We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and hot chocolate”

La Maison du Chocolat
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Superb food and hot chocolate”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been to this restaurant about 5 times over the past 10 years in the Dutch quarter. It never fails to disappoint. Usually go in for the hot chocolate which is thick and pure luxury. This time I had a meal of ravioli with walnuts and grilled pears salad absolutely divine. Plentiful as well. Can't wait for my return visit. Plus it still only takes cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortisheadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmm, chocolate ...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

A leisurely walk up to the picturesque Dutch quarter, this cafe is gorgeous. The quaint atmosphere, white linen, old world style tea house is inviting. The house specialty of hot chocolate is decadent, the coffee good and the small brunch menu perfectly adequate. Lives up to its reputation

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank P0lly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is THE PLACE for chocolate lovers”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took the Potsdam HOHO bus and they highly recommended this place. It was a walk away from the Potsdam Brandenburg Gate, but worth the trip. The tour lady said the hot chocolate is very good and served in a cup, but you have to drink it from the small spoon. She was right, the hot chocolate is basically pure 100% chocolate syrup, so yes, too much to drink from a cup. Their deserts are very good and so was the salad. The service was very friendly and sitting outside a calming experience even though there are lots of cars slowly driving through the neighbourhood. Get directions because it's not on a main street served by buses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic hot chocolate”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Located in the cute dutch quarter La Maison du Chocolat offers one of the best hot chocolates I have ever had. Served with cream you can enjoy you chocolate and/or cake outside on the terrace whilst enjoying the sun. The strawberry cake was a little bit dry, but also tasty.
The chocolate was recommended on a sightseeing tour and it has proven right.
If I come back to Potsdam I will go there again. It was just too good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y_and_M12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner food and chocolate, but they only take cash”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It is located in the dutch quarter and easy reachable with public transportation. Its atmosphere is really nice and the food excellent. We head beef chop, it was a lot of food and it was excellent. The dessert was a variation of chocolat and it was delicious. The waiter was for German standards very thoughtful.
We would have given 5 stars but they only accepted cash, no credit cards, not even a german debit card (EC), so we had to go to a bank first.

Helpful?
Thank Thexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison du Chocolat also viewed

Potsdam, Brandenburg
 
Potsdam, Brandenburg
Potsdam, Brandenburg
 
Potsdam, Brandenburg
 

Been to La Maison du Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing