We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would be great 30 years ago”
Review of H+ Hotel Bremen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H+ Hotel Bremen
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Bremen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“would be great 30 years ago”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is good in some ways: the location is perfect for downtown attractions, shopping and transportation. The rooms are nice and so is breakfast. 20 years ago or more I would probably have given it 4 or 5 stars. However things change (except perhaps the management of this hotel) and some things that became standard are absent: Coffee in the room would make much difference for a small investment (air conditioning is more important but many hotels in Germany including this one still believe that this is an unnecessary perk). The way internet works (or does not) is a really weak point - take this hotel only if you want to get away from all this during this stay. To advertise internet in the room then to provide this kind of service is not in line with what i expect from a Ramada hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    126
    89
    13
    11
See reviews for
35
88
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

this hotel really let itself down by having no air con, 3 minutes from the market square, perfect location, food very good, but on the hottest w/end of the year (45 degrees) and the only way to try and cool down was a small desk fan, did'nt sleep for the whole w/end, have travelled all over the world and never had this problem, but in future i will always check in the summer if they have air con, have learnt a very uncomfortable lesson, but this is a probably a great hotel in the cold weather

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bremen hotels

Leusden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel very much. Location is perfect, good rooms, good breakfast. Good place to stay again and again. All places in the centre a very near. You can crawl from the famous "Ratskeller" back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel location is superb right near the Altstadt or "Old Town" area, the marketplace and all of the interesting stuff. No hotel parking is available but the public parking run by the Hilton is 100 meters up the street.

Reception is fine and efficient although the reception area smells of cigarette smoke. I later found out why: receptionists and passers-by smoke in the passage to the Bottcherstrasse at the back of the reception and the smoke gets drawn-in because of the inward draft. Also, an ashtray next to the automatic sliding doors seems to be eternally on fire sending smoke into the hotel lobby even if no smokers are around.

Room: good bed, pillows, gummi bears on the pillow. Nice shower in a scrupulously clean bathroom. Good hanging space for one's business clothes including trouser hangers and on of those suit-hanging contraptions that simultaneously presses pants. Internet connection was free, fast and easy to set up. TV with an excellent selection of international channels.

Bad: the room is definitely too cramped and using the chair behind the small desk is really a challenge as there really is not enough room between bed and desk to move the chair back a bit to slide into it.

Missing for a 4-star hotel is any coffee-making facility. This should really be taken care of. The complementary bottle of water is a nice touch though. Also missing are little vials of shower gel and shampoo and instead, there are maxi containers in the shower and next to the wash basin. Environmentally OK but I'm not sure I can appreciate the hygienic aspects of it.

Breakfast is super! I always appreciate a coffee machine that spits out a good espresso or cappuccino instead of a thermos with pre-made coffee. Here, both are provided. Other stuff is up there with the best of them: selection of great cheeses, meats, a complete cured ham in one of those holders that allows you to cut your own slices. Warm side of breakfast was equally fine. Fruitsalades freshly made but also some canned stuff I could have done without.

Only niggles I have: The orange juicer provided for the guests - it is extremely noisy. Would be better to juice in the kitchen and just put the pitcher on the buffet. Other thing is the waffle batter which is standing in an open bowl very near to the waffle iron and the content is actually lukewarm with the bowl looking yuk with dried batter all around the rim. This is an invitation to bacteria infestations in the exposed batter bowl. No English-language newspapers at breakfast, a 4-star should be able to provide USA today or for Europeans like myself a Herald Tribune at the very least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Michael_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in Ramada Uberseehotel in Bremen for 2 nights in february 2013 and found the hotel to fit the standards of an 4 star hotel (bathtub, minibar, tv, hairdryer,etc.) but there was no kettle or safe in the room. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that.

Location is very good. The historic market place is just around the corner from this hotel. Our room was big and had a small hallway so didn't hear any noises from the corridor witch was a good thing because the room was situated next to the elevator.
The view from our room wasn't good, it was to the courtyard which was boring but we didn't get to spend that much time in our room anyway because of all the shopping in the Ochtum Park outlet stores ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
582 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My usual preferred hotels in Bremen were all full so I picked the Ramada, partly because I'm in their loyalty scheme and stay regularly at the Ramada in Antwerp. I booked a couple of weeks before and the booking was guaranteed on a credit card. So when I turned up I was pretty pissed off to discover that the receptionist said she had no booking for me. Even when I gave her the booking reference she still said it didn't exist. Only when I opened my laptop in the lobby and showed the booking on the screen did she finally accept that I existed and I had a booking. But then she made up the biggest load of rubbish that I've ever heard. Apparently my room was only guaranteed until 4 o'clock and had been given away. The hotel was full, my room was gone. No offer to help, no offer to do anything for me. This woman was ready to turn me out on the street in the snow.
I pointed out that my confirmation said 'Cancellation policy 4pm' and that meant that I could cancel not that she could. After a call to a colleague she finally conceded that I was right, she was wrong and suddenly a room was found. Most of my colleagues said they wouldn't have known the rules and would have probably walked away (and we'd probably have been charged for not showing up).

The room was adequate, the Toblerones on the pillow very welcome but the rooms are small, dated and in need of refurbishment. The single small lift for a six-floor hotel was a joke. Wi-Fi is charged - reasonable costs but still not necessary.

The only good thing is the location - handy for two tram stops, a minute walk from the Town Hall or the Schlacte, a couple from the Schnoor. But hell would freeze over before I'd give this hotel a second chance. And I will be sending the name of the receptionist to the area manager to ask him to address her 'training issues'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. The best thing about the Ramada is its position in the Altstadt.
The room was large and clean, but dated in its decoration.
Breakfast was extensive..
I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StowawayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Motel One Bremen
#3 of 86 in Bremen
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Bremen
#4 of 86 in Bremen
1,103 reviews
Hotel Hanseatic
#62 of 86 in Bremen
14 reviews
Altstadt
Designhotel UeberFluss
Designhotel UeberFluss
#24 of 86 in Bremen
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Bremen

Property: H+ Hotel Bremen
Address: Wachtstrasse 27-29, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany (Formerly Ramada Überseehotel Bremen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ Hotel Bremen 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H+ Hotel Bremen is located in the center of the historical market place with direct access to the famous Boettcherstrasse. 124 Elegantly furnished standard and deluxe rooms provide every comfort for an enjoyable stay. Start the day with a full American breakfast buffet. For conferences and seminars, our hotel features individually equipped conference rooms with the appropriate technology. The Old Town quarter ""Schnoor"" is only a stone's throw from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H+ Hotel Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bremen
Bremen Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing