We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“quality noodle soups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Susuru - CLOSED

Susuru
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Grugliasco
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“quality noodle soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Susuru is a very good japanese restaurant, specialised in noodle soups.
Don't expect to find sushi and sashimi or a long list of dishes to choose from.
However it's a very particular place (fashion and relaxing atmosphere) which offers a good variety of udon soups.
The ones we tried were very tasty and refined and were a perfect solution to warm oursrselves a little bit during a cold Berlin's evening.
The place is clean and the staff is very kind.
Nothing for vegetarians in here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nordavind_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“UDON - enjoy great Japanese noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Restaurant located in a side road in the eastern Center of the city close to 'Volksbuehne Theatre'. Fancy atmosphere, fashionable interior design. Japanese chefs, Japanese waitresses/waiters. Not a tourist trap, but a place to enjoy refined Japanese udon. I you love soup, if you Ike noodles and have not tried UDON yet, this is the place to visit. Always a good experience. If you want have a glas of sake (Japanese rice wine), susuru offers a good variety of sake, or just have your udon with a Japanese (Kirin) beer. Good to visit with a group of people. Tip: also try the starters like 'edamame' or 'gyoza' . A real Japanese experience. The restaurant could also be in Tokyo...! Save the money for the trip and visit Susuru :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious noodle bowls, simple, modern decor, fast friendly service, all at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The spicy vegetarian curry bowl hit the spot on a cold evening. The JFC (Japanese fried chicken) salad was tasty, as was the chicken curry bowl. Great value. The tables are set in a way that would make it fun to go with a group of up to 10. We hesitated to go in as it wasn't busy at all, despite the great reviews. I'm glad we tried it-if this were near me I would go often!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nanvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“5 out of 5 rating, not less!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My last four dinners in Berlin have been in Susuru, and certainly my next meals will be there (when I will be in Berlin again). Maybe you don't have a very wide choice of dishes, but you have vegetables, meat and fish of the highest quality. Everything is presented very well, the staff is friendly and never intrusive or insistent. My advice is Rock Shrimps and Japanese Fried Chicken, but Schwarzer Sesam Pudding is really perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 405AB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent japanense restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just what we wanted before entering
To try Japanese food, and enjoy unfamiliar tastes
It was very nice, the soups are vey good, the freshly squeezed juices as well
Nice gioza dishes and shrimp salat was excellent
Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fananico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susuru also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing