We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel & location in Cottbus-Spreewald, hands down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sorat Hotel Cottbus
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cottbus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The SORAT COTTBUS is the best hotel with the best location in Cottbus, and the whole Spreewald region, hands down. It is located in the center of the beautiful restored old town of Cottbus, just behind the Castle Church on Castle Church Square, or Schlosskirchplatz. Together with the Church and an adjacent building with an excellent restaurant, the present hotel building shares with the church its place as the centerpiece of this beautiful, central, yet quiet, square. The hotel's facilities and rooms are excellent and new.The staff is extrememly helpful and professional. It is definitely at the high end of price to product cost ratio. You get a lot for the little you pay there. If going through Cottbius, or the Spree Forest Area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GonzRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Cottbus, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Hello GonzRiodeJaneiro,
thank you vey much for taking the time to share your experiences about our hotel on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. And thank you for lobbing our staff, too. Personalized service and competence are very important basics of our concept. So, we are happy that you pointed this out and looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards, your Team of the SORAT Hotel Cottbus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We were staying here driving back from Lithuania, and read the reviews and thought should be ok. Got this one wrong.
Arriving found it was full of a party taking up all of the cafe like resturant. There was evidence off Smoking in the halls, and a strong smell of food everywhere.
The rooms did not have Aircon, and the water pressure in the shower was really poor.
The beds were not that comfortable and the towels were thin.
The best thing about the whole hotel was it's Wi-Fi excellent.
Overall a hotel that has seen better days and needs a complete refurbishment.
Cottbus is really very nice, just don't stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Going to Cottbus, I had no clear idea what awaits me, and booked hotel at random. Finally I found very decent large hotel in the heart of the city. 5 minutes walk to Central Square and the city wall, where is a wonderful restaurant situated. 100% Value for money. I dont know whether he is fully booked - in my case the hotel was filled to 50%. All right, all conveniently and beautifully.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simpson1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Superb hotel in the middle of Cottbus. I paid 54 euro for two nights in a double room which is very priceworthy!! Clean, great staff and superb service!! Will stay here again when in Cottbus!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1globetrotterSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My husband , another couple and I stayed 2 nights at the Sorat in Cottbus while on a driving tour. The hotel is a charmer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The night registration clerk spoke perfect English. We enjoyed sitting under the trees in the courtyard in front of the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to good restaurants and shopping; however the shops do not open until 10 and close at 5. The rooms are like all European rooms, small - we've had smaller. This hotel is not air conditioned but it was not a problem since we could open the windows. We visited during a very hot spell but we were comfortable in our rooms. The hotel was clean and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TBirdGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eddyc933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Cottbus, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SORATHotels, Manager Online Communication at Sorat Hotel Cottbus, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cottbus hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cottbus
0.3 mi away
Lindner Congress Hotel
Lindner Congress Hotel
#3 of 15 in Cottbus
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spree-Waldhotel Cottbus
Spree-Waldhotel Cottbus
#4 of 15 in Cottbus
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novum Hotel Seegraben
Novum Hotel Seegraben
#6 of 15 in Cottbus
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Theater
Hotel am Theater
#5 of 15 in Cottbus
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorotheenhof Hotel
Dorotheenhof Hotel
#8 of 15 in Cottbus
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorat Hotel Cottbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorat Hotel Cottbus

Address: Schlosskirchplatz 2, 03046 Cottbus, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Cottbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cottbus
Price Range: $80 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorat Hotel Cottbus 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a charming facade. Beautifully restored turn-of-the century building with a historic arched cellar. At Schlosskirchplatz square in the old town of Cottbus, furnished in a friendly and timeless design. Non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sorat Hotel Cottbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing