We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange but pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel Sail City
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Bremerhaven
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A strange but pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location as absolutely superb and a striking design too.

Many have commented on how minimalist the place is - I entirely agree, it very closely follows the model of the Scandic chain in Finland. You will need to ask for extra bedding.

Car parking underground and at EUR7 per day very reasonable. The property is physically linked to the shopping centres via a glass walkway.

Breakfast buffet has plenty of choice, well cooked and presented. All staff very friendly and helpful.

The downside is NO LOUNGE .. how odd. Gorgeous riverside property an absolute landmark - no comfortable resident's lounge and bar - only a weird "cigar lounge" on the 1st floor which no-one uses. An absolute waste. No wonder all the local bar and restaurant owners smile ... they get the trade this property should be keeping !

However, a very good experience with a fantastic view. I will return but only take breakfast in the hotel ... you will never starve or go without a drink in Bremerhaven

Room Tip: Must have a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tromsopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear tromsopete

Thank you for rating the location and design of our hotel as extraordinary. Also the quality of the breakfast and our service occurred to you – which we are glad about.

As you already mentioned, our guests can demand extra bedding at the reception free of charge in case it is needed in our design-oriented rooms.

You have two opportunities for your evening drink: On the one hand we offer you the STROM bar with a direct view on the Weser river or alternatively our branded Davidoff Lounge with a fantastic and wide view, located in the first floor. You have to decide which opportunity is the best one for you.

We would be pleased to welcome you again!

Your ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    150
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
49
114
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel looks a million dollars from the outside and stands in a prime location by the water in Bremerhaven. The rooms are very minimalistic and do not justify the price at all. I got into bed from a long day travelling and couldn't believe they had placed a single duvet on the double bed with one flat pillow!! I thought they were having a joke! After I awoke. I jumped into the shower which was nice with decent toiletries, but when i grabbed the towel, I was in for another big letdown. It was not much bigger than a handkerchief!! So needless to say, I was both miffed and disappointed and will not go back on my next visit. Do yourself a favor and save yourself some money and heartache by booking somewhere else. POOR!!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinperree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Kevinperee

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the stay at our hotel.
Our rooms are design-oriented and have a size of 15 to 45 sqm – including among other things a queen-size bed, a bathroom with shower or bathtub, a spacious desk, minibar, a free welcome drink as well as air conditioning. The impressive view on the river Weser tops off the total picture of our rooms.
Additional pillows are available at the reception for free and we are pleased to bring it to your room whenever requested.
Our bathrooms are equipped with one small and one big towel per person. If these towels are not big enough, there is also an option at the reception to receive even bigger ATLANTIC bath towels.
We take your comments seriously and regret your personal impression of our hotel. If you pass by Bremerhaven next time, we would be happy to convince you of our services.

Best regards
ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

For our stay in Bremerhaven we selected the Atlantic Sail City for the first time - and enjoyed every minute of it. Friendly front desk staff welcomed us and the restaurant staff provided an excellent service. The rooms are modern and functional and our room had a great view over river and harbour. The location of the hotel on the dyke and next door to the 'Havenwelten' and Columbus shopping centre is a real plus point. If the outdoors are a bit too rough - just go shopping or visit the really interesting 'Klimahaus' or have a meal at the Mediterraneo, and the Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum is just around the corner.The breakfast is excellent, offers a good choice of German bread varieties, and what I like - various delicious herring salads! Drinks? Choose from several fruit juices, Kompucha, teas and coffees or a glas of Sekt as a pick-me-up, For those who travel by car I would recommend the hotel to provide free parking.

Room Tip: Try a room with a river/harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e o g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello,

thank you for your positive feedback, which shows that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel to the fullest. Unfortunately, the parking lot does not belong to the hotel and therefore we cannot provide free parking. However, we are happy to hear that our staff, the overall service as well as the quality food in our restaurant contributed to your nice experience. And you are absolutely right: Bremerhaven and especially the ‘Havenwelten’ offer a variety of activities no matter what the weather is like.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Bremerhaven,
ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night and enjoyed it a lot !!
Parking in cellar for Eur 7 / day..
Standard room which was modern and very nice ! Bed wonderful and large bathroom...
Restaurant 'Strom' serves nice food and great service...
Wifi / cable free but not the fastest connection though..
Breakfast was huge and really good
Will return for sure next time I go to Bremerhaven..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Dinamarca,

Thanks for your positive review.
We are delighted that you have felt comfortable and rated the modern rooms, your visit in our restaurant Strom and the breakfast as very good.

Should your way once again run to Bremerhaven, we would be very pleased to welcome you as guests again.

Warm regards from the Havenwelten sends you the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, NW Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here on 2 or 3 business trip visits for up to nine days at a time. Superb location right on the river edge with good access to the town centre and the nearby tourist attractions.

One visit was in a studio apartment with views over the river watching all the marine traffic going by. Nice Tassimo coffee machine in the room and superb bathrooms with their own little penguin squeaky toy for some reason. Wifi access is free by logging in using your name, room and departure date.

Only got given one bottle of sparkling water for the room for the whole visit though. Only ate breakfast there, nice continental breakfast with fresh bread, meats and cheeses, hot food also available.

Work was paying, but otherwise I would probably stay elsewhere as the price is very high for the area.

Room Tip: Lloyds bar next door to hotel has a lively bar with good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARealHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear ARealHighlander,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us.

If your way leads you back to Bremerhaven we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards sends you the team from the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good quality hotel with nicely accessible parking. Good quality restaurant with a great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Congenuity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear MktgDoc,

Thanks for your positive review.

We are delighted that you have felt comfortable and rated the breakfast as very good.

Should your way once again run to Bremen, we would be very pleased to welcome you as guests again.

Warm regards sends you the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice hotel with an amazing view over the sea. Good location next to new shopping centre complex. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear kenmlove,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the hotel.

I truly hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bremerhaven hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bremerhaven
0.5 mi away
Im-Jaich Hotel Bremerhaven
Im-Jaich Hotel Bremerhaven
#3 of 19 in Bremerhaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bremerhaven
Comfort Hotel Bremerhaven
#5 of 19 in Bremerhaven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Haverkamp
Hotel Haverkamp
#4 of 19 in Bremerhaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amaris Hotel
Amaris Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bremerhaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordsee Hotel
Nordsee Hotel
#6 of 19 in Bremerhaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel Sail City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Sail City

Property: Atlantic Hotel Sail City
Address: Am Strom 1, 27568 Bremerhaven, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremerhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bremerhaven
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bremerhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Hotel Sail City 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern ambience, extraordinary architecture and an exclusive locationcharacterise the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City on the banks of the Weser river in Bremerhaven. Our hotel offers contemporary comfort, a first-class service and an innovative gastronomy. No matter whetheryou’re travelling on business or as a tourist – savour the prospect of a relaxing yet exciting stay at the heart of the tourist resort “Havenwelten” in Bremerhaven.120 rooms on eight floors provide a unique view over the Weser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Sail City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bremerhaven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing