We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cake....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Heider

Cafe Heider
Ranked #15 of 326 Restaurants in Potsdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cake....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

To end our day in Potsdam we had a good coffee and cake experience here. We sat outside and were offered blankets if needed. Plenty of people took advantage of this but we declined. We ordered our coffees but we had to go inside and choose our cakes. Such an amazing selection. I opted for a plum cake which I always enjoy and then changed it to a yoghurt and forest fruits concoction on sponge layer which in turn sat on a pastry layer. Splendid. My husband chose a lemon meringue pie of generous proportions. He also eyed a colourful cake with a poppy seed centre. I would have another coffee stop here and would try another cake. The menu also shows some rather tasty ice cream sundaes. Service was efficient but they didn't speak English which my husband found difficult and there was no menu for the cakes it was either selecting form inside and then describing to the waitress or pointing at someone else's plate!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neptune24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    89
    43
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A genuine place you certainly enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After not a great experience in a local Restaurant decided to end the day in this great Cafe' where we found quality and a great choice of sweets. The place is really well preserved and you can feel some kind of a Vienna Cafe' feeling. Also tried some spirits and the service was very good. A must if you pass by Potsdam.
If you come from Berlin for the day you could stop along the Wannsee and see the Peacock Island, quite a relaxing place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood UK
Level Contributor
192 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lovely way to idle away a couple of hours sitting on the terrace in very pleasant surroundings.

A wide range of hot and cold food is available and the price of 14.50 euros includes coffee, tea and juices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice interior, good food, very poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Potsdam"s cafe Heider is an old institution and you feel it when entering the wonderful retro-style room. It is just like a trip in the time, back to the early 20th century and reminds of literary in other cities of central Europe: you can read newspapers (albeit limited to the local ones), enjoy a beautiful view on Nauener gate at the heart of Potsdam.

The breakfast offer is perfect, with a variation of light meals (waffle breakfast, with fruits) to serious Prussian breakfast plates ("Grosses Heider" breakfast). It is one of the few places I know where you can order a half-a-liter cafe au lait (Dumbo Cafe au Lait).

Yet the mood can be spoiled by the lack of service (to say the least). Waitresses seem to find it more important to chat between themselves than to serve the clients. It is slow, inefficient and not friendly. They will not take away your empty plates, nor pay attention when you ask for the bill. I have the feeling that we had to deal with seasonal employees with little experience, because I cannot imagine this place without an outstanding tradition of service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“welcoming and lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although it was lunch time, we only wanted a drink, having breakfasted well. Most of the clientele were having lunch but the staff were quite happy to serve us only drinks. I had a large freshly squeezed orange juice while my partner had a beer. Lovely clean surroundings and there was no pressure to hurry and move n. The young staff were attentive and really nice. The bill came to 6euros. Most reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Heider also viewed

 
Potsdam, Brandenburg
Potsdam, Brandenburg
 

Been to Cafe Heider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing