We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ramen - Udon's good though”
Review of Susuru - CLOSED

Susuru
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
La Spezia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“NOT ramen - Udon's good though”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Been twice, by accident; we were back this year and wandering the neighborhood in search of lunch and got routed here. I recognized it from a previous trip.

Both times it was empty when we walked in. but both times we enjoyed the Udon. I'd been searching for ramen and got a hit here. Only off notes was disintegrating gyoza, poorly steamed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cool, modern place”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has a very modern feel to it, cool layout and decorations. Service was fair and the food tasted delicious, although could have had a little larger portions.

Helpful?
Thank Harris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“filling meal”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

tasty food, good service, great atmosphere! we took one first dish, two main dish and a dessert for two people and it's a very good value to your money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Light meal but filling...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

How can it be. Well japanese food is made from such ingridients that you can eat your stomach full without getting a heavy feeling afterwards. We found this place through Tripadvisor since many of other recommended places were on a Christmas vacation. Lucky for us !! After a combined sightseeing and shopping winters day we needed some warmth and the promise of a bowl of noodle soup was tempting. We arrived just before 6pm and the place was empty. It sure did have a very moder interior with chairs lacking backrest. Overall that might be healthy, but one or two tables could have backrests for us older people ;-o The only waiter was friendly and very helpful telling us about the courses. We had two of the japanese tapas portions, which we excellent. Shrimps and chicken with rucola accompanied with walnuts and a nice dressing. As noodle soup we had chicken curry and red fish, of which the chicken had more taste. We finished off with nice icecream portion with a chocolate and mint spring roll. I will recommend this place, but do not think it is a fast food place. The establishment seems to be operating on a two person staff (at least when we were there).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midnightskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A modern twist on traditional Japanese food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have eaten dinner here only a couple of times, but I had very nice experiences - the place, the service, and their food. I love Japanese food, but this is a nice modern twist on the traditional - which I think they let their customers know by the modern design/decoration of the place. Still authentic Japanese food - just differently prepared than the thousands of other places out there that serve the same traditional dishes. For example: they had a special of "JFC on Udon and Rucola", which sounded unusual, so I tried it. I was very happily surprised with how good it was! The Japanese fried chicken, in combination with the Rucola (Arugula/Roquette) and the Japanese sauce was excellent! We were craving it for days after! Their vegetable filled gyoza (Yasai Gyoza) were also very good - and nice if one does not want to have the usual meat-filled ones. Their Edamame (beans) were also cooked to perfection. Also very nice were their freshly made, non-alcoholic drinks. I normally do not like juices in restaurants - but their freshly made Carrot & Ginger drink was great, as was an Apple one with Lime. If you like Japanese food and are craving something a little bit different than normal, then I suggest trying Susuru (their website has their menu posted).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExpatriateNomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susuru also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing