We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Southend Hostel Bremen
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southend Hostel Bremen
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bremen
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Well located, the single room's facilities are great (kichenette inclusive)

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank thalassandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
2
4
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rīga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

www.Tripadvisor.com

I and my friend stayed at Southend hostel in January for 5 nights. We made reservation by contacting owner thru email month before arriving and hostel’s owner gave us 5+5 euro discount for such a long stay (I asked for it).

Location of hostel is good (it’s close to Old Town and the shopping street, also there are some good bars near hostel), but if you want to party it would be better to stay closer to Hauptbanhof because main clubs are located there.

We stayed in 4-people Kilkenny room. Room was big and comfortable, with fridge, good shower and toilet, but there was also some problems with staying in this Hostel:
1) At first night me and my friend went to party. I returned to hostel after midnight, but my friend was drunk and he was at hostel later. At night my friend returned to hostel lately, switched a light, also he talked to me a loud, then after 5 minutes he was sleeping (it is important to mention what common room at nights was closed). But next morning owner of the hostel said to us that because of this he lost one client (our neighbour didn’t liked a noise) and now we have to pay for this, or we should leave hostel without money back. My friend paid 20 euros. I think that it’s unfair to pay for owner’s risks like nervous clients (we didn’t have party in the room or something like these; another neighbor has no problem with staying with us);
2) Floor in our room was dirty - for five day long staying it was never cleaned (we saw how carpet becomes dirtier every day). We didn’t have toilet paper, towels and soap in shower. We received toilet paper after asking owner for it at the 3rd day;
3) Our room has one heater (our trip was in winter as I said before). After returning to the hostel every evening we found what temperature in room is low – owners always switched this heater off.

Good points of hostel are:
1) Free internet and two computers in common room (also wireless network is available)
2) Free tea or coffee at breakfast time. Also you can by small breakfast for approx. 2,5 euro, but I didn’t liked it
3) They have many boardgames, but you have to ask for them (boardgames mainly are in German)
4) It is big TV in common room, but very few channels
5) You can find free maps of the Bremen and other materials in Common room
6) Usually it is empty and quiet in common room, this hostel can be perfect for family’s or old people
7) Common room was closed at nights

For us paying for 5-day long staying at once was mistake, because we couldn’t change hostel and owner could use this situation and he used it.
Overall hostel is ok, I have read many good reviews about it, but in the next time I will choose another hostel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrejs_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

The people who check you in are a bit cooky. The storage was ok. The are not there between 12-3 so dont think youll be able to stroll in and get yourself checked in before 3. The credit card machine was dial up, so it wouldnt really work until the 7th try. The computers were old and outdated, but did their job.

Now the rooms and bathrooms were crisp and clean. Good bed and reasonable pillow. Didnt realize when you book online they charge you an extra 2 euros for linens.

If youre staying with less then 3 people I recommend this place, but if you have 4 you can get the ibis a block away for cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmollison44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the apartment just across the road from the hostel. Close to town centre and airport with good tram links. Kitchen well equipped, decent sleeping arrangements. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gauloisesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

there were 24 guys who came here on a stag weekend and as you can imagine we were a little bit loud but the owner Stephan was an absolute peach of a guy who put up with quite a lot.The hostel had three floors and was immaculatey clean throughout,thereis a fantastic tram system 5mins away to take you to the centre of Bremen.Would like to say a great big thank you to Stephan and his family for helping us to have a fantastic time

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank lagertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bremen hotels
Motel One Bremen
#3 of 86 in Bremen
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsvorstadt
elements pure FENG SHUI CONCEPT HOTEL
Altstadt
Hotel Stadt Bremen Garni
Hotel Stadt Bremen Garni
#29 of 86 in Bremen
79 reviews
Altstadt
Designhotel UeberFluss
Designhotel UeberFluss
#22 of 86 in Bremen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southend Hostel Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southend Hostel Bremen

Property: Southend Hostel Bremen
Address: Jakobistr. 23 A, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen > Altstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southend Hostel Bremen moved - We now are in the old part of Bremen. We are in the middle of the center and the night life ! To the main station one can run easily to foot and to the airport you needs as before only 15 min. We are in the old part of town, one of the most beautiful quarters in Bremen, with a lot of entertainment possibilities like shopping, cubs, restaurants, culture and of course relax at the riverside ("Schlachte")! This and a lot more you will reach in few minutes on foot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Southend Hostel Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing