We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Central Place in Bremen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #16 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Bremen
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hostel is specially for the backpackers as pay a lot or the room still you pay extra for bed linens etc. Thus recommended is that you carry your own linens rather than paying 3 eur extra.
The place was clean and centrally located. The hostel is quite and calm. 500 metres away from the Haubanhopf (Central Bus and Railway Station).
The person at reception was kind to help and explain the terms and conditions of the place as well let us know more about the city Bremen.
The lounge area is quite impressive as they have couches and free wifi is also available. Note, wifi router is not strong thus you will not be able to get signals to your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiddharthK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasthaus B, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hostel looks good on paper. But it is really bad in reality!
I arrived and paid in full for a private room. I went out and came back later around 3:00 a.m. I found the room very cold. The heater wasn’t even turned on. I had to turn it and wait patiently. Nothing worked and no one was downstairs in the reception to help me. I had to sleep with all the clothes I brought with me.
Not only didn’t I receive an apology from the Manager, but she attacked my ‘organizational skills’ as well. My audacity was a bit shocking to her! How do I dare to go to a new room, and not check if the heater is working. She was rude, unprofessional, clearly lacks any form of social intelligence. I left there feeling sorry for her employees. Because truth be told, they were nice and sympathetic. Plus, they are the ones who must still deal with her.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectations. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Because you've slept in a dormitory room, your roommates had turned down the heating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel served its purpose but not more:

- if you need bedclothes you have to pay € 9,- extra
- the hostel and its furniture is outworn
- there are no showers in the first floor (so my friends and I had to go upstairs showering)
- the breakfast buffet is overprized (around € 7,-)

Unfortunately Bremen does not have many Hostels, so in conclusion, this one is useable but not really recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gasthaus, Manager at GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Sorry, that we did not meet your expectation. Linen is available for Euro 3.00 per person, own sleeping bag is welcome. We offer a wonderful breakfast buffet for Euro 6.50 per person in our Hotel next door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Secluded yet easy-to-find location, 5mins walk to city centre & central station, very friendly & helpful staff, great facilities, overall excellent! Rooms are a little spartan & lack curtains, but this can be overlooked when it's this cheap! Bremen is a beautiful city, and this is the perfect base to explore it from!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KD_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed before Christmas and at New Year. Double room with Queensize bed, €18 per person. You can bring your own sleeping bag or bedding, bedding available for € p.P. Room is quite nice but waferthin walls. Just 1 toilet on the floor, 2 showers which were annoying - cold and short intervals. Luggage can be stored, kitchen and lounge very nice. Would recommmend it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HebFranzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed between July 18-25, 2010 during the COSPAR 2010 conference at Bremen. Very convenient location close the main railway station and the conference centre. The staff were very friendly and could speak in English.
The greatest attraction was the availability of a free Kitchen where we could cook our own indian dishes without any problem. Fridge to store our personal food items and dish washer facility was also available. A coin operated Washing Machine and a Drier took care of all our washing needs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sreenivasan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Booked 8 person dorm with friends. Good location near the Hauptbahnhof and a little shop just a couple of corners away. Friendly and helpful staff with good facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Novum Hotel Hansahof
#70 of 86 in Bremen
40 reviews
Ostertor
Townside Hostel Bremen
Townside Hostel Bremen
#1 of 26 in Bremen
166 reviews
Swissotel Bremen
#6 of 86 in Bremen
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bremen City
#15 of 86 in Bremen
767 reviews
Motel 24h Bremen
#73 of 86 in Bremen
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel

Address: Emil-Waldmann-Str. 5-6, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Bahnhofsvorstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Bremen
Price Range: $44 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GastHaus is a backpacker hostel and our main customers are people who like to share dormitory rooms for reasonable prices and contact with other travellers. We have a clean and well equipped kitchen which all guests can use. The showers are on most floors, private and communal (male and female separate). We have a large comfortable lounge with TV and internet access.Ideally situated in the center of Bremen, this young and old city. A friendly, clean, safe and quiet house in a small side street. Your sightseeing, shopping and the lively evening entertainment are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your GastHaus Bremer Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing