dusty tables etc. So customer pay but live dirty room. Some improvements are new toiletpaper (now thin and hard) can't use... then hope hotel has some umbrellas for customers and scale to bags when leaving airport. Hotel reception was nice and everything works. When we are hotel, near altes markt was huge funfair and that keeping laud noise to 22.00 (not bother us but maybe someone wan't know this). Great transport opportunites.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanew2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Some said that it could be noisy, but I did not find it noisy, I was on the 8. floor and could open my window, great view, but someone on the 11.floor could not open theirs, so check this out if you sleep with an open window. The Restaurant downstairs was ok, big, ok breakfast, the conference facilities where a bit hidden and not so easy to access. The staff varied, some was helpful and gave great service, some was not, and at one of the lunches the service was very slow, even if plenty of staff was in the restaurant an not so many guests. We had a conference dinner and that was very nice buffet. The hotel bar is great, but could get rid of the big TV screen. What else? Clean bathroom, good shower and good room service, I didnt pay myself so cant say much about the price. The location was good for our needs, we could walk to the University and also to town, I didnt get to see the Sans Souci castle so I dont really know how far it was, visited in february, nice waether, but snow the last day. All in all a good experience, and the others did not complain about anything exept the windows on th 11 th floor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights while attending a scientific meeting in Potsdam. The hotel was built during East German times, but has recently been renovated, and you would never know from the modern rooms. The ventilation was very quiet, there is an HD TV, the bed is comfortable, and the bathroom is modern. The room was not very big, but certainly big enough for the price. The restaurant is excellent, both for the breakfast buffet and for dinner. You can walk to the hotel from the main train station in 5 minutes, so it is very convenient to get to from the Berlin airport. You can also walk from the hotel to the main downtown district, and I even walked back from Sans Souci after a tour. There is also a tram station just across the street to get anywhere else in Potsdam.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the west side, so you can watch the sunset and be away from the next door restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would like to warn travellers about booking at the Mercure, Potsdam unless they want to combine it with a rave at a techno disco which is in the Palm Tent next to it. Even though on 11th floor it was impossible to sleep - at 4.00am rang reception to ask when the music might stop - no answer. The music starts at 1.00am until 6.00am so you pay for a bed but cannot sleep.
Hotel said they are powerless to do anything about it. Hotel not full but they gave people rooms on the side of the building next to the noise.
A minor issue - shower gel and coffee was not replaced. When I told reception they were not bothered. Will probably avoid Mercure chain after this.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side away from Palmen Zelt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

There isn't much to complain about for this hotel as long as your not expecting a 4 star hotel and your not staying long, My room was small with a tiny bathroom but a comfy bed with real pillows not the marshmallows usually found in German hotels, Breakfast was fine but nothing special and since I personally didn't pay for it so I ate and checked out without really caring that much. If my stay were longer the small room would be a big problem but I was only in the room to sleep the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
1.1 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#7 of 37 in Potsdam
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
arcona Hotel am Havelufer
arcona Hotel am Havelufer
#30 of 37 in Potsdam
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brandenburger Tor Potsdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Potsdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Potsdam City

Address: Lange Brucke, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
#7 Business Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range: $78 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Potsdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Potsdam City is located in the historical city centre of Potsdam, surrounded by beautiful lakes, the "Lustgarten" and the re-constructed state parliament with its jetty right in front. The Potsdam main railway station is just 400 m away. And the old town is just a few minutes' walk. Every one of our 210 air-conditioned rooms is a place where you'll just love to linger. The modern single and double rooms, including 2 suites and 6 junior suites, are equipped with a safe, flat screen TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and also a writing desk. After we have treated you to some culinary delights in our restaurant "Oscar", you can round off your evening in our "Cinebar". Natural light and state-of-the-art technology, including Wi-Fi, make the 13 air-conditioned meeting rooms in the VDR-certified Mercure Hotel Potsdam an ideal location for conferences, seminars and festive evening events. The rooms on the 17th floor offer a great view of Potsdam. Combinations of rooms make it possible to host events for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Hotel Potsdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Potsdam City
Mercure Potsdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing