We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot, cold - no it's cold - or is it hot ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
arcona Hotel am Havelufer
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I hate it when the shower automatically adjusts itself to colder or hotter water.... I always find myself jumping to the left or right.... This built-in automatic adjustment of temperature was available free of chage in our 2 deluxe rooms.... The TV (size of a laptop computer) is ridiculous ! Rest of the room was fine... Good and friendly service, ideally located, ample parking spaces, good breakfast - overall the hotel can be recommended - uif they fix their temperature control in the showers.... 3 Stars

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PengPeng25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 179 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2009

Needed some where to stay prior to flying from Berlin, whilst this hotel is approx 45km from the airport its by far the best family hotel I have stayed at in the region. Fantastic prices, facilities and superb river walks.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The Art otel Potsdam is situated outside the citycentre of Potsdam. The Charlottenhof trainstation is not far but finding the hotel is not easy because you can't see the hotel on the street, the hotel is behind a big yellow building. The hotel looks modern and nice altough not everyone will love the style. Rooms have nice vieuws on the lake. What annoyed me was that i didn't get coffee during breakfast on my first day. You must wait for a waiter/waitress but they overlooked me, even when I asked for coffee. The hotel looks nice but they need to improve the service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank A.Brouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The hotel consists of 2 parts - old and new. We got a room in the old one and were SHOCKED - it naturally reminded me a medieval prison cell - small, tiny room with very-very(!) small window and thick walls. I called the front desk and refused to stay there unless they give me another room. After 10 minutes i was provided a room in the modern part which appeared to be ok at first sight....


But:
- a/c didn't work. And it was hot;
- no complementary toiletries were provided (just fixed to a wall dispenser with some kind of liquid soap of a very questionable quality);
- Small LCD TV , no hotel entertainment system. No English language channels on TV!!!! I mean not a single one! Life hack TIP: try to do manual search using the remote control - you will find BBC :)

Breakfast was ok. Nothing special but just ok...

I'm a hotel manager and pretty sure the problems above shouldn't allow them to have 4 star. Good 3 stars. No way 4*!

Staff was ok. I fact one guy on the front desk was very helpful, others seemed to be not really bothered to provide good service but this is common for Germany.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We showed up in Potsdam without a room reservation for 1 night, and the local tourist agency booked us here for EUR 96. This was a perfectly acceptable hotel, with a very modern feel. But as others have commented, it doesn't quite live up to its pretensions. The negatives are mostly aesthetic, rather than practical.

This room was one of the best-lit hotel rooms I've stayed in, with good bathroom lighting and good lighting for reading in bed for both my wife and I. The desk light was a bit too low to be effective for my laptop, but that wasn't a problem.

We had a good breakfast included in our rate.

The hotel does provide internet, but if you want an all-day connection (recommended), you -must- book through the hotel and not use the ISP's website. We found this out the hard way.

As others have noted, the hotel really does not make effective use of what could be a very good location on the water.

Parking was free, and the location was walking distance from the downtown restaurants and Sans Souci palace complex.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2007

After reading recomendings at the hotel we knew a bit about the hotel before we got there. Understand that pople that pay full price for this hotel are disapointed! The hotelboulding itself is new and good enough, but the sourroundings are not!Counstuction work at an abandend brick-factory right ourside our hotelroom started eary in the morning. Our room was clean, but a bit small. And where was the art? The hotel is situated so far from the city-center that we prefered to use car or bike to get there. However, the Park Sancoussi is in reacable distance by foot. And by the way, Potsdam itself is well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tittiDokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We booked this hotel via the internet, with proximity in mind for Sans Soucci. The location is about the best one can get for the price, but is not terribly user friendly. Probably, we were unlucky, in that major building was occurring in an adjacent site, which meant that we had great difficulty in accessing the carpark. The staff, upon arrival, were moderately helpful, giving us access to a daringly decorated room some 2 hours before regular check in time. Our room had a spectacular view of the carpark (ie. at 90 degrees to the river.) In consolation, maybe perhaps 2 other rooms on each floor had a better view. This was a pity, because the river is very beautiful and always attractively busy with rowers and small craft. It was just a pity that the car had better views than us.

The restaurant at the hotel was outstandingly overpriced, so we went to the nearby Italian restaurant for a meal. For most of the evening we were invisible, and it was with great difficulty that we placed an order. The food was adequate, and the service appalling. In Australia, we have no great expectations of service, but this left even us gasping.

We assumed that breakfast was included in the room rate, as it had been in every other German hotel we'd stayed. It wasn't. A little embarrassed, we stayed, nevertheless, and for the price, it was quite OK. I probably wouldn't pay extra again, but am not feeling altogether ripped off.

The room was small - comments regarding suitcase space are completely accurate, but happily, we didn't get the handicapped room. Ours would kill any one not in good health withmoderate agility. The step into the bathtub to access the shower is very high, and then one risks hitting one's head on the shower curtain. I must acknowledge that the room was very clean, but I was pleased that we had only one night there - unlike the 2 medical conferences who must have tolerated several.

At least we were called (very politely) "Doctor" at breakfast. Accurate, but not sought after. Certainly, not in the same field of academic endeavour as those attending the 2 conferences there.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chilicoriander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Potsdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Potsdam City
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
#7 of 37 in Potsdam
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kongresshotel Potsdam am Templiner See
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Potsdam
NH Potsdam
#1 of 37 in Potsdam
787 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorint Sanssouci Berlin/Potsdam
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to arcona Hotel am Havelufer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about arcona Hotel am Havelufer

Address: Zeppelinstr. 136, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range: $75 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — arcona Hotel am Havelufer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the banks of the Havel. Peacefully situated, yet in the very heart of Potsdam, presents itself the Hotel am Havelufer. The hotel's unique location makes it an idealstarting point for your tours of discovery through the former residentialcity with its palaces, gardens and historic quarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your arcona Hotel am Havelufer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing