We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Katzen-Cafe

Katzen-Cafe
Ranked #46 of 900 Restaurants in Bremen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very special location and interiors. Lovely german food and good service. Very good meat pot and creme brulee :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janneab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    57
    20
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of dining at the charming Katzenkafe restaurant in Bremen. service was good, food decent, well tasting and plentiful. And the waiter lets you take the time you want to finish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitburg, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Everything 's Rosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have eaten several times at this unique cafe in the Schnoor section of Bremen. It is perched on several levels with access off a very narrow and charming street. There are enclosed areas, but we like the rosy glow we felt eating under the red awnings. The entrees are reasonable, the pumpkin soup is divine. and the drink list is extensive. Most recently we opted for dessert. I had a deep creme brulee with flecks of vanilla bean and a wonderful crystallized sugar crust. My husband had bourbon ice cream with strawberries.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollyfolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic creme brûlée”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went here for a business dinner and had an excellent meal with excellent service. It may be a. It on the pricey side but I have to say that the service that we had and the quality of the food was first class and delicious. The creme brûlée was one of the best that i had and was certainly one of the biggest!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“quaint restaurant in the Schnoor district”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I ran into the Katzen Café in need of a nice restaurant to have lunch on a recent Friday afternoon. The hostess at the front door was very friendly when confirming she had a table on the third floor. These old houses in the Schnoor are just incredibly old, well restored and cozy. Even though the waitress was very short spoken, she did a great job. The food was very good. We had a very tasty fish and seafood soup, my asparagus were somewhat ahead of the season, a bit fibrous, but also tasty, combined with a very nice calf steak. What I really missed was a nice Beck's beer. They only had a beer brand from Hamburg, not the same. Would very much recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katzen-Cafe also viewed

Bremen, State of Bremen
Bremen, State of Bremen
 
Bremen, State of Bremen
 

Been to Katzen-Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing